Player (65)
Joined: 4/21/2011
Posts: 232
I would make a library file with all the loadplugin and function definitions.
Language: avisynth

LoadPlugin("./programs/mt_masktools-26.dll") function ng_bighalo(...){...}
Then just import to library before calling the function.
Language: avisynth

import("lib.avs") blankclip(600, 2048, 1792, color=$00ffff) ng_bighalo("Hello World", size=128)
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
Okay, thank you. Please do tell me though, how can I edit the drop shadow and the thickness of the stroke?
Player (65)
Joined: 4/21/2011
Posts: 232
If you're using the ng_bighalo from http://pastebin.com/j29A92vf The drop shadow isn't too fancy, just an extra section of halo with the same transparency as the main text. If you aren't using a semi-transparent halo, it won't do anything. The shadow is made up of point pairs. ng_bighalo("Hello World", size=128, shadow=" 20 -30") Play around with the numbers to change the relative placement. shadow=" -1 -2 -2 -4 -3 -6 -4 -8" Would be similar to the default " -4 -8", but the extra points would make things look smoother. Thickness would be halo, but it is a pain to set up all the points. Using halo_radius will have the computer calculate all the points for you. This can be really slow.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
Is it possible to lay PNGs or GIFs that have transparency, over another clip? When I tried it in the past, I think I couldn't even open GIFs and with PNGs the transparent parts would be black and blocky.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Load .GIFs with DSS2(filename).FlipVertical and .PNGs with ImageReader(filename, 0, 0, pixel_type="RGB32"). Use Layer to combine everything.
Language: Avisynth

v1 = AVISource ("00.avi").ConvertToRGB32 v2 = DSS2 ("00.gif").FlipVertical v3 = ImageReader("00.png", 0, 0, pixel_type="RGB32") v1.Layer(v2, x=...).Layer(v3, x=..., y=...)
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2292)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6337
Location: The land down under.
How do I make 2 videos combine to one another. Not this StackHorizontal or StackVertical, I mean a 320x240 video combing with a 512x240 and having something combine the two to be the 320x240 video first then followed by the 512x240 later. 2 games that I can give examples on with changing ratios (both PS) Castlevania (SoN) and Croc.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Decide on a final resolution and resize both videos to that.
Language: Avisynth

