• Aims for fastest time
  • Takes damage to save time
  • Abuses programming errors
  • Manipulates luck
  • Contains speed/entertainment tradeoffs
  • Plays at hardest level
This run beats FODA's currently published run by 3025 frames by input length or 3007 frames (a little over 50 seconds) if counting when you actually beat the game. This was way more than I had hoped for when starting the run, as I thought I'd only add one shortcut (which ended up saving around 500 frames) and gain a couple of frames here and the due to better presision by utilizing memory watch which the previous run didn't. But the more I studied the game the more "hidden" physics I discovered, and I also found a useful glitch that involves falling through moving platforms and platforms that fall down when you stand on them.
Under normal circumstances, jumping gives a higher maximum x-speed value over walking.

New tricks/glitches

1-1 walking (name stolen from the Snes Mario TASes)

If you walk by alternating the left and right buttons every frame you will almost keep the speed you just had (it's 16 subpixels slower per frame on average, 1 pixel is 256 subpixels), it only works on ground. This means that if you can get a temporary speed boost (from a downhill or lian) and do the 1-1 running when you hit flat ground you can keep that high speed as long as the flat ground lasts. Another way to slightly increase your speed using this is to land a jump while having the throwing animation (which requires that you actually have something to throw, which only happens in levels 2-2 and 2-3. It can also be used right after landing a normal jump if you don't have enough space to jump, this will result in a speed that's only 8 subpixels slower than jumping. Another way to use this also exists, but I banned that which I'll mention further in the speed/entertainment tradeoffs section.

Quick acceleration