Post subject: Rosenkreuz Stilette
Player (113)
Joined: 10/21/2010
Posts: 138
This is a megaman clone with girls; you can either play as: -Spiritia who plays just like classic megaman with slide, charge shot and gets boss weapons, plus item 1&2 from MM2 -Grolla who is more like Zero; she can dash, wall jump and charge her sword, but this only grants greater range - unless below 50% a charged attacks deals less damage than a normal attack. She can also do a 3-hit combo, but bosses still gain their invulnerability after any hit; however the third hit does slightly more damage. She gains nothing from defeated bosses. You can switch the playable character by using a code at start up (left, right, weapon select R, weapon select L) This game re-uses/replicates many bosses and stage portions from early megaman games, so don't be surprised if several things seem very familiar, including the obligatory Metal Man knockoff that gets two-hit by their own weapon in the re-fight. I made a small test run with Grolla. Don't expect any miracles (about 29 minutes in-game), was just curious if this game already works with Hourglass. Don't know yet, if I'll try a real TAS of it. Settings: Multithreading and Wait Sync: Allow Multimedia Timer Mode: Synchronous Message Sync Mode: Semi-Synchronous game version: 1.06b, no other patches
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1303)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
Note that there are some existing runs of the game already (one full-game TAS for each playable character, I think). I couldn't get this game to run in Hourglass before, but with your settings it does run. (I'm just surprised it doesn't desync like crazy with wait sync set to asynchronous.) I would add "Runtime > App Locale > Force Japanese Locale" to those settings, even though it works without it, since some text might be invisible if it's not used. I was not able to get your run to play back, because I think you aren't using the default configuration of Z to jump and X to attack (and the movie doesn't save the game's files in it, of course, so I don't have your modified config.dat). What controls were you using? The movie can probably easily be hex-edited to work with the default controls, which you can set by simply deleting your config.dat file. Controls should be configured in Hourglass's Input menu instead.
Player (113)
Joined: 10/21/2010
Posts: 138
I had rk:s's config.dat deleted and then the game started once normally before recording this, so the controls should be default. at least they are the same as listed here minus the part where i have y and z mixed up like usual... QWERTY/QWERTZ and all that...
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1303)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
Ah, okay, so you're using a German keyboard and I apparently have a bug with handling that. If I convert your movie to use a US keyboard like this, it plays back fine for me. Can you clarify something for me? You were pressing the Y key at the bottom-left of your keyboard to jump? And if you go into the in-game options > key config menu, does it say Z or Y next to Jump? (If the menu is all empty, try again with AppLocale, or the app locale setting in Hourglass.)
Player (113)
Joined: 10/21/2010
Posts: 138
nitsuja wrote:
You were pressing the Y key at the bottom-left of your keyboard to jump?
yes, left of x
nitsuja wrote:
And if you go into the in-game options > key config menu, does it say Z or Y next to Jump?
it says z, no matter which App Locale i choose sidenote: for the converted file to play back properly i have to set my system to a different language/input scheme/whatever it's properly called
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1303)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
In the newest version of Hourglass this should be fixed. We should both be able to play back either version of the movie no matter what our keyboard language is set to. About the actual movie: It syncs great for me all the way to the ending, even if I fast-forward it. Compared with the ones on nicovideo, I think yours is a little slower, especially near the beginning of the run, but I guess that difference can be seen in the rerecord count too, and you said yours wasn't a serious TAS. But it's possible that certain parts of your movie are faster anyway (I didn't compare them that carefully).
Player (42)
Joined: 12/27/2008
Posts: 873
Location: Germany
nitsuja wrote:
Note that there are some existing runs of the game already.
In the sub-30 Spiritia run, is there any reason that he went through the Prologue stage? It's been some time since I played this game, but I remember it could be skipped. Good luck to whoever takes this project, that was one of the best TASes I've seen for quite a while.
Player (113)
Joined: 10/21/2010
Posts: 138
nitsuja wrote:
In the newest version of Hourglass this should be fixed. We should both be able to play back either version of the movie no matter what our keyboard language is set to.
for me... no, both de-sync, but differently... and non-deterministic - might have to recheck options edit: nevermind, redownloaded the new version, now it works for both 100%; or was it incompatible with the old hourglass.cfg? cause i re-used that only on the de-syncing one
nitsuja wrote:
About the actual movie: It syncs great for me all the way to the ending, even if I fast-forward it.
good, that's basically all I wanted to know from this short project xD
nitsuja wrote:
Compared with the ones on nicovideo, I think yours is a little slower, especially near the beginning of the run, but I guess that difference can be seen in the rerecord count too, and you said yours wasn't a serious TAS. But it's possible that certain parts of your movie are faster anyway (I didn't compare them that carefully).
as I said, for me it was mostly a test to see if this game works with hour glass (since it was listed as ?), didn't take it too seriously I know already of many mistakes: first stage: wall jumping over one obstacle instead of just running below it, the boss fight (provoking counter should be faster than waiting) general: sloppy running, wall jumping, falling (see re-record count), selection screen etc.
p4wn3r wrote:
In the sub-30 Spiritia run, is there any reason that he went through the Prologue stage?
it can be skipped by simply selecting the top most option "game start" instead of the option "prologue" below that, it's probably done to show-off all stages. might be just me, but I'd rather see the prologue as well, since it would only be skipped by a menu option, not by a glitch actually this game has quite a bit of dialog, but that can be enabled/disabled in a similar way with "arcade mode" or "story mode"; since we'd skip through it at a unreadable speed anyway there's no need to enable it
Skilled player (1186)
Joined: 11/13/2011
Posts: 87
Location: Celestial Empire
I love this game very much,so I decided to do some TASs of version 1.05c. But I'm wondering should I use english 1.05c version to fininsh the run and submmit it later? And WIP replay fie(1.05c-1.06b): http://www.mediafire.com/?mp8d83wj6w6j38b
The king is always lucky.
Joined: 10/10/2009
Posts: 24
i ffound a zipping glitch in rossenkreus and work in the second game this is the first zipping glitch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aTAJaPR_Ark the same gltich but from the second game of rossenkreus http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs1pLF0iSJA&feature=youtu.be
GoddessMaria
She/Her
Reviewer, Experienced player (854)
Joined: 5/29/2009
Posts: 516
Location: Hell...
Very interesting glitches!
Current projects: failing at life
Joined: 5/6/2016
Posts: 39
I don't know if Hourglass supports DRM-free version of the official Rosenkreuzstilette Freudenstachel English release.