1 2 3 4 5
12 13
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
feos wrote:
Well then, I don't think open bus is emulated.
I'm pretty sure open bus is fully implemented, as it was needed to pass several of blargg's tests. But if you can point out something specific, please do.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
adelikat was nice enough to send me a list of games that don't currently work in NESHawk, so I've been slowly fixing mapping errors. Most of it is junk, that I'm not really concerned with, but there are definitely some that stand out as needing fixing. So far I patched up Skull and Crossbones (above) and FLintstones rescue of Dino and Hoppy. Since Flintstones is currently on the workbench, it seemed relevent to get it in particular fixed. I'll be plugging away at these as I can. So far the errors were small oversights so progress should hopefully be steady. I also hope to eventually get VS games working, but not sure when it might happen.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
So the current plan is to improve accuracy to the point when we can create a console verifiable Battletoads game end glitch run. Here's its description: http://tasvideos.org/GameResources/NES/Battletoads.html#MemoryCorruptingGlitches Scripts: https://sourceforge.net/p/feos-tas/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/LUA/BattletoadsObjects.lua https://sourceforge.net/p/feos-tas/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/LUA/BattletoadsObjectRAMv2.lua IDA project and FCEUX symbolic names files: https://sourceforge.net/p/feos-tas/code/HEAD/tree/trunk/DisAssemble/Battletoads/ If you look at the current game end glitch run, it enters some patterns on the second controller after the restart. All buttons pressed translates to $FF which is "reset the config pointer", in our case it is to RAM address 0. The first script shows what address is used to read object ID from, it also shows some of the parameters of the existing objects (can be easily tweaked to show other ones). PS: Enjoy your new rank, sir!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Former player
Joined: 4/18/2015
Posts: 168
Location: Canada
Alyosha wrote:
adelikat was nice enough to send me a list of games that don't currently work in NESHawk, so I've been slowly fixing mapping errors.
Just out of curiosity, what are all the games that currently don't work?
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
^ I'll put something together and put it on the opening post. It will be good to track from there. @feos: so the current game end glitch battletoads run DOES sync on NESHawk (adjusting for power on timing), so maybe if someone is available to test it on console we can give it a try? The previous version didn't work with all the pausing, I think that is where the problems came from, but this one might just work. http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/33374964026078379 Oh I am emulator coder now, that's cool :)
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Wait what, NesHawk works at full speed again for me?! It was running at 20fps even after building the Release target!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
That happened to me before too, but I can't remember if/how I resolved it. Do you think that CPU stuff you were working on before will have an effect now feos? I looked a little deeper into why the previous game end glitch run wasn't working on BizHawk. The final dominoe to falll to get the game end call is a check of $0078. Things seem to match up before this point. I looked at what set this address and found this:
c109127360   i35451970              $E07A:C0 FF     CPY #$FF                                     A:03 X:00 Y:FF S:F5 P:nvUbdIzC 
c109127362   i35451971              $E07C:D0 0F     BNE $E08D                                    A:03 X:00 Y:FF S:F5 P:nvUbdIZC 
c109127364   i35451972              $E07E:A4 15     LDY $0015 = #$03                             A:03 X:00 Y:FF S:F5 P:nvUbdIZC 
c109127367   i35451973              $E080:B9 9E E0  LDA $E09E,Y @ $E0A1 = #$E1                   A:03 X:00 Y:03 S:F5 P:nvUbdIzC 
c109127371   i35451974              $E083:85 19     STA $0019 = #$D8                             A:E1 X:00 Y:03 S:F5 P:NvUbdIzC 
c109127374   i35451975              $E085:B9 9F E0  LDA $E09F,Y @ $E0A2 = #$3F                   A:E1 X:00 Y:03 S:F5 P:NvUbdIzC 
c109127378   i35451976              $E088:85 1A     STA $001A = #$9F                             A:3F X:00 Y:03 S:F5 P:nvUbdIzC 
c109127381   i35451977              $E08A:BC 0B 05  LDY $050B,X @ $050B = #$0E                   A:3F X:00 Y:03 S:F5 P:nvUbdIzC 
c109127385   i35451978              $E08D:B1 19     LDA ($19),Y @ $3FEF = #$FE                   A:3F X:00 Y:0E S:F5 P:nvUbdIzC 
c109127390   i35451979              $E08F:85 78     STA $0078 = #$90                             A:FE X:00 Y:0E S:F5 P:NvUbdIzC 
c109127393   i35451980              $E091:C8        INY                                          A:FE X:00 Y:0E S:F5 P:NvUbdIzC 
$3FEF is palette data. It is different at this point between FCEUX and BizHawk but I'm not sure why at this point. But since the current run syncs, I might not look too deeply into it.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
I tested my delegates thing and it still gives zero speedup overall, so whatever.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
Making steady progress on mapper fixes, thanks to FCEUX already running some of these it's pretty easy to compare trace logs and track down errors. Somari, Commandos, and Dragon Quest 7, amongst others, now work. adelikat has done a bunch of mapper fixes as well, so thanks to him for that.
