Posts for fsvgm777

fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Language: AviSynth

Method_3() function Method_3(clip c) {c.Layer(c, level=128, x=1)}
I still notice a little bit of blurring when comparing with the original (non-horizontally blended) AVI dump.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Language: AviSynth

BilinearResize(int(1.0 * Width * 1/2), Height).BilinearResize(Width, Height)
Language: AviSynth

BilinearResize(int(1.0 * Width * 2/3), Height).BilinearResize(Width, Height)
Language: AviSynth

BilinearResize(int(1.0 * Width * 3/4), Height).BilinearResize(Width, Height)
The first one is insanely blurry. The second and third ones are less blurry, but aren't exactly the best, either.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
creaothceann wrote:
You're supposed to choose only one of these methods... the Interleave call is just to compare these frames in AvsPmod / VirtualDub.
Oh, I see. My bad.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
From the video: Mega Man X4 (Saturn version): (click to open a Dropbox page where you can enlarge) Virtua Fighter Kids: (click to open a Dropbox page where you can enlarge)
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
feos wrote:
Try AreaResize as well please. http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?kn56wh7r81vk2rx
After point-resizing the original non-horizontally blended dump to a factor of 8 or 16, then resizing it back to the original resolution with AreaResize, I still got a very visible mesh. As for the horizontally blended one, I got a result very close to the 5th screenshot (after first point-resizing it to a factor of 8, then downscaled straight to 330x240 with AreaResize): The following is with first downscaling to 660x240 with AreaResize, then point-resizing it to 330x240:
creaothceann wrote:
Language: AviSynth

ImageSource("00.png", 0, 0) Crop(5, 0, -5, 0) f0 = BilinearResize(int(1.0 * Width * 1/2), Height).BilinearResize(Width, Height) f1 = BilinearResize(int(1.0 * Width * 2/3), Height).BilinearResize(Width, Height) f2 = BilinearResize(int(1.0 * Width * 3/4), Height).BilinearResize(Width, Height) f3 = last Interleave(f0, f1, f2, f3)
I'm....not sure if I like the end result (especially since it quadruples the amount of frames). Like, it ends up being a bit blurry as the end result. (it also results in the video being kinda shaky, but that might be because the video is 59.88 FPS normally, and conventional monitors usually have a refresh rate of around 60 Hz)
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
Post subject: Sat.: How should the mesh effect be handled in our encodes?
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
With the advent of the Saturnus core in BizHawk 2.0 and later, a new option has made its appearance (in that specific core): Horizontal blending. If this option is enabled, BizHawk stretches the output to twice the width with some filtering applied. I've done a bit of research regarding how the Sega Saturn handled transparency (I really recommend reading the article and watching the video): http://www.mattgreer.org/articles/sega-saturn-and-transparency/ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_OchOV_WDg As it turns out, many Saturn games go for a mesh approach to handle transparency. This consists of drawing every other pixel of a sprite to simulate a transparency effect. This is where it gets interesting: On composite output, the mesh is blurred in such a way that e.g. the spotlights in Mega Man X4 appear transparent. However, the mesh is clearly visible on S-Video or RGB output. Conversely, I'm currently handling the publication of a Saturn game called Tryrush Deppy. I dumped it once without horizontal blending and once with horizontal blending. Now, I'm going to show 6 screenshots with different approaches, with pros and cons: Original dump without horizontal blending: Pros: Picture is crystal clear Cons: Mesh is clearly visible AviSynth code: N/A (well, aside from opening the AVIs) No horizontal blending, blur filter applied via AviSynth: Pros: No mesh visible Cons: Picture is obviously blurry AviSynth code: Blur(1.00) No horizontal blending, horizontal blur filter applied via AviSynth: Pros: No mesh visible Cons: Picture is obviously blurry (though not as blurry as the above one). AviSynth code: Blur(1, 0) #note the comma instead of the period Horizontal blending, resized back to original width with LanczosResize: Pros: Mesh is less visible. Cons: Picture isn't as clear. AviSynth code: LanczosResize(330, 240, taps=2) Horizontal blending, resized back to original width with PointResize: Pros: Picture is clear, mesh isn't as visible as in the non horizontally blended one. Cons: Some parts might appear overly squished, due to the nature of PointResize. AviSynth code: PointResize(330, 240) So, what would be the best approach for handling the mesh effect present in many Saturn games? I myself am torn between no horizontal filtering with absolutely no blurring applied and either one of the two horizontal blending ones. Something of note is that footage I found on YouTube (SGDQ 2017 speedrun, full playthrough) have the mesh clearly visible.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
I....did not see this coming. I'll be encoding and publishing this one once it gets accepted.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
For the record, this TAS uses the wrong BIOS. It uses the Japanese BIOS instead of the correct American one: http://tasvideos.org/MovieRules.html#MatchTheBiosRegionToTheGameSRegion
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
The sound effects still sound as if they were coming from a Windows 3.1 game. Meh vote.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Intel Core i7 6700HQ @ 2.6 GHz (Turbo Boost clock speed at ~3.2 GHz): Microsoft Edge:
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/46.0.2486.0 Safari/537.36 Edge/13.10586
Vector		Block		Result		Duration
12 			3 			correct 		62.05ms 
13 			3 			correct 		112.62ms 
14 			3 			correct 		218.60ms 
15 			3 			correct 		459.81ms 
16			 3 			correct 		903.34ms 
12 			4 			correct 		118.26ms 
13 			4 			correct 		230.64ms 
14 			4 			correct 		459.63ms 
15 			4 			correct 		935.18ms 
16 			4 			correct 		1876.40ms 
12 			5 			correct 		234.66ms 
13 			5 			correct 		493.53ms 
14 			5 			correct 		969.10ms 
15 			5 			correct 		1928.70ms 
16 			5 			correct 		3814.47ms
Status: Done.
Firefox 54.0.1:
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/54.0
Vector		Block		Result		Duration
12			3			correct		65.09ms
13			3			correct		171.56ms
14			3			correct		247.21ms
15			3			correct		523.29ms
16			3			correct		1058.06ms
12			4			correct		146.01ms
13			4			correct		275.39ms
14			4			correct		515.04ms
15			4			correct		1079.73ms
16			4			correct		2205.99ms
12			5			correct		268.66ms
13			5			correct		560.13ms
14			5			correct		1080.34ms
15			5			correct		2191.01ms
16			5			correct		4419.09ms
Status: Done.
Opera 46:
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/59.0.3071.115 Safari/537.36 OPR/46.0.2597.57
Vector		Block		Result		Duration
12			3			correct		206.27ms
13			3			correct		266.82ms
14			3			correct		383.49ms
15			3			correct		806.43ms
16			3			correct		1613.01ms
12			4			correct		231.39ms
13			4			correct		428.07ms
14			4			correct		846.24ms
15			4			correct		1774.70ms
16			4			correct		3446.91ms
12			5			correct		424.27ms
13			5			correct		924.23ms
14			5			correct		1829.21ms
15			5			correct		3553.98ms
16			5			correct		7056.61ms
Status: Done.
Internet Explorer 11:
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64; Trident/7.0; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; McAfee; rv:11.0) like Gecko
Vector		Block		Result		Duration
12 			3 			correct 		339.32ms 
13 			3 			correct 		542.94ms 
14 			3 			correct 		1057.05ms 
15 			3 			correct 		2098.56ms 
16 			3 			correct 		4167.74ms 
12 			4 			correct 		534.49ms 
13 			4 			correct 		1122.02ms 
14 			4 			correct 		2188.53ms 
15 			4 			correct 		4422.92ms 
16 			4 			correct 		8937.89ms 
12 			5 			correct 		1151.01ms 
13 			5 			correct 		2339.15ms 
14 			5 			correct 		4590.24ms 
15 			5 			correct 		9011.39ms 
16 			5 			correct 		18108.38ms 
Status: Done.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Samsung Galaxy S4:
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; Android 4.3; GT-I9505 Build/JSS15J) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko)
Chrome/59.0.3071.125 Mobile Safari/537.36
Vector		Block		Result		Duration
12			3			correct		916.84ms
13			3			correct		788.52ms
14			3			correct		1368.57ms
15			3			correct		2301.52ms
16			3			correct		4612.45ms
12			4			correct		627.99ms
13			4			correct		1516.51ms
14			4			correct		2607.09ms
15			4			correct		5260.62ms
16			4			correct		9984.80ms
12			5			correct		1255.67ms
13			5			correct		2651.67ms
14			5			correct		4917.08ms
15			5			correct		10239.74ms
16			5			correct		20403.39ms
Status: Done.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Personally, I feel that a F-Zero TAS (or any racing game TAS) that only completes one cup instead of all of them is more like a WIP than a full game TAS. I'm not going to vote.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
zoboner wrote:
Why saying sms console, then, than it's a game gear game?
Fixed.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Note to other publishers/encoders: I'll be encoding/publishing this one once it gets accepted. Temp encode: Link to video
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
Post subject: Re: #5564: KnucklesMaster368's NES VS Super Mario Bros in 10:14.42
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
TASVideoAgent wrote:
This TAS is giving the warning that it starts from a savestate. I can safely confirm that the TAS can be loaded on power on with no warning. It does not need the savesate.
You selected "Record from now" instead of "Record from start". By the way, the savestate is actually embedded into the FM2.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Fortranm wrote:
Loading Saturn SotN crushes the emulator.
Are you loading the CUE (or the CCD, whichever you have)? Saturn SotN loads just fine for me on BizHawk 2.0.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
maTO wrote:
I can't get BizHawk to work on my computer.
Have you tried installing the prereqs? If the issue persists, perhaps you could ask in the BizHawk sub-forum to see why you can't run BizHawk.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Okay, managed to get it to sync. You actually need the Nunchuk plugged into Wiimote 1, otherwise, it will desync at the save file creation screen. Something else of note is that you also need two GC memory cards plugged into Slots 1 and 2, otherwise, the WIP will desync early in Stage 1. Regardless of that, pretty nice WIP you have there, even if it's a testrun. Gotta enjoy undead Christopher Belmont for most of Stage 4. By the way, if my memory serves right, you stopped at the Stage 4 mid-boss (the golem, I believe), not the Stage 4 boss (I at least recall some witch screaming "DIE!" and having an evil laugh as the Stage 4 boss).
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
zoboner wrote:
est-ce que les balises pour insérer des images .png au texte de soumission sont les mêmes que pour insérer un .gif animé?!
Vu que les deux sont des formats d'images, oui.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
phoenix1291 wrote:
Est-ce que tu as modifié la résolution interne, l'anti-aliasing etc? Parce que forcément si tu laisse en 320x240 (qui est la résolution de base, si je ne me trompe pas?) ça sera assez moche. Tu peux monter à, par exemple 800x600 ou plus.
En effet, si on met l'anti-crénalage et le filtrage anisotrope (anisotropic filtering) au maximum, on aura des polygones plus lisses, même à 320x240. Par contre, 800x600 est quand tu multiplies la résolution de base (320x240) par 2.5, ce qui n'est pas forcément optimal. Je recommande (pour YouTube, en tout cas) de multiplier la résolution de base par 3 (960x720), voire par 4 (1280x960). zoboner: Ca dépend aussi de quel plug-in graphique que tu utilises. GlideN64 est en ce moment le meilleur plug-in à utiliser sur BizHawk, vu que les images qu'il produit sont nettement plus proches de la console originale (N64) que d'autres (p.ex. Glide64mk2 ou... Jabo (l'un des pires)), même si tu laisses les paramètres par défaut (par contre, l'anti-crénalage se trouve sous le nom de "MultiSampling"). Par contre, le fichier BK2 contient aussi des informations sur le plug-in que t'as utilisé, donc si t'as pas utilisé GlideN64, mais par exemple Glide64mk2, la run risque de désynchroniser sur GlideN64 (parce que (si je ne me trompe pas) il y a des différences de timing sur GlideN64 que sur d'autres).
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
zggzdydp wrote:
Currently I'm working on this, now the test run is at stage 4 boss. some parts need improvement, I'll check.
Did you start the testrun with dirty SRAM? I always get stuck at the save file creation screen at the beginning. Also, please state the Dolphin version you used. (by the way, this requires the Classic Controller in Wiimote 1)
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
Spikestuff wrote:
To whoever is publishing this. Make sure that you transcribe the audio commentary.
For the record, The8bitbeast, you can also transcribe the audio commentary as soft subtitles, so that the publisher saves a ton of time when actually publishing the encodes with the transcribed audio commentary.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
The Nicovideo TAS rankings for May 2017 are out: Link to video EDIT: Ranking in full detail. (spoilers)
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Publisher, Player (222)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1191
Location: Luxembourg
This was a nice watch. Yes vote. Note to other publishers/encoders: I'll be publishing this movie once it gets accepted, since I already have an AVI dump ready.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.