Post subject: Commander Keen 1/2/3
So as my first project I will pick the first 3 games of the series. Mind you I'm a complete newbie in the whole TAS thing so this will probably take me a while and I hope to learn along the way. Besides the games being quite straightforward I already know of a couple tricks, like corner jump boosts (allowing to skip a whole level in Keen 2 for example). There are also some clipping errors near ceilings (at least I know of one in Keen 1). And of course looking forward to manipulating the hell out of Vorticon swarms in Keen 2 and 3 :) What I still need to figure out is in what position exactly the corner jumps are triggered in. I already did non-TAS runs for these games so the routes are pretty clear for me. One more question is about a bug/cheat (feature?) that allows walking through levels on the map thus skipping even those that are supposed to be in the way when holding Shift and Tab. It's listed as a cheat code in most places so should it be not allowed? I avoided it in my non-TAS runs. Anyone have any ideas, feel free to throw them at me, I'll also be on IRC ;)
This is a block of text that can be added to posts you make. There is a 255 character limit
If the cheat was intentionally made, you shouldn't use it. Of course, if it's a glitch that wasn't intentional, go ahead. If you're unsure, don't do it.
Editor
This simply can't be unintentional.
Post subject: Re: Commander Keen 1/2/3
Emulator Coder
Location: In his lab studying psychology to find new ways to torture TASers and forumers
Xarthok wrote:
One more question is about a bug/cheat (feature?) that allows walking through levels on the map thus skipping even those that are supposed to be in the way when holding Shift and Tab. It's listed as a cheat code in most places so should it be not allowed? I avoided it in my non-TAS runs.
I'm pretty sure that one was in the manual. Edit: Yes it is, it is a "customer cheat".