Submission Text Full Submission Page

Introduction

Hi there! In this exciting episode of 'Pokémon Gold: The Game', a young boy named 'A' is going to run around Johto buying and selling items he finds on his journey. Then, he will look in his Coin Case and will make a call to his best friend '999', who will make him a Pokémon Champion without ever fighting the Elite Four.

This run does not aim for the fastest possible time. It was made to show the people that Generation I isn't the only Pokémon game series that can be completed with pure glitches. I am also 100% sure that this run could be significantly improved, since I have no knowledge about how RNG works in Generation II. I was solving all my problems by inserting big amounts of delay between important actions, so that RNG gets a chance to cycle a couple of times. And, since it is my first TAS ever (excluding the tests), I may have made a bunch of obvious mistakes along the way.

Categories

• Heavy glitch abuse
  • Heavy luck manipulation
  • Forgoes save data corruption
  • Low% completion
  • Uses a game restart sequence

Emulator/ROM

The movie was recorded on VBA-RR v23.6 svn480. Since VBA has problems with emulating the Real Time Clock while recording a movie, and correct RTC values are crucial for the run, the RTC emulation was turned off. All other settings were left at their defaults.
I used a standard UE Gold Version ROM found on the Interwebz. MD5: a6924ce1f9ad2228e1c6580779b23878, filename: Pokemon Gold Version (UE) [C][!].gbc

About the run

This run is abusing 3 different programming errors:
1. Pokémon cloning glitch
In order to buy all the items needed, a huge amount of money is required. Thankfully, using the Pokémon cloning glitch to clone a Pokémon holding an item duplicates the item too. So, to get that huge amount of money, 3 Pokémon holding 3 valuable items (Nugget, PP Up, Big Mushroom) are cloned, essentially doubling my amount of cash.
2. Coin Case glitch/glitch dimension