One speedrun I'd like to see is Squashed. It's a really fun game, and I imagine it'd be even more fun to see it played really fast. But I'm not sure if I want to try and make one. I've never done a run before, and I'm not really that good a gamer in the first place- I totally rely on savestates. Even with savestates, I died a couple times on the crazy auto-scrolling level where you have to jump from moving platforms suspended over nothing. Every now and then I do something cool by accident, but nowhere near as many required for an entertaining run. So I'm wondering, do I dare make one, or should I let someone else give it a shot?
Active player (422)
Looks like a pretty cute game, but it was only exists as a prototype. It might be better to use Ninja Jajamaru: Ginga Daisakusen. That aside, you don't need any playing skill, really, to make a TAS. Just patience. Relying totally on savestates is a good thing. But this game sounds like it may have complicated movement...? I'll look closer at the game (ie play it) another day, what with being busy and all. But if you want it done, I'd wager you could do it if you have the time and energy. edit: Looks really good for a TAS, by the way. I'll start a testrun when I have time if you really don't want to do it.
Thanks for the advice. Why do you think I should use the original Japanese version?
Active player (422)
I just figure that since Squashed wasn't released, it might save some trouble using the official release. But, maybe it doen't even matter what version you use, consdering how little seems to be changed. edit: On another note, I got around to testing a bit today. Thanks to the dash, movement is indeed fairly complicated. I'm not sure the best way to approach this game. edit again: Oh, okay. If you hold B and keep jumping as soon as possible, you seem to keep your dash speed. Should be easy enough to make. There doesn't seem to be any lag to worry about, at least in the early going.
Active player (422)