1 2
11 12 13
16 17
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Suddenly I realised. TASEditor must be a linux-compatible PLUGIN for any emulator that supports needed callbacks. No one does right now, but many support lua, and lua functions are almost ready to be converted into callbacks. Why? Because plugins rule the world! And you can do whatever to your main plugin, not affecting the existing features of target emulators. Also, by callbacks one emulator instance can be attached to another. But it's another story. Just sharing my vision of future...
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
WST
She/Her
Active player (450)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
That’s a great idea, sure.
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
As was discussed on IRC, such a plugin would need to support UI toolkits of target emulators. And the list is down to 3: Win32, GTK and wxWidgets.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
I'd suggest avoiding Win32 just for cross-platform compatibility concerns. I've made extensive use of wxWidgets at work, and it's reasonably competent. In my experience, it doesn't make exactly the same UI on different platforms (i.e. the exact sizes and positions of elements will be different), but for the most part it works fine. Qt is also a popular option. I'm not so fond of it mostly because the installer is gigantic (not an issue for users, who don't have to install it) and getting it working in Python, my language of choice, was a bit of a pain (ditto). I haven't used GTK.
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Can you run Qt/wxWidgets plugins inside Win32 emulatros?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
WST
She/Her
Active player (450)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
feos wrote:
Can you run Qt/wxWidgets plugins inside Win32 emulatros?
Well, it’s all about converting the data types, I guess. So it shouldn’t be a problem. Windows versions of Qt and wxWidgets are simply OOP-styled abstraction layers over Win32 API… I also beleive that the public API of such a plugin will not export any Qt-specific or wxWidgets-specific calls. In other words, all callback parameters will be integers, floats, ANSI strings & so on.
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
feos wrote:
plugins rule the world!
Using the VSTs analogy, emulation cores should be plug-ins for a sequencer (TAS Studio), and not the other way around.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
AnS wrote:
feos wrote:
plugins rule the world!
Using the VSTs analogy, emulation cores should be plug-ins for a sequencer (TAS Studio), and not the other way around.
Good move. Unfortunately, no emulator is so convertable yet. Furthermore, converting emulators with all their tools into plugins is overkill comparing to converting just one tool and tweaking the emulators. Probably in unforeseeable future...
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
Stripping emulation cores of all the UI stuff is common practice among multi-system emulators like Mednafen, RetroArch and Bizhawk.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
I know. But there are some issues with the current state of things about that. To implement a taseditor that will be a client for multi-system emulation you will need to either
    1) build a brand new rerecording emulator and import cores there, or 2) add taseditor to one of the existing multi-system emulators with rerecording, or even 3) add rerecording, and powerful TAS tools, and taseditor to existing multi-system emulators.
Issues: 1) Emulation scene is already full of [just another amazing emulator that is supposed to replace the others! Or at least be an alternative...] Building yet another one may be a waste of time by itself, also, there's a problem that you need people interested. "Emulator creep" will anyway be there. 2) There's only 1 multi-system emulator with really powerful TAS tools. And to hit the future where TASing becomes mainstream due to usability of tools, and to provide all needs of universal taseditor, it needs to be universal itself. So it needs the following, all at once:
  • Work on all common systems (Windows, Mac, Linux, some others?) with no loss in how efficient is the process.
  • Be as fast as possible. Loading hundreds of savestates just to navigate through the movie will only become slower and more memory consuming with adding newer system cores. How heavy is N64 RAM state? PSX's? Megabyte+. It must not be too compressed because there saving and loading states is even noticeable for an eye and harms the working flow. There's also autorestoring the playback position, which emulates on turbo to show the user the feedback as soon as possible, and don't distract too much from the TAS workflow.
  • Be feature-rich. RAM watchers/editors, lua, debuggers.
  • Be worked on, to keep it up-to-date with the needs of the new users.
  • Be well written so that new developers don't have problems joining.
BizHawk checks a good amount of these, but:
  • It won't be really compatible with Mac/Linux unless more people start actively working on it. And even where it can work by intend, it's not universal:
  • Dotned makes it dependent on how well dotnet itself works on a given machine
  • It is already REALLY slow once we start pushing it to the limits by adding real taseditor to it and moving to newer systems.
  • Probably in the case of the newer systems, Win32 will just not handle. Either move to Win64 to use it, or buy a newer computer. I don't think many people that use neither option now will use any. They will likely just pick another emulator.
