Post subject: BitTorrent Help
Okay, I'm pretty good with computer stuff even though I'm new to BitTorrent. That said, this thing is utterly frustrating me. I am trying to download the Castlevania II movie, and the download is the slowest I've ever had since getting a cable modem (currently downloading at 1 KB/seu, YUCK!) . . . This seems, to me, to be a problem with the implementation of BitTorrent. I read up on how it works, and it doesn't seem to be a very logical way to offer files, primarily because there's seemingly no real way to guarantee anybody having the download open at the exact same time you try to download. In addition, less popular games likely have no downlooad in the first place. So I have two questions: 1) Is there something I'm not understanding about how BitTorrent works? 2) Is there a way to play the FMV files so I don't have to bother with the stupid BitTorrent crap? (The only emulator I have is Nestopia as it's the best one, and it doesn't seem to play the file.) Thanks for the help . . .
Editor, Active player (296)
You have understood correctly, but one thing you didn't take into account is that there are users (well, at least me) who use a script that periodically checks which files need uploading (have clients) and automatically shares them. So if you start downloading a file, it's sure that under 10 minutes one of the hosts running that script will start sharing that file, if there were no other seeds at that time. Regardless whether you like BitTorrent or not, uploading capacity is not infinite or free and this is the only way I can make the files available to everyone. In re: FMV files, they are Famtasia movie files and have to be played with Famtasia. It's mentioned in the FAQ - you didn't obviously read it.