Open("001.avi") +\ Open("002.avi") function Open(string FileName) { AVISource(FileName) BilinearResize(640, 480) }
You can use PointResize if the (horz./vert.) resolution is the least common multiple of both source (horz./vert.) resolutions.
320 = 2^6             * 5
512 = 2^6 * 2 * 2 * 2
 x  = 2^6 * 2 * 2 * 2 * 5 = 2560
Active player (458)
Joined: 12/24/2010
Posts: 297
Location: CT, USA
Is there a simple way to convert .mkv and .avi files into .mp4 format without A) losing a ton of quality or B) Having a huuuuge file afterward (Tried converting a 11GB 1080p mkv in VLC, came out 79GB lmao). Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11267
Location: RU
1. Check the source video bitrate. 2. Pick a good codec. 3. Config it for the same bitrate for output. 4. ????? 5. Profit!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Player (65)
Joined: 4/21/2011
Posts: 232
convert .mkv and .avi files into .mp4 format
You probably shouldn't be converting at all. mkv, avi, and mp4 are containers, you can usually just repack the streams from one to the other. mkvextract to pull them out, mp4box to pack them in.
Warepire
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 3/2/2010
Posts: 2174
Location: A little to the left of nowhere (Sweden)
nanogyth wrote:
convert .mkv and .avi files into .mp4 format
You probably shouldn't be converting at all. mkv, avi, and mp4 are containers, you can usually just repack the streams from one to the other. mkvextract to pull them out, mp4box to pack them in.
It should however be noted that all codecs MKV and AVI can contain should not be repacked into an MP4.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Basically, you want to see what are in the files in the first place to see if you can just combine them without trans coding. If you are on Windows, get MediaInfo and post the information to pastebin.com or something for us to see.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11267
Location: RU
you also can edit the mkv video if you use avisynth script with only directshowsource("video.mkv") inside and drag it into virtualdub.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
feos wrote:
you also can edit the mkv video if you use avisynth script with only directshowsource("video.mkv") inside and drag it into virtualdub.
This is not recommended as DirectShowSource is not frame accurate. The better solution is to use FFVideoSource (http://code.google.com/p/ffmpegsource/) or dss2 (http://haali.su/mkv/).
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Warepire wrote:
nanogyth wrote:
convert .mkv and .avi files into .mp4 format
You probably shouldn't be converting at all. mkv, avi, and mp4 are containers, you can usually just repack the streams from one to the other. mkvextract to pull them out, mp4box to pack them in.
It should however be noted that all codecs MKV and AVI can contain should not be repacked into an MP4.
Why would that be a bad idea?
Warepire
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 3/2/2010
Posts: 2174
Location: A little to the left of nowhere (Sweden)
creaothceann wrote:
Warepire wrote:
nanogyth wrote:
convert .mkv and .avi files into .mp4 format
You probably shouldn't be converting at all. mkv, avi, and mp4 are containers, you can usually just repack the streams from one to the other. mkvextract to pull them out, mp4box to pack them in.
It should however be noted that all codecs MKV and AVI can contain should not be repacked into an MP4.
Why would that be a bad idea?
I've seen various media players (not VLC, because they seem to accept every hackjob there is) freak out from an XviD video stream in an MP4 container for example, one of the media players was Media Player Classic (happened early last year). Might be patched up now though.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
When I write something like
clip
scriptclip(last, """subtitle("Hello world", font="Verdana",size=100)""")
then the font used isn't Verdana. Why? Nevermind, I must be blind.
Post subject: Famtasia and avi dumping
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2292)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6337
Location: The land down under.
Famtasia, oh we all love this emulator. Anyways, the issue that is occurring for me is that I am unable to dump "recording00.avi". I have all the required things from the patcher but it won't dump. Is there a program which is needed to aid the dumping process or something? Or is there some more tweaking which is required to get this emulator dumping? I know I've gotten famtasia to work before but I just don't remember how.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Try running the program in Administrator and/or Compatibility mode, and make sure it can write to the directory. In the worst case simply run it in a previous OS via VirtualBox.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
creaothceann wrote:
In the worst case simply run it in a previous OS via VirtualBox.
That's not too simple for most people to do...
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Manual, Google, learning by doing, ... (The best thing is that nothing can be damaged.)
Post subject: Backwards Compatibility isn't the answer
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2292)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6337
Location: The land down under.
I still have the issue (balls). I was able to do it with Windows 7 without backwards compatibility (last computer all formatted into an xp) I am unable to make it work with Windows xp or my Windows 8 (that includes backwards compatibility) Also Administrator mode does not help too. It's an actual program that actually help dump it (Not Virtual Dub)
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
scriptclip(last.trim(4331,0), """audiodub(last,last.timestretch(100+current_frame).killvideo)""")
Why does this not speed up the audio over time? Same problem with Resampleaudio (making the audio crappy over time)
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
MUGG wrote:
scriptclip(last.trim(4331,0), """audiodub(last,last.timestretch(100+current_frame).killvideo)""")
Why does this not speed up the audio over time? Same problem with Resampleaudio (making the audio crappy over time)
You forgot to assign it since you specified a clip. So two solutions:
last.trim(4331,0).scriptclip("""audiodub(last,last.timestretch(100+current_frame).killvideo)""")
or
last = scriptclip(last.trim(4331,0), """audiodub(last,last.timestretch(100+current_frame).killvideo)""")
Edit: On second thought, it might be more due to the fact you keep changing the sample rate per frame which is not possible to put together. I'm now not sure if my solutions work.
Expert player (2453)
Joined: 12/23/2007
Posts: 822
I'm wondering, about when would H.265 (HEVC) be one of our official encoder. There have been HEVC decoders and encoders for a long time, but I haven't tried it because I don't know when it will be developed good enough. I think HEVC would become main codec for videos soon or later, so I'd like to hear what do you think of it.
Recent projects: SMB warpless TAS (2018), SMB warpless walkathon (2019), SMB something never done before (2019), Extra Mario Bros. (best ending) (2020).