(Link to video)
Submission Text Full Submission Page
Double Dragon is a beat 'em up video game series initially developed by Technōs Japan and released as an arcade game in 1987.
This is a 1-player TAS of Double Dragon Arcade, and as far as I'm aware, this is the first successful attempt at a TAS of Double Dragon. It was a fun run - with lots of lesson learned for lag management (Completed in about 8 minutes, 3 seconds)
UPDATE: I've canceled this submission since it hasn't been judged yet, and I've submitted a newer/faster run: #5869: sugarfoot's Arcade Double Dragon in 07:13.06

Game objectives

• Emulator used: Mame-RR 0.139-v0.1-beta
  • Difficulty: Medium (Default)
  • Get through game as fast as possible
  • Manage game lag
  • Throw as many rocks, knives, boulders as possible!
  • Show off all the out of bounds areas in the game
  • Have fun!

Comments

I had a ton of fun creating this TAS. It's my first attempt at making anything. AFAIK this is the only successful attempt at TAS for Genuine Arcade Version. If this TAS were to be adjusted to run at same speed as the Xbox/Steam variants of Double Dragon - this TAS blows the Speed Run Records out of the water (With all the lag and original arcade speed, this TAS finishes in about 8:03 (timed from the point Billy is controllable in Stage 1, to when the boss dies on Stage 4... compared this to sped up lag-less World Record with Steam Version, 8:13).

Stage by stage comments

Stage 1

Pretty basic run leading up to Bolo fight. Lots of attention paid to keeping 1 to 2 mobs on screen at any given time.

Stage 2

Lots of careful positioning to make sure all mobs die at nearly the same time. Final boss and mobs require subpixel positioning to knock them off the cliff. If you throw elbow before they're on exact subpixel positions - they will not fall off the cliff

Stage 3

Horribly Aggravating Fights - Lots of large groups, and stupid AI that gets stuck in corners.