Player (170)
Joined: 7/1/2016
Posts: 263
It's good to see how pretty "important" and popular pirate mappers gets fixes. But how about not important and obscure FDS mapper? I don't have last version of BizHawk, but i think every problem from this list can be applied to it https://sourceforge.net/p/fceultra/bugs/739/
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
It was coded from scratch and has nothing to do with fceux's legacy, so I think it doesn't apply.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Player (170)
Joined: 7/1/2016
Posts: 263
I tested iterim bild that you give me in different tread. It was having all the problems and EXACTLY the same glitched sound. edit: I retested it. Ok. Only Bubble Bobble saving is fixed. Sound still glitched and Druid flickers.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
Koh1fds wrote:
It's good to see how pretty "important" and popular pirate mappers gets fixes. But how about not important and obscure FDS mapper? I don't have last version of BizHawk, but i think every problem from this list can be applied to it https://sourceforge.net/p/fceultra/bugs/739/
Hi, Sure I can work on FDS stuff. I can't promise any kind of timeline, but i can certainly attempt it. EDIT: @Koh1fds: Ok I think I fixed timer IRQs, which fixed the flickering status bar on Druid. Try downloading and building from master and see if everything is ok. I believe this is correct, and I didn't notice any problems. Its hard to say why FCEUX did it the way it did, but as far as I can tell everything now works fine. Let me know if you find any other games messed up as a result of this change. I only changed a couple lines so the changes can easily be put into FCEUX etc to test as well.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Alyosha wrote:
Try downloading and building from master
https://ci.appveyor.com/project/zeromus/bizhawk-udexo/build/artifacts
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Player (170)
Joined: 7/1/2016
Posts: 263
Sound still glitched. Only sound generated by FDS glitched. Compare Link's scream when you take damage for the most obvious difference. On BizHawk and FCEUX his scream sounds like horrible digital noise. On original hardware and Nestopia it sounds like real human voice. Sound also glitched in: Zelda 1 Metroid (try to morph and unmorph for the obvious difference) Kid Icarus (Grim Reaper scream for the obvious difference) Link to video edit: also i know only one emulator that have good fds emulation - Nestopia. Even puNES not that good.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
Yeah I didn't work on the sound yet, only the flickering in Druid. I'll try to work on the sound maybe this weekend or next, when I can sit down and really look into the code. In the mean time, if you know any other fds specific bugs do post them here, as I haven't looked at the system at all until you posted about it.
Player (170)
Joined: 7/1/2016
Posts: 263
Alyosha wrote:
In the mean time, if you know any other fds specific bugs do post them here, as I haven't looked at the system at all until you posted about it.
