Submission Text Full Submission Page
Super Metroid Kaizo any% TAS by Hoandizi
This hack was made by Green Samus
Special thanks Aran;Jaeger for his great help!
Patch version: 1.0 (UH) for Super Metroid (JU).smc Emulator: snes9x-1.51-rerecording-v7-win32
Goal of the run:
  • Aim for fastest in-game timer (because I'm not good at real time), finished time: 52:43.85
  • Stay in-bound
Route and strategy:
  • Normal route (like Lioran did in his speed run of this hack): Morphing Ball -> Grappling Beam -> Bomb -> Charge Beam -> Speed Booster -> Screw Attack -> Hi-Jump Boots -> Ice Beam -> Spring Ball -> Phantoon -> X-ray -> Wave Beam -> Spazer -> Plasma Beam -> Varia Suit -> Super Missile -> Missile(s) -> Draygon -> Space Jump -> Power Bomb -> Ridley -> Gravity Suit -> Kraid -> Tourian...
  • In my route: I skipped Wave Beam and Spazer, I also get Spring Ball very soon, saving a lot of back-tracking
Thanks for watching :)

Nach: Sorry for the delay on this run, I was hoping for more serious feedback.
All in all this run was played quite well and cleverly. The author really plans out how to save time. Unfortunately, overall, the hack itself isn't exactly presenting well designed areas, isn't too popular, and the audience found the play with it tedious and repetitive. Barely half the audience found it entertaining. Rejecting.

TASVideoAgent
They/Them
This topic is for the purpose of discussing #5902: Hoandjzj's SNES Super Metroid in 1:17:59.24
Editor, Experienced player (817)
I was going to say something about this totally serious run, but then I finished watching it.
there are some very smart ideas in this hack; it would be fun if actual SM players would try to play this without being spoiled.....
Editor, Player (44)