Post subject: BizHawk can't run PCE CD Game "Mugen Senshi Valis"
Banned User, Skilled player (1118)
Joined: 12/26/2006
Posts: 231
Location: Lonely City
Mugen Senshi Valis - Legend of a Fantasm Soldier(梦幻战士妖子) is a famous PCE CD Game.It is also the most interesting game in Valis1-4.But unfortunately,BizHawk can't run it.The picture is black forever. It seems that cue+ios and cue+bin don't work.
work hard
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
seems so
Noal
Other
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/10/2015
Posts: 5
Yes, I confirm it too. This game is not working. I'm trying to run Valis 1 on BizHawk 1.11.4. I can hear my in-game music, but the picture is black.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
I put it on our bug tracker, i dont expect it to get fixed very soon, sorry.
Noal
Other
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/10/2015
Posts: 5
OK, thanks anyway :)
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
I can confirm it's not working on my end either. I even talked about it with Mothrayas through Skype some days ago, before noticing this thread. I'm hoping it will get fixed eventually. The game is great.
Banned User, Skilled player (1118)
Joined: 12/26/2006
Posts: 231
Location: Lonely City
I find PceJin can open this game only in the initial windows size.If you change the windows size,you won't run this game.So I think the problem maybe is BizHawk's initial size.
work hard
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Expert player (2825)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2474
Location: US
NES TASer of 2015
^ I looked at this bug about a week ago and you are right that this is definitely a video mode issue. I spent a few hours trying to resolve it expecting it to be fairly simple, but it turned out to be not that simple afterall. Right now I shelved it until after I'm done with Intellivision, but I'm open to suggstions if you can point to something specific. (I did try to force different video timings, and got some interrupts to fire at least, but that didn't fix anything.)