Post subject: TAS Input Plugin
DennisBalow
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (131)
Joined: 1/23/2010
Posts: 27
Location: Germany
Is there a way to use the mupen64 TAS Input Plugin for nintendo 64 games? Because i kinda can't work with the "Virtual Pad" since i used over 5 years the TAS Input Plugin fron mupen64. If this question was already asked somewhere i am sorry. I haven't seen it then or was really blind. :D
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3586)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4697
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
No, we dont' support input plugins. The virtual pad is meant to be a substitute. What aspects of it are bothering you?
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
DennisBalow
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (131)
Joined: 1/23/2010
Posts: 27
Location: Germany
There are not too much bothering to be honest, its just kinda really new and needs only then time to be able to work with it. But i was kinda curious if also maybe the Plugins from other emulator would be useable, if i feel so comfortable with that after the years. The biggest problem i fixed myself by downloading the newest version. So thanks for asking and answering aswell. :)
ripz
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/19/2014
Posts: 40
Thanks for asking, Dennis. I was curious about this myself. Also, sorry for the newbie question, but this kind of threw me off. When I was re-downloading Mupen64Plus to my other computer in order to get the newest version of BiwHawk, this happens: If someone could point me in the right direction of where to go from here, I'd appreciate it.
Experienced Forum User, Experienced player (656)
Joined: 2/5/2011
Posts: 1417
Location: France
TAS of 2017First edition TAS of 2017PSX TAS of 2017Rookie of 2013
Did you tried to extract it?
Current: Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD Paused: N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair) GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven) TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
ripz
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/19/2014
Posts: 40
got4n wrote:
Did you tried to extract it?
That's the message that popped up when I tried extracting it. I feel like the same thing will happen if I just download it again.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
no, that's the message that popped up when you tried running the exe straight from the archive. extract it to another directory first.
Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Player (63)
Joined: 10/4/2005
Posts: 196
You don't need to download Mupen64Plus in order to use Bizhawk.
ripz
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/19/2014
Posts: 40
zeromus wrote:
no, that's the message that popped up when you tried running the exe straight from the archive. extract it to another directory first.
Gotcha. Thanks for the help.
micro500 wrote:
You don't need to download Mupen64Plus in order to use Bizhawk.
Really? I thought BizHawk had a correlation with Mupen?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1191
The core is mupen+, but since it's open source it's included.
ripz
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/19/2014
Posts: 40
Slowking wrote:
The core is mupen+, but since it's open source it's included.
Sorry for all the newbie questions, but now that I know that it's included, I tried to extract both Emu and DiscoHawk (not sure what the difference between them is) and nothing is happening. Any tips?
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Experienced player (556)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3953
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
ripz wrote:
Sorry for all the newbie questions, but now that I know that it's included, I tried to extract both Emu and DiscoHawk (not sure what the difference between them is) and nothing is happening. Any tips?
Extract everything into a folder. EmuHawk (which is the emulator exe) depends on dlls located in the dll folder, and possibly other files, and can't access them from inside the .zip.
ripz
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/19/2014
Posts: 40
Awesome! Such an easy solution to a simple problem lol. Thanks again, guys!
DennisBalow
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (131)
Joined: 1/23/2010
Posts: 27
Location: Germany
Sorry for bringing up this old topic, but i'd love to ask something about the Virtual Pad, i've 2 questions about it, my first question is, if its possible to use Virtual so, that if i click on Virtual Pad the Bizhawk emulator is still active? Cause i press the buttons for TASes with keyboard and never on the Input Plugin, but it doesn't noiticed the inputs if i press them on the Input Plugin before i click on BizHawk emulator once, which is really painful. And my second question is, if it's possible to use my keyboard keys for direction once to set back the inputs on the Virtual Pad to 0 immediately? like in the mupen64 TAS Input Plugin. These 2 things i am missing to switch from mupen to BizHawk, and makes TASing with the BizHawk Virtual Pad really time consuming.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1191
Not quite sure what your first problem is. For your second, you can zero the analog-part of the virtual pad by right clicking into it. Not sure if there is a keyboard shortcut.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Player (92)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
DS TAS of 2012
Slowking wrote:
Not quite sure what your first problem is.
He’s talking about window focus. Sounds like a really big bug that the Virtual Pad actually gets focused on when in use. Actually I also think it’s a bug for RAM Watch/Search to do that… so annoying to work on RAM Search and press the frame advance key, only to see you don’t have focus on the main emulator window.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1374)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1312
Glitchy TAS of 2015NES TASer of 2014Speedy TAS of 2014NES TAS of 2013
Frame-advance etc. works with focus on the Virtual pad window.
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch Twitter