BizHawk Emulator Development


Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
feos wrote:
ReyVGM wrote:
When I click on it, it crashes. Here's a thread about it: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=17025 I gave up on it already.
feos wrote:
ReyVGM wrote:
Yeah, but unfortunately LUA crashes bizhawk on my end.
Installed the new prereqs?
Yep, as stated on that thread. It still crashed.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 543
Location: Where?
Doesn't hurt to restart, or even better to let Zeromus teamview your PC, like he did with a obscure bug in the past that were linked to N64. :)
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
Maybe he can team view my virtual machine so he can fix my bug to with n64hawk crashing.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
And my dog!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
if your dog keeps crashing, stop letting him play pilotwings. if you want me to teamviewer you, find me on irc. but itd be better if you had a visual studio installed
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
This feos studio does it come with a Mac build?
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
ALAKTORN
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (108)
Joined: 10/19/2009
Posts: 2527
Location: Italy
DS TAS of 2012
Why does the N64 core’s lag counter not detect the alternating lag in Banjo Kazooie (30fps game) but detects it for Super Mario 64 (another 30fps game)?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/11/2012
Posts: 149
Location: WI
TAG wrote:
This feos studio does it come with a Mac build?
No. The Visual Studio 2015 is only available for Windows.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Hey guys, is there any way Bizhawk can recognize backup ram saves done by SSF? I tried renaming the saves from .bin to .SaveRAM, but it didn't work (unlike the PSX .mcr saves). SSF stores each save in its own file like Bizhawk, instead of one Backup file (like the real console).
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
i think so, but the way you said you did it is most likely bad for bizhawk. sometimes, one can't just edit the save name.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Ok I noticed the SaveRAM Bizhawk flushes are 64KB, which is the size of Saturn's internal memory. So I took an internal save and renamed it and it worked fine on bizhawk. But what about external saves from a 1MB cart? How do I select on bizhawk to recognize those saves?
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
That I cannot tell as I don't know sorry
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 543
Location: Where?
hegyak wrote:
zeromus wrote:
The SMB block coin means it wasn't found in the gameDB. It's a question mark, so we don't know if it's a good or a bad dump. Since it's malfunctioning for you, it's probably a bad dump.
I tested against a known good dump, same issue as reported. So it's not entirely the fault of the ROM. Though, niamek's ROM is probably bad/invalid. Green Checkmark means "known Good" Dump.
Concerning Hydro Thunder, It's the core's fault: According to this: https://code.google.com/p/mupen64plus/wiki/GameCompatibility, it's unplayable. Just posting this to put a note for that, since it's wasn't pointed out earlier.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
reyvgm, same as in every emulator. watch the files bizhawk drops, then replace it
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
zeromus wrote:
reyvgm, same as in every emulator. watch the files bizhawk drops, then replace it
It doesn't seem to recognize external ram saves (the ones that are 1meg), but it does recognize internal saves (the ones that are 64kb). But it doesn't really matter anymore, I'm forced to unfortunately use SSF due to having a higher game compatibility.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Which game saves data to the 1MB cart? I can only find shmups and stuff I dont think are saving anything
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Well pretty much any game that saves can be saved to the 1 meg cart if you want. RPGs specially.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Which game saves data to the 1MB cart?
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
zeromus wrote:
Which game saves data to the 1MB cart?
Try Resident Evil. It should use that 1MB Cart. To save, you need to use the typewriter with a ribbon in your inventory. That should make the game save. Though, I haven't had enough time testing the 1MB external SRAM cart IRL (I do own a Saturn but no SRAM cart or game that would use it).
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Hmm when I saved, the game didn't offer to let me save to the ram cart.
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
Interesting i
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
zeromus wrote:
Hmm when I saved, the game didn't offer to let me save to the ram cart.
Try Sonic R. You can pick right from the file menu internal memory or external memory. If you change anything in the options, it automatically saves it to whatever memory type you picked in the game. However, I do think the emulator needs to specify that it is using the external ram cart for the game to recognize it.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Sonic R, same problem. External memory is X'd out. Obviously you wont be able to import save data if the emulator isnt even capable of mounting it right now.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
zeromus wrote:
Sonic R, same problem. External memory is X'd out. Obviously you wont be able to import save data if the emulator isnt even capable of mounting it right now.
Ah, gotcha. Thanks.
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
I think implementing 32X emulation is a low priority. GenPlus-GX was used. I was thinking about porting Kega Fusion core to BizHawk like I wanted Project 64 1.7 beta to be ported providing asking for the source code.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.