BizHawk Emulator Development


Experienced Forum User, Published Author (686)
Joined: 2/1/2014
Posts: 927
Rookie of 2014Nintendo 3D TASer of 2014First edition TAS of 2014
Kurabupengin wrote:
Is the new version coming out on Christmas?
I'm gonna say unlikely. If anything gets release this year, it'll be a bugfix release.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2045)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4871
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
GBA TASer of 2010
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
Should GBA bios be skipped for a TAS?
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (205)
Joined: 10/21/2014
Posts: 62
Location: England
This is the tiniest and least urgent feature request ever, but could there be an on-screen message to say the sound has been muted/unmuted when using the toggle sound hotkey? Is there maybe some way to customise which actions display messages that I'm not aware of? Obviously a lua script can do this, but it seems like it would be simpler as an inbuilt feature.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (1412)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 5898
Location: The land down under.
PSX TASer of 2016
Fortranm wrote:
Should GBA bios be skipped for a TAS?
Depends on if it needs it on or off. Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories TAS for example uses the bios sequence for better RNG.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Version 1.9.2 is now released! http://tasvideos.org/BizHawk/ReleaseHistory.html#Bizhawk192 http://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/BizHawk/BizHawk-1.9.2.zip/download Major changes include; FDS loads faster Cheats work GDI+ fallback when OpenGL fails
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Post subject: Re: 1.9.2 released
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (182)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 672
Location: Brazil
TAS of 2015SNES TAS of 2015
hegyak wrote:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/BizHawk/BizHawk-1.9.2.zip/download
The 1.9.2 file is not available, only 1.9.1 and below.
Post subject: Re: 1.9.2 released
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Amaraticando wrote:
The 1.9.2 file is not available, only 1.9.1 and below.
I didn't merge the changes (DUR!) so I had to remove it and get a new build made. Edit: It's ready and able. Enjoy OpenAL and all kinds of things.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
Always great to see new BizHawk releases. A lot of really nice little improvements and features in this one that make the TASing process easier. Thank you, BizHawk team!
Post subject: Version 1.9.3 Released
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Version 1.9.3 of BizHawk has been released. http://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/BizHawk/BizHawk-1.9.3.zip/download Small bug fixes from 1.9.2 and not much else to say. No new major features.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 469
Location: Switzerland
What?
BizHawk v1.9.3 is released. BizHawk is a A multi-system emulator written in C#. BizHawk provides nice features for casual gamers such as full screen, and joypad support in addition to full rerecording and debugging tools for all system cores. BizHawk Supported Systems - Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) - Sega Master System - SG-1000 - Game Gear - PC-Engine (TurboGrafx-16) / CD-ROM - SuperGrafx - TI-83 Calculator BizHawk Experimental - Sega Genesis (low compatibility list) - Gameboy (Debugger only) BizHawk v1.9.2 Changelog: - From revision 9182 and cherry picked revisions 9212, 9201, 9198, 9193, 9190, 9207, 9208
Screenshot
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (157)
Joined: 7/16/2009
Posts: 686
Okay, so emucr's description of BizHawk sucks. How is this something you need to say here?
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (80)
Joined: 11/25/2009
Posts: 77
Is the Lua interface still in early development? I keep getting this error: LuaInterface.LuaScriptException: Lua511.LuaCSFunction Or is it just my script maybe? It's very short and simple:
memory.usememorydomain("RDRAM")

while true do
    inputs = input.get()
    if inputs["RightShift"] == true then memory.writefloat(0x00400008, 10.0, true) end
    gui.text(2, 50, memory.readfloat(0x004000A8, true) .. ' - XP', background, forecolor, "bottomright")
    gui.text(2, 35, memory.readfloat(0x004000AC, true) .. ' - YP', background, forecolor, "bottomright")
    gui.text(2, 20, memory.readfloat(0x004000B0, true) .. ' - ZP', background, forecolor, "bottomright")
    gui.text(2, 5, memory.read_s16_le(0x00382670) .. ' - TV', background, forecolor, "bottomright")
    emu.frameadvance()
end
The script is for The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask, if that matters. I tested it on BizHawk v1.9.3.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 469
Location: Switzerland
Normally the description is right on Emucr. So it's a mistake right?
