Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/19/2007
Posts: 40
I hope no one will mind me talking about this. It's a bit tangential, but I think it illustrated how lsnes should be run.
creaothceann wrote:
It's just that byuu has a certain stance on the issue (ROM headers are worse than useless (patching problems), archives don't have enough benefits today and needlessly complicate the code) and I agree with him. You can even include a build of snespurify, in addition to the source.
The thing is, his arguments are all based on his idea for revolutionizing how people think about emulation, and not based on any real practical concerns. It's based on his idea of what people should want, and not on what people actually do want. These are the same things that people hate closed source programs for doing. His devotion to accuracy is commendable. His idea that there's one right way to handle emulation, including even how we have to arrange our files, is not. If you don't want to use a certain part of the code, don't lobby for it being removed, just don't use it. lsnes definitely should not remove things just because some people don't want them. Remove them because people aren't using them.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 5/4/2005
Posts: 502
Location: Onett, Eagleland
trlky wrote:
I hope no one will mind me talking about this. It's a bit tangential, but I think it illustrated how lsnes should be run.
creaothceann wrote:
It's just that byuu has a certain stance on the issue (ROM headers are worse than useless (patching problems), archives don't have enough benefits today and needlessly complicate the code) and I agree with him. You can even include a build of snespurify, in addition to the source.
The thing is, his arguments are all based on his idea for revolutionizing how people think about emulation, and not based on any real practical concerns. It's based on his idea of what people should want, and not on what people actually do want. These are the same things that people hate closed source programs for doing. His devotion to accuracy is commendable. His idea that there's one right way to handle emulation, including even how we have to arrange our files, is not. If you don't want to use a certain part of the code, don't lobby for it being removed, just don't use it. lsnes definitely should not remove things just because some people don't want them. Remove them because people aren't using them.
Well said.
I think.....therefore I am not Barry Burton
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 9/7/2005
Posts: 143
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
So is there a way to make this run faster? I know my machine is not cutting edge, but an Athlon XP 3500+ should be able to run Chrono Trigger faster than half speed, yes? Changing the speed setting in the menu doesn't appear to do anything. I have the compatibility core selected, and am using the latest build (lambda15 epsilon1?).
This guy are sick.
Experienced Forum User, Player (117)
Joined: 3/23/2012
Posts: 296
Location: In X position=50 y position=20
There is some bug in Isnes. When I play Megaman X2[!], I can't get past the crystal snail level and which was alright on Snes9x
Jungon wrote:
if I was to have a Tool-Assisted real life ... I'd.. I could abuse death, just to see if it saves time ..
Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1107)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
Marx wrote:
When I play Megaman X2[!], I can't get past the crystal snail level and which was alright on Snes9x
Megaman X2 uses Cx4 chip, which has firmware (cx4.bin) which bsnes needs to properly emulate it. If you are missing that, one of the levels in MMX2 is impossible to complete. (Edit: Played MMX2 Crystal Snail stage up to the boss to test)
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/23/2012
Posts: 82
Ilari wrote:
Marx wrote:
When I play Megaman X2[!], I can't get past the crystal snail level and which was alright on Snes9x
Megaman X2 uses Cx4 chip, which has firmware (cx4.bin) which bsnes needs to properly emulate it. If you are missing that, one of the levels in MMX2 is impossible to complete. (Edit: Played MMX2 Crystal Snail stage up to the boss to test)
And the only way to get that .bin file is to dump it from one's own copy of the game?
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
I don't think that will work. There's a dump of the file. But the rules won't allow linking to it.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/23/2012
Posts: 82
hegyak wrote:
I don't think that will work. There's a dump of the file. But the rules won't allow linking to it.
Figures. I'll stick with Snes9x then, despite being less accurate (but still way more so than Zsnes ever was).
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Finding these files is as easy as googling "bsnes special chips". Note that the latest bsnes version requires them named *.rom and stored in the "cartridge folder" of the game; don't know about other emulators.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
I can see how someone not serving you roms on a silver platter might be deflating and discouraging, but take heart! Once you learn how to find what you need on your own, you'll be an emulator superhero! Don't give up!
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 1/23/2012
Posts: 82
...............
Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1591)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4899
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
the_randomizer wrote:
Huh? Who was the directed to? Finding those BIOS files is easy enough.
Then why bother sticking to Snes9x?
Figures. I'll stick with Snes9x then, despite being less accurate (but still way more so than Zsnes ever was).
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
I didn't think SNES9X is accepted anymore, except for a few exceptions.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 5/4/2005
Posts: 502
Location: Onett, Eagleland
I wish that guy would leave like he said he would. He repeatedly comes into an emulator topic, complains about an issue ONLY he has with the emulator, can't resolve it and therefore the emulator sucks, he's not a noob, and he will continue to use snes9x and leave the forums. All he does is waste time and effort for those trying to be helpful and derail topics. Rinse, wash, and repeat.
I think.....therefore I am not Barry Burton
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1112)
Joined: 9/27/2008
Posts: 1078
I am running a Windows 7 OS, lsnes-wxwidgets.exe, version rr1 delta17. There appears to be some sort of bad interaction between bitmap objects and the Reset Lua VM menu item. I have duplicated the crash several times: * I open lsnes. * I run a script. * Reset Lua VM. * Execute gui.repaint() twice. Either one of the following scripts is enough to trigger the crash:
Language: lua

local bmp= gui.bitmap_new(1,1,false) local pal= gui.palette_new() function on_paint() gui.bitmap_draw(1,1,bmp, pal) end gui.repaint()
Language: lua

local bmp= gui.bitmap_new(1,1,true) function on_paint() gui.bitmap_draw(1,1,bmp) end gui.repaint()
I haven't been able to trigger a crash without creating a bitmap object, displaying it (even if invisible), then resetting the Lua VM, followed by further on_paint() requests even if it's now nil. No need to run a ROM. Having lsnes sit there with the NO SIGNAL display doesn't stop the crash. I've tried a much more complicated script than the above two that doesn't use bitmaps and was unable to trigger a crash. I've isolated the lua functions the best I can, and this is what I've spotted.
Post subject: Windows Installer
Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/9/2004
Posts: 4588
Location: In his lab studying psychology to find new ways to torture TASers and forumers
There is now a Windows installer for the latest stable version on the official page. Some testing and feedback would be much appreciated.
Warning: Opinions expressed by Nach or others in this post do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or position of Nach himself on the matter(s) being discussed therein.
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 7/30/2014
Posts: 145
Location: マーベリックハンターベース
where is the download for this?
ロックマンX7は? 私はそのクソゲームを憎む
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Skilled player (1430)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1314
kusoman wrote:
where is the download for this?
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Post subject: Re: Windows Installer
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Nach wrote:
There is now a Windows installer for the latest stable version on the official page.
That works for me.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Player (153)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
Under Windows 7, if we press Alt or F10, the menu in the upper part of the window("File") is selected. This is specially annoying if some hotkey has Alt or F10. Is there any reasonable way to fix it?
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Player (153)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 673
Location: Brazil
settings.get: Get value of setting • Syntax: string settings.get(string name) Get value of setting <name>. If setting value can't be obtained, returns (nil, error message). What's the list of possible settings? I want be able to setup the size of the Window when I start the emulator, but that seems impossible. I also want to keybind the emulator speed (targetfps), but I can't. The commands set-setting, get-setting and show-settings are also absent from rr2 version.