BizHawk Emulator Development


Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2799)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3821
Location: Germany
Gameboy TASer of 2015NES TAS of 2013Gameboy TASer of 2011Gameboy TASer of 2010
Any information on mgba core getting updated anytime?
Post subject: Question:
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Question: I just tried a Sega CD game and the emu said Rewind was disabled. Is there any way to enable it for SCD?
Post subject: Re: Question:
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (2009)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1297
Glitchy TAS of 2015NES TASer of 2014Speedy TAS of 2014NES TAS of 2013
ReyVGM wrote:
Question: I just tried a Sega CD game and the emu said Rewind was disabled. Is there any way to enable it for SCD?
Well, where would something be when you want to configure it?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
It's already configured, no need to be snarky. The emulator has that feature disabled for Sega CD and it doesn't look like you can enable it like with other cores, so I was asking if it was possible to do so through some method unknown to me.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
ReyVGM wrote:
It's already configured, no need to be snarky. The emulator has that feature disabled for Sega CD and it doesn't look like you can enable it like with other cores, so I was asking if it was possible to do so through some method unknown to me.
The issue is how big the Sega CD Savestates are. That is why rewind was disabled.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Ah ok. Well, it should be made optional at least. I can handle the save state sizes :P
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
If you want the REWIND OPTION, go to the CONFIG>REWIND menu. What are they teaching you guys in school?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
zeromus wrote:
If you want the REWIND OPTION, go to the CONFIG>REWIND menu. What are they teaching you guys in school?
Again, the emulator has it disabled regardless of what you do in the rewind menu. I wanted to know if there was a way to override that command.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
nope. The emulator does nothing special to disable it regardless of what you do in the rewind menu. Just enable it in the CONFIG > REWIND menu.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 543
Location: Where?
Perhaps you're recording a movie?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
zeromus wrote:
nope. The emulator does nothing special to disable it regardless of what you do in the rewind menu. Just enable it in the CONFIG > REWIND menu.
I'm using 1.11.4 I can use rewind just fine with the other system I play (PSX, Saturn), but with Sega CD it just doesn't work. But I got it working now. For other systems I only had enabled the "Large Savestates" in the Rewind Frequency area and it worked fine. For Sega CD I used the same config, and it didn't work. But I enabled "Medium Savestates" to test and it works now. I don't know why it doesn't work with Large saves, but whatever. And I use Large because sometimes I have to rewind back to multiple levels or as far back as possible.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Because sega cd has medium savestates? It doesnt sound like you understand what large and medium mean. You don't get to pick the savestate size, the core does.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
zeromus wrote:
Because sega cd has medium savestates? It doesnt sound like you understand what large and medium mean. You don't get to pick the savestate size, the core does.
Thou art right, I don't. But since I don't know anything about the programming side of the emu, and people here do, a simple "hey, make sure you have medium savestate enabled" would have solved the issue ;)
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Hate to break the bad news to you but there's plenty of people who arent emulator programmers who are able to understand the simple concept that when a program says "rewind disabled", one should look for unchecked options labeled "rewind" and "enable" , and check them. You may seriously overestimate whereabouts youre located on the bellcurve of wits.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
It was enabled, the Large savestates. It worked with PSX and Saturn just fine, I thought it would work just fine with Sega CD too. It didn't occur to check lesser valued options. The FAQ had no info about it either.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Because it isn't a _F_ AQ, you're the only one who can't figure it out. You'd think you'd have learned by now not to trust your THINK. Click the options instead. Maybe the empty checkbox by the only italicized text on the screen would be a good place to start.
Pokota
He/Him
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 776
It would be useful to have an additional indicator of which cores use which size savestates (even if just on the website). Italics on the menu is a bit on the subtle side.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
That same screen which nobody reads apparently has a dozen options which affect savestate size.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
Are there any plans about porting a newer version of Yabause?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Fortranm wrote:
Are there any plans about porting a newer version of Yabause?
no
Post subject: BizHawk 1.11.5 Released
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
BizHawk 1.11.5 has been released. Full Release Notes: http://tasvideos.org/BizHawk/ReleaseHistory.html#Bizhawk1115 Download: https://sourceforge.net/projects/bizhawk/files/BizHawk/BizHawk-1.11.5.zip/download Major Changes: On Screen Display text for RAM Watches should be better/less buggy. Manual Config files. Store Movies on Disk instead of RAM to allow Hours and hours of Movie recording. Window Zoom is now Per System. Multiline Cheats now work. Slide Code support added. Enjoy Fixed GBA cheat handling. GBA Code Breaker support not added, yet. TAStudio is much better now. Less buggy and should have less issues with "Out-of-Memory" crashing. Lua allows hot-reloading. Edit, and restart the LUA on the fly now. Added a color option to the text as well. NES: Better JAM/KIL support. PSX: Added Memory Callbacks and determine lag frame from GPU option. GBA: Updated mGBA to 0.4.0 Enjoy the fancy N64: Better defaults for DK64.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Amaraticando
It/Its
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (182)
Joined: 1/10/2012
Posts: 672
Location: Brazil
TAS of 2015SNES TAS of 2015
The Lua folder is not present on the last release's zip.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Yes, we know
Experienced Forum User, Published Author, Senior Judge, Senior Publisher (1423)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 10321
Location: RU
NES TAS of 2011
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting. If TASing is meta-play, TASVideos Movie Rules are meta-meta-play!
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
Interesting
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.