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (157)
Joined: 7/16/2009
Posts: 686
Nisto: From a quick look at your script I see that background and forecolor aren't defined anywhere. Not sure if that would cause the error you name, but it's a bug nonetheless. phoenix1291: Well yes, but we don't have any affiliation with Emucr. If their description is wrong, that's something you'd have to take up with them, not us.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (80)
Joined: 11/25/2009
Posts: 77
Are you sure, Scepheo? My Lua skills have become quite rusty as its been a while since I wrote that bit of code. However, I don't think I would wittingly keep the code like that if it was actually causing problems or was somehow against the language syntax. Doesn't Lua parse undefined variables as nil or a "blank argument"? I would imagine that's why I wrote it like that, since it skips having to go back and check the documentation for gui.text() if I ever wanted to change the defaults. I could be wrong though... I will try. EDIT: Nope, that doesn't appear to be the issue. I should add that the script does run exactly as expected, it just randomly throws the aforementioned exception and inactivates the script after some time of use - almost seemingly within a certain time interval (EDIT: scratch that, it just crashed on me after only 5 seconds of use... Most of the times I'm able to run it for at least some minutes) Oh and I'm on Windows XP.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2042)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3084
Glitchy TAS of 2013Gameboy TAS of 2013PSX TASer of 2010
For some reason, EmuCR builds are linked from the main BizHawk page. Since there has been some recent confusion regarding EmuCR, I have removed it from the page.
nymx: Wow, this looks like the kind of fights I saw in high school. Quick and dirty...over in seconds! EZGames69: What kinds of fights involved stabbing yourselves to kill opponents?
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2042)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3084
Glitchy TAS of 2013Gameboy TAS of 2013PSX TASer of 2010
For those who haven't noticed yet, BizHawk 1.9.2+ supports GDI+ for those who cannot use OpenGL (I have confirmed this on my older computer). If you weren't able to run BizHawk 1.7.0-1.9.1, this is probably the case. You'll need to put this config file into the main BizHawk folder: http://www.mediafire.com/view/clq48v2rw83yx8b/config.ini A way to configure this after installation without needing to download this config file would be welcome.
nymx: Wow, this looks like the kind of fights I saw in high school. Quick and dirty...over in seconds! EZGames69: What kinds of fights involved stabbing yourselves to kill opponents?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
You could edit the config file instead of downloading it. You could issue --gdi on the commandline.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (80)
Joined: 11/25/2009
Posts: 77
Isn't that what selecting "GDI+" under Config -> Display -> Display Method does? (Or would you need to be able to run on OpenGL by default to even be able to access that option in the GUI?) EDIT: Also, instead of anyone having to downloading an entire config file, you can change it by one single value manually: set "DispMethod" to 1.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2042)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3084
Glitchy TAS of 2013Gameboy TAS of 2013PSX TASer of 2010
If you can't run BizHawk using OpenGL, then right after installation: 1) You can't get to the Display Method menu in BizHawk unless you run BizHawk successfully, but you can't. 2) You can't get a config.ini file unless you run BizHawk successfully, but you can't. 3) Not everyone knows how or is willing to deal with a command line. Though for the last one, a provided batch file is a possible substitute.
nymx: Wow, this looks like the kind of fights I saw in high school. Quick and dirty...over in seconds! EZGames69: What kinds of fights involved stabbing yourselves to kill opponents?
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (80)
Joined: 11/25/2009
Posts: 77
Hmm yes, very valid points. I never noticed the config was created after the first run. For the batch/command-line idea though, there's a simpler way (at least for Windows users): 1) create a shortcut of EmuHawk 2) add " --gdi" (without quotes) to the end of the path (in Properties -> "Shortcut" tab -> "Target" field) 3) open BizHawk through the new EmuHawk shortcut EDIT: Actually, come to think of it... You can just create a config.ini file from scratch with this code:
{
    "DispMethod": 1
}
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (157)
Joined: 7/16/2009
Posts: 686
FractalFusion wrote:
3) Not everyone knows how or is willing to deal with a command line.
I feel that if using something as straightforward as a command line is too technical for you, even if you have to do it exactly once, to work around a bug, you're not the kind of person we want to cater for.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Scepheo wrote:
FractalFusion wrote:
3) Not everyone knows how or is willing to deal with a command line.
I feel that if using something as straightforward as a command line is too technical for you, even if you have to do it exactly once, to work around a bug, you're not the kind of person we want to cater for.
It's not too technical for me, but even I would be stumped at first when encountering that error. My first instinct would be to search for a readme.txt file, but BizHawk doesn't ship with documentation. The project page mentions the config file, so that's good, but there's no documentation of the command-line options. Only when you go to the Google Code project page (which will be gone next year) there's a link at the bottom of the page, and it doesn't mention --gdi either. I'm not saying that it's an unsolvable problem at all because the solution is available, but it doesn't seem like the user-friendliest and most straight-forward way to go. I'd add a check before loading OpenGL DLLs (or when they return an error); when that check fails I'd just switch to GDI+ automatically. If that's not possible I'd pop up a message box describing the problem and the solution. If that's not an option for some reason I'd put it in the readme (a properly formatted one - lsnes' documentation makes my eyes and head hurt).
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
we DO switch to GDI+ automatically. some video cards are SO BROKEN that they crash anyway. We can't display a message. The process crashes IN THE VIDEO DRIVER. I should probably try writing the ini back out before initializing opengl. We're talking about unfinished code here, like literally everything else I've ever put into bizhawk. When its finished, we'll be using d3d again instead and all this will be moot.