Post subject: Frankenstein - The Monster Returns
Hi, I'm completely new to tool-assisted speedruns but it seems interesting. I was wondering if this game was TAS-worthy? I played the first level couple of times - tried without a weapon and with one. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZouKCD20n0 What do you think? Should I keep playing this game which many also find bad and maybe boring? (I think its OK.)
Experienced player (699)
Looked alright. I'd like to see a bit more of the game though. I say keep TASing it, if it seems too boring after a while, just quit it. That happened when I tried TASing a few games. I realized there would be no way the runs would even get accepted. Who knows, maybe you'll find something interesting to exploit. :) EDIT: Oh, and after the first battle scene I THINK you could save a few frames by not walking directly up against the right side of the screen. Instead, walk left for a bit, then walk rightward at full speed (and get to the very edge of the screen right when it starts scrolling). I'm bad at explaining. Watch what i do in my TAS after the first battle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh1f1HJuFME But definitely keep up with this!
Super Mario Bros. console speedrunner - Andrew Gardikis
andrewg wrote:
Looked alright. I'd like to see a bit more of the game though. I say keep TASing it, if it seems too boring after a while, just quit it. That happened when I tried TASing a few games. I realized there would be no way the runs would even get accepted. Who knows, maybe you'll find something interesting to exploit. :) EDIT: Oh, and after the first battle scene I THINK you could save a few frames by not walking directly up against the right side of the screen. Instead, walk left for a bit, then walk rightward at full speed (and get to the very edge of the screen right when it starts scrolling). I'm bad at explaining. Watch what i do in my TAS after the first battle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mh1f1HJuFME But definitely keep up with this!