Post subject: Shaman King - Master of Spirits
I had this game laying around from 2004 and I started playing it the other day. It's a pretty fun game and I noticed there was no topic on it here. Would this be a possible game to TAS?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2105)
zggzdydp & I have tested it but found it not so TAS-friendly speedrun-friendly.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
I was thinking it may have that problem because jumping is pretty slow and slashing takes a few frames.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2105)
Besides of slow movements, its graphics/sound effects aren't so great, and the cut-ins of special abilities will drive the speed-oriented TASer insane. The level design isn't as interesting as M-games or Castlevania's, while you have to travel to and fro a single level without any sequence-breaks. However, if you want to give it a try, I'll be watching your WIP's as long as I have spare time, but please don't expect much from me because I am not a pro on this game by any means. Well, a small trick: Try to back-dash off platforms and slash in mid-air. That somewhat reminds me of whip-launch in HoD. EDIT: Well, maybe you can compare this game with its sequel that is also on GBA.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Samsara
She/They
Senior Judge, Site Admin, Expert player (2121)
Link to video Surprised this game even had a thread in the first place, and even more surprised that I still had a super old and super short WIP laying around. So here's how this game looks in a TAS setting. I have no intention of continuing this, but if anyone else wants to pick it up for some reason I can probably remember some of the things I found out.
TASvideos Admin and acting Senior Judge 💙 | Cohost
warmCabin wrote: