Locked

Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
Wow Xkeeper, you should post that script. What game is that?
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
You should post the youtube of that Xkeeper ;) Anyways, I had a movie desync for me once with Lua as well, but it turned out I still had a script running that had a "cheat" enabled that would make an enemy behave irradic (which obviously caused the desync). So make sure that whatever you do with Lua, on playback don't mess with the RAM unless it was recorded that way... Also, have you found the iup capabilities of Lua yet Xkeeper? That allows you to spawn new windows, create a GUI and I think even a canvas to paint on. -- Oh I think you mean the start menu wrapping. I know, I mentioned it but it seems to be quite hard to compensate for it, especially since it doesn't happen for everybody (depends on fonts). If you scale to 2x it's fine and the bottom part doesn't disappear (and you can actually see what happens anyways :p)
qfox.nl
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
qFox wrote:
Also, have you found the iup capabilities of Lua yet Xkeeper? That allows you to spawn new windows, create a GUI and I think even a canvas to paint on.
Can you point me in the right direction? That sounds, um, awesome.
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
IUP? Oh, sure :) Let's see. I don't know for linux, that needs a heap of stuff installed I really don't know about. For windows it's easy. You need to extract the entire contents of the luapack.zip to your fceux dir (if you haven't done so already, and you probably have). This includes about 13 iup*.dll files. I'm not sure if the iup example was added, but just in case you can find it here: http://pastebin.com/f20b4a6a1 Remember that this needs our auxlib.lua (part of the luapack), because of some functions that deal with closing stuff. The example above basically shows you how to create a window with a few basic controls. It's a reaaaaally easy learning curve, even though the docs take a while to get used to (I found them difficult to navigate at first). iup reference: http://www.tecgraf.puc-rio.br/iup/ Btw: Xkeeper: Canvas Drawing: http://www.tecgraf.puc-rio.br/cd/ But don't ask me how to get it running, please do tell me if you managed it to :p Oh and this is a nice reference for the basic lua functions, in case you need something quick: http://www.lua.org/manual/5.1/
qfox.nl
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
Sweet -- looks like tk for tcl/python -- ie simple :) This should be fun! Thanks.
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
alden wrote:
This should be fun!
I made a sort of proof of concept script that allows for rewinding -- it's very hoggy though and makes the emulator slow sometimes for me: http://aldentas.googlepages.com/rewindgui.lua What makes the GUI nice is that arbitrary rewinding will now work on replaying movies -- a big feature missing from watching runs with emulator files right now. qFox or anyone else smart, feel free to point out anything silly I've done :)
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
Heh, nice Alden. Although it seems to be laggy when recording. It's funny to see it rewind though :D
qfox.nl
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
Well this is what prompted my question about savestates before :) It's saving a savestate every frame. It's strange, it ran really smoothly for a while but now it's always sort of choppy for me. I'm going to play around with it. Thanks again for the iup intro.
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
SXL
Joined: 2/7/2005
Posts: 571
why not let the user set the value to "every x frames" to save, then fast-forward to the real frame the user wants to go to ? or using variable distances (in frames) between savestates automatically saved, like -2, -4, -8, etc., since usually you need precision close to the current frame you're actually recording, and less in the past...
I never sleep, 'cause sleep is the cousin of death - NAS
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
Have you tried to (avi) record a published movie backwards yet? :p
qfox.nl
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
SXL wrote:
why not let the user set the value to "every x frames" to save, then fast-forward to the real frame the user wants to go to ? or using variable distances (in frames) between savestates automatically saved, like -2, -4, -8, etc., since usually you need precision close to the current frame you're actually recording, and less in the past...
I did something like that in snes... you can change the speedmode to max and it stops updating the screen, so you could do that and still keep somewhat fluid looking (backwards) animation. Doesn't work in fceux yet, so that would make it look a bit funny -- my main goal was to make it look like it was going backwards, but that would be good for simply wanting to rewind. And no, no backwards avi's yet ;)
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
I think it's possible to capture input with iup. Then assign a key to rewinding so you can rewind on keypress, much like frameadvance :)
qfox.nl
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
Yes, that and a "read-only frame advance" button for when you rewind too far :) Doing that is the only disadvantage I've found so far to using rewind rather than traditional savestates. I've also found casual playing with rewind cheating rather than savestate cheating to be much more fun and easy :)
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
qFox wrote:
Btw: Xkeeper: Canvas Drawing: http://www.tecgraf.puc-rio.br/cd/ But don't ask me how to get it running, please do tell me if you managed it to :p
Haha. That's funny. I've tried pretty much anything I could think of; at best I managed to crash FCEUX. http://xkeeper.shacknet.nu:5/emu/nes/lua/test.lua There's no "Example of usage in Lua" bit or anything, so you know. CRASH Being able to use GD would be nice, but unless I can figure out how to stuff it into a dialog (or otherwise externalize it) I'm pretty much screwed. D'oh. I'm not sure how I'd do that in IUP :(
Perma-banned
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
Alternatively you can probably mash it up, creating an image (aren't there some kind of gd support functions in emulua? I've never used them) and blitting it offscreen somehow (just replacing the old with a new image, might cause flickering though).
qfox.nl
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
Not even sure where to begin there, and I fear GD might even be slower than Lua's current painting. Ick. Also Small, mostly pointless speedometer. Woo, or something.
Perma-banned
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
Lol. Well, you can always create a raw bitmap :p
qfox.nl
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
qFox wrote:
Lol. Well, you can always create a raw bitmap :p
How would that be done? GD can export to strings, so if there was a way to, say, output a raw PNG into a dialog or something :|
Perma-banned
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
I meant constructing a raw bitmap from scratch (which is easy), outputting to file, loading in dialog. Something like that should be able to work. Don't know about speed, and trying to cut away the file operation would probably be a good idea as well :p
qfox.nl
Banned User, Former player
Joined: 12/23/2004
Posts: 1850
qFox wrote:
I meant constructing a raw bitmap from scratch (which is easy), outputting to file, loading in dialog. Something like that should be able to work. Don't know about speed, and trying to cut away the file operation would probably be a good idea as well :p
And as I said, I wouldn't even know where to begin. :| Darn. If only painting was faster :|
Perma-banned
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
Alden: According to the svn, the current build on sourceforge allows you to create "ram-only anonymous savestates" (which do not create a file, like the current method) : "added experimental ram-only emulua savestate code. now call savestate_persist(ss) if you want to cause it to go to disk. otherwise it will stay in memory." That should speed things up... You should be able to get the interim build (2.0.3-interim) here http://fceux.com/zip , but that build is from August 18th, same date as this feat was presumably included, so it may not be. I'll confirm this later.
qfox.nl
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
Yeah that cleared that up pretty good :) Rewind is fluid on every game now. Thanks! Oh and fceux is taking 300 megs of memory :D
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Joined: 4/25/2004
Posts: 615
Location: The Netherlands
Hehehe, win some, lose some ;)
qfox.nl
Skilled player (1404)
Joined: 10/27/2004
Posts: 1977
Location: Making an escape
Twice I've watched the Ufouria video that looks close to being submitted, and both times I got pestered with seven or eight different ".fcm no longer supported" messages. I have no .fcms for this game. Is there any way to turn this message off? Also, does this support/record the Famicom microphone? I think I can remember something about that being mentioned on IRC a while ago, but my memory is very fuzzy, and I can't find anything in the emulator concerning it.
A hundred years from now, they will gaze upon my work and marvel at my skills but never know my name. And that will be good enough for me.

Locked