That was all bugs that i know that was certainly caused by bad emulation and can be easily reproduced. If you want - here is more bugs that i know that happens a few times in FCEUX. I don't know if they happens in NesHawk and don't have saves or movies that can reproduce it. I can only describe it: 1. Nakayama Miho no Tokimeki High School. In the middle of the game it ask you to change disk side. You put correct side and it says: "error" or "incorrect side" i don't remember exactly. After messing around with the disk (insert / eject / changing sides a few times) you put EXACTLY the same side as before and it continues as normal for some reason. I was thinking that the nature of this bug is the same as saving bug in Bubble Bobble. Since saving in Bubble Bobble fixed it may not happend in NesHawk or it caused by game error or bad dump. I don't know. I think this happens in some other games. I don't remember. 2. Zelda no Densetsu - The Hyrule Fantasy (Zelda 1). I don't know whats caused it. If you play for to long - sometimes if you go in shop or hidden cave on overworld map - when game tries to show you text message it breaks background graphics instead. If it happens ones then every message you get will have glitched bg graphics. This is actually pretty annoying. It may not happend in NesHawk or can be caused by game error or bad dump. I don't know. Also both of this bugs never happens in Nestopia even when i use the same roms.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
ok progress report on FDS sound. I fixed up several obvious glitches, mostly following the wiki and rainwarrior's NSFplay code. This seems to have resolved numerous issues including: -Zelda 1 sword sounds -Zelda 2 taking damage sounds -Kid Icarus reaper sounds. I was not able to test metroid since I couldn't get it to load. Not sure if a ROM or emulator problem. @Koh1fds: please test this out and see if you can find any more obvious errors. I think things still probably are not quite right, but should be much much better.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
I think the universal latest interim link could be added to the OP. https://ci.appveyor.com/project/zeromus/bizhawk-udexo/build/artifacts Great progress!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
Oh is that how that appveyor thing works? pretty neat! Added to OP
Player (170)
Joined: 7/1/2016
Posts: 263
Sound in Zelda 2 are really really good! But now Metroid can't starts. When it ask you to put Side B - you put correct side and nothing happens. I tested 3 different dumps and it always happens. Also all of that roms works in Nestopia
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
For quick check of compatibility downgrades, download and try the earlier builds (green checkmark -> artifacts): https://github.com/TASVideos/bizhawk/commits/master
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Player (170)
Joined: 7/1/2016
Posts: 263
feos wrote:
For quick check of compatibility downgrades, download and try the earlier builds (green checkmark -> artifacts): https://github.com/TASVideos/bizhawk/commits/master
I checked version right before Druid fixes - Metroid can't start. Then I tested it on more than 1 year old BizHawk-1.9.4 - still can't start. edit: i see... You have to eject disk than put other side for some reason. Maybe when you just press "Insert Disk 1" - it ejects and change side to fast and this causes problems edit2: i can't find any obvious difference, but when Metroid starts there is like some kind of Fanfares. On original console and Nestopia this Fanfares have strong bass line (loud low tone sound) and BizHawk like doesn't have bass at all (really quiet or something). Same thing when you pickup an item. I say sound generated by the real console have more wider tone range https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3wnRvQ-ea4 - Metroid from the real console edit3: same thing with tittle theme of kid icarus. This bass / low tone sound made tittle theme of kid icarus on fds so awesome like it's not a famicom, but next gen console. And BizHawk completly loose this effect
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3534)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2732
Location: US
Ok, so I adjusted FDS audio levels so that they wouldn't drown out the NES audio as much (helps Kid Icarus quite a bit.) I couldn't find anymore errors with the acutal audio code itself. NESDev mentions a low pass filter that we might need to emulate to get a bit more accuracy out of it, but I think mixing between NES and FDS audio signals needs to be captured better first. Things sound pretty good right now though, so I'm happy enough with the results to move on. Using 'eject' for metroid did work instead of just immediately pressing 'side B', so that's interesting, I'll have to add that to the list of things to look into. Anyway thanks for the reports Koh1fds, FDA audio is greatly improved! Back to mappers!
1 2 3 4 5
12 13