Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
1. I've heard of this before. seems like a fault between your GPU drivers and the n64 graphics plugin. Nothing we can do about that. The involvement of a movie must be a coincidence. 4. poking floats works fine for me. the way those textboxes replace what you enter is disconcerting though. 3. this does seem confusing. There's no way to independently set the signedness for hex values. Signed is getting assumed, and no signed 32bit hex can exceed 0x80000000. I think I will change this. Btw, there are no such plans, but then again, there are no plans not to.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I got this error while loading a Genesis rom on BizHawk 1.8.2: Despite of that, the rom still apparently loaded fine. I don't know if I'll find bugs later on though. What is this error trying to mean anyway, and how can I (if possible) fix it...?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
It's exactly what it says it is; the sega CD bios files couldn't be found. I would expect this to only show up for CD games, not ROM games; what game are you trying to load?
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
Pier Solar.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
That's a special case; the core knows that Pier Solar has a companion CD so fetches the relevant stuff for it. As it's not hooked up in the frontend, the bios missing message is not relevant here, and you can't play Pier Solar with a CD.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
natt wrote:
That's a special case; the core knows that Pier Solar has a companion CD so fetches the relevant stuff for it. As it's not hooked up in the frontend, the bios missing message is not relevant here, and you can't play Pier Solar with a CD.
So... can I just ignore this warning and play the game normally? Also, I heard it's troublesome to emulate this game or something... so, what BizHawk profile should I select for it? Casual Gaming, Tool-Assisted Speedruns or Longplays?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
The bizhawk profiles don't change anything relevant here.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
You're the first person to play pier solar in bizhawk. Please write back after completing the game to let us know how it worked out for you.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
Okay. I'll try to finish the game as fast as I can and report if I find any issues.
Editor, Skilled player (1172)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1085
Language: lua

while true do gui.drawBox(0,0,100,100,0xFF000000,0xFF000000) gui.drawText(0,0,1) emu.frameadvance() end
On this laptop, I'm seeing some kinds of colors for what should be a perfectly white 1. May have to do with my font settings, apparently some kind of cleartype. It seems there may be inconsistency of what is displayed between systems. Weird blending of sorts for colors horizontally, but spot on vertically. Likely related to some display settings, but for this sort of application, this loses consistency from system to system. I doubt this image will help debug things, but... (temporary link removed; Served its purpose)
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
seems like cleartype undoubtedly. Not sure if you notice it because it's at 2x or because .. the rgb order is backwards. Who knows why. But welcome to my world. Now imagine seeing cleartype anywhere you look. Therefore it is my privilege to introduce to you the brand new r7940, with cleartype on drawText disabled. But let's be clear about one thing. By enabling cleartype on your system, you have requested that ostensibly perfectly white 1's never actually be perfectly white.
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
Zelda Ocarina of Time hacks that involve object placing and not terrain editing can be played now. But for Zelda's Birthday, the game locks up in a few areas (reasons including modification of terrain). Project64 1.7 is the only emulator that is capable of playing said hack so far. (dunno why it locks up in 2.0-2.2 as they were in continuation from 1.6 instead of 1.7)
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
I really wonder why you are so hooked to Zelda's birthday...
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
PikachuMan wrote:
Zelda Ocarina of Time hacks that involve object placing and not terrain editing can be played now. But for Zelda's Birthday, the game locks up in a few areas (reasons including modification of terrain). Project64 1.7 is the only emulator that is capable of playing said hack so far. (dunno why it locks up in 2.0-2.2 as they were in continuation from 1.6 instead of 1.7)
Does it work on real hardware?
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
natt wrote:
PikachuMan wrote:
Zelda Ocarina of Time hacks that involve object placing and not terrain editing can be played now. But for Zelda's Birthday, the game locks up in a few areas (reasons including modification of terrain). Project64 1.7 is the only emulator that is capable of playing said hack so far. (dunno why it locks up in 2.0-2.2 as they were in continuation from 1.6 instead of 1.7)
Does it work on real hardware?
I'm gonna have to buy an Everdrive to check it out.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced player (781)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 1116
The audio of Chinese version of Metroid Fusion is glitchy.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
PikachuMan wrote:
natt wrote:
PikachuMan wrote:
Zelda Ocarina of Time hacks that involve object placing and not terrain editing can be played now. But for Zelda's Birthday, the game locks up in a few areas (reasons including modification of terrain). Project64 1.7 is the only emulator that is capable of playing said hack so far. (dunno why it locks up in 2.0-2.2 as they were in continuation from 1.6 instead of 1.7)
Does it work on real hardware?
I'm gonna have to buy an Everdrive to check it out.
I was just wondering if anyone knew, is all; no need to buy everdrives for that.
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
There are still some N64 games that can't load at all despite the emulator's superiority. It is best that we test out every N64 game and ensure they work.
Player (23)
Joined: 9/17/2014
Posts: 368
Location: France
i have a problem to encoded codec x264vfw
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
gamerretro2 wrote:
i have a problem to encoded codec x264vfw
Going to need a few more details...
Player (23)
Joined: 9/17/2014
Posts: 368
Location: France
it's verry slow 2 fps
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
How fast does the emulator run with video dumping off? Are other emulators similarly slow when encoding with x264vfw at the same resolution and settings? What are your computer specs? What emulation core are you running (n64, genesis, etc)?
Player (23)
Joined: 9/17/2014
Posts: 368
Location: France
my config process: intel pentinium d820 graphics card: ati xpress 200 and x850 ram: 1gb
Player (23)
Joined: 9/17/2014
Posts: 368
Location: France
gamerretro2 wrote:
my config process: intel pentinium d820 graphics card: ati xpress 200 and x850 ram: 1gb
my mother-board i don't understand
Player (23)
Joined: 9/17/2014
Posts: 368
Location: France
gamerretro2 wrote:
gamerretro2 wrote:
my config process: intel pentinium d820 graphics card: ati xpress 200 and x850 ram: 1gb
my mother-board i don't understand
test encoding with bizhawk https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdylWvgI-qg&feature=youtu.be