3) Developing existing widely compatible and stable, but non-rerecording emulators up to TASing needs with taseditor and all cookies is just nonsense.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
I assume that "Win32" earlier meant using Microsoft's GUI libraries directly; in that case the "32" just means "not 16-bit", so it should be compatible with 64-bit machines just fine. That does still leave you with cross-platform compatibility issues. Plus, the various widget libraries tend to make writing GUIs a hell of a lot less painful than trying to do things by hand. Yeah, Microsoft's naming schemes don't always make much sense, but oh well...
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
First of all, major major thanks to adelikat and Ilari for helping and providing a batch file. Thanks to them, with a double-click I don't need to manually set up 9 fceuxs to tas my 9 mega men run. This will save tremendous amount of time. Though there is a minor hiccup when I activate the file (the batch). Everything goes smooth except for some reason Mega Man 5. It hangs and I have to shut it down and manually open a fceux with mm5 rom and moviefile. Even if I have to do this way from now on, I am certainly not complaining as I don't need to open the remaining 8 other fceuxs with their respective rom and movie file. In any case anyone would like to investigate what's slightly wrong, here is my code for the batch file:
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man (U).nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man 2 (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man 2 (U).nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man 3 (U) [!]-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man 3 (U) [!].nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man 4 (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man 4 (U).nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man 5 (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man 5 (U).nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man 6 (U)-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man 6 (U).nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Mega Man in the Mushroom Kingdom-0.fm2" "Rom/Mega Man in the Mushroom Kingdom.nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Rockman 2 Gray Zone-0.fm2" "Rom/Rockman 2 Gray Zone.nes".
start fceux.exe -readonly 1 -pause 1 -playmovie "Movies/Rockman 5 - Wily's Dream Space (J)-0.fm22" "Rom/Rockman 5 - Wily's Dream Space (J).nes".
Edit: I am using Notepad++ in case anyone was wondering.
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
fm22?
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
AnS wrote:
fm22?
And with that, AnS nailed it :) That typo made Mega Man 5 hack (I thought it was the original Mega Man 5) work and now all 9 fceuxs work. Thank you dearest AnS and let's hope for a safe journey tasing this colossal project ^_^ Edit: Nice job AnS spotting that silly typo :)
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
Hi, FCEUX developers. My old request was hacked by asian spammer: http://sourceforge.net/p/fceultra/bugs/535/ Here is new (dead links fixed) request: http://sourceforge.net/p/fceultra/bugs/629/ Can we hope for Dendy-mode in future?
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
Sergunov wrote:
Can we hope for Dendy-mode in future?
Only if someone who is interested in this mode joins the development. Personally I don't care about the mode, as I've been playing NES emulators for more than decade, while I was playing Dendy only for a few years in 90s, so I'm long accustomed to 60FPS instead of sluggish 50FPS.
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
2 AnS: You (and CaH4e3) told it's very hard to add Dendy-mode, since source are full of "hardcode". Maybe more simply to add ability run NTSC games at 50fps, without changing NTSC audio-pitch? In other words - just simple slowdown program trick
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Yeah, fine tuning for FPS, doesn't sound too hard when there are already plenty of hardcoded levels.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
feos wrote:
Yeah, fine tuning for FPS, doesn't sound too hard when there are already plenty of hardcoded levels.
OK, you do it.
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 5
Location: Ukraine
AnS wrote:
Sergunov wrote:
Can we hope for Dendy-mode in future?
Only if someone who is interested in this mode joins the development. Personally I don't care about the mode, as I've been playing NES emulators for more than decade, while I was playing Dendy only for a few years in 90s, so I'm long accustomed to 60FPS instead of sluggish 50FPS.
Maybe, they can try to add a dendy mode for a fee?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
AnS wrote:
feos wrote:
Yeah, fine tuning for FPS, doesn't sound too hard when there are already plenty of hardcoded levels.
OK, you do it.
Will look into it in a few days.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 28
Location: Russia
How to do this trick without changing DPCM samples pitch?
WST
She/Her
Active player (450)
Joined: 10/6/2011
Posts: 1690
Location: RU · ID · AM
Looks like russians are totally obsessed with dendy. No offence.
S3&A [Amy amy%] improvement (with Evil_3D & kaan55) — currently in SPZ2 my TAS channel · If I ever come into your dream, I’ll be riding an eggship :)
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 5
Location: Ukraine
Sorry for offtopic. In bizhawk code "dendy mode" is entered. Will It be added to release?
Joined: 8/24/2012
Posts: 5
Location: Ukraine
WST wrote:
Looks like russians are totally obsessed with dendy. No offence.
It's our childhood))
1 2
11 12 13
16 17