Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Hetfield90 wrote:
I'm having the same issue happen even when unpausing. The only way I can get the TAS to stop on the green arrow is by letting it play past it to erase it, pausing, and then clicking to make a new one.
Pause hotkey ignores seek frame, middle mouse button respects it, basically being the "restore last frame" hotkey, if there's a green arrow below playback frame.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Skilled player (1220)
Joined: 8/29/2014
Posts: 301
I see. Is there anyway to rebind this? I find myself constantly fighting muscle memory because this was how the pause key worked in previous versions.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
There's no way yet, but I would like you to try learning the middle-button way, it's been this way since taseditor, that's why the user taseditor requested the pause hotkey to ignore the seek frame. If you can't in the end adapt, I'll make it optional. The point is, MMB was a really good idea for taseditor, I never found myself willing to move back to pause hotkey once the feature was added.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box. ************** Exception Text ************** System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. Parameter name: index at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException(ExceptionArgument argument, ExceptionResource resource) at System.Collections.Generic.List`1.RemoveAt(Int32 index) at BizHawk.Client.Common.TasMovie.RemoveFrames(Int32 removeStart, Int32 removeUpTo) at BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieAction.Undo(TasMovie movie) at BizHawk.Client.Common.TasMovieChangeLog.Undo() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.TAStudio.UndoMenuItem_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.ProcessCmdKey(Message& m, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripManager.ProcessShortcut(Message& m, Keys shortcut) at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripManager.ProcessCmdKey(Message& m, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.Form.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.TAStudio.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ProcessCmdKey(Message& msg, Keys keyData) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PreProcessMessage(Message& msg) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PreProcessControlMessageInternal(Control target, Message& msg) at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.PreTranslateMessage(MSG& msg)
With the interim build(The same one I used for testing this error : https://github.com/TASVideos/BizHawk/issues/597 ), ->Open TAStudio ->Let some frame play ->CTRL+Z
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Samsara wrote:
From the interim build in Post #438690 Adding input by mouse then attempting to advance/rewind a frame will just cause the movie to play normally: https://i.gyazo.com/3f1882e7e6cc63cf2c9c5ba3d9659c88.gif This doesn't happen with Recording mode (which, as far as I've tested, seems to work just fine).
I did a quick fix so it won't unpause, but the logic there is that advance/rewind playback box buttons and mouse wheel (with RMB held) will only move the seek frame. That was needed when I was having issues with fast rewinding on cores that don't save every frame: mouse wheel rewinding was really slow and broken, so I made it decrease seek frame as well, to catch up with current frame changes. Now, this probably doesn't end up working as reliably with all the new features, but I don't want to make any serious logic changes right before release, so if you want it to work perfectly, you'll have to wait. I'll eventually overhaul this.
jlun2 wrote:
TASeditor wrote:
Use markers, these will force an greenzone to the corresponding frame.
I do too, but it seems after a while, usually 40,000+ frames later, when I click back it plays the entire movie again in turbo until that point. Any way to avoid that?
How many markers do you have, and what is the greenzone length in frames?
Niamek wrote:
->Open TAStudio ->Let some frame play ->CTRL+Z
Working on that... Done. The history code is absolute bullshit, but it should work.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
Awesome. Another bug I have found is that sometimes it does "save as" automatically even if I am doing nothing. Steps I did, with the last downloadable build: Open a GBC rom Open TAStudio Unpause While it plays, do other stuffs on the net like browsing TASvideos or even mess up with the emulator options. It seems to be related to time. Maybe there is an auto save feature somewhere. It is a nice idea, but if I did not save a file before, it might become annoying. EDIT: Now I just can't do a rightclick after selecting a couple of frames (not just 3 frames, something 50 frames) like with the last build. It throws me that:
See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box. ************** Exception Text ************** System.ArgumentException: Offset and length were out of bounds for the array or count is greater than the number of elements from index to the end of the source collection. at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentException(ExceptionResource resource) at BizHawk.Client.Common.ListStringLog.BizHawk.Client.Common.IStringLog.CopyTo(Int32 , String[] , Int32 , Int32 ) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.TAStudio.TasView_MouseDown(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnMouseDown(MouseEventArgs e) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.InputRoll.OnMouseDown(MouseEventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseDown(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
Clicking continue seems to be okay though. Not sure what happened.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Niamek wrote:
Another bug I have found is that sometimes it does "save as" automatically even if I am doing nothing. Steps I did, with the last downloadable build: Open a GBC rom Open TAStudio Unpause While it plays, do other stuffs on the net like browsing TASvideos or even mess up with the emulator options.
Recording frames is changing the movie, so it has stuff to save.
Niamek wrote:
Maybe there is an auto save feature somewhere. It is a nice idea, but if I did not save a file before, it might become annoying.
Config - Autosave - Set autosave interval - 0.
Niamek wrote:
Now I just can't do a rightclick after selecting a couple of frames with the last build.
Works fine for me.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
Try with a larger selection? I just edited my post. EDIT: Now I tried without the movie even playing and I still get it. I can get two save as window sometimes. But yeah I see now the auto save option. It is 120 seconds by default, but I am sure it doesn't take 120 seconds before I get those save as window. By disabling it to 0, I don't seem to get save as windows. So yeah it does work as intended. Maybe the timer is not exactly rigorous.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Niamek wrote:
Try with a larger selection? I just edited my post.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
Weird, I just tried and it doesn't do it now. I am confused. So it looks like it's not be the right click. It looked reproducible with what I did. Apologies.
Post subject: Some issues to the last build
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
From the last build(one adelikat linked to me), it seems that doing CTRL+Z throws me to the up of the piano... Sometimes. ->Open TAStudio =>play some frames enough to not see 0th frames(No input necessary) -> CTRL+ EDIT: New problem: steps: =>Open TAStudio -> Do a random movie ->At some point, click R so it's set to Hold =>Click L on the piano anywhere after the movie (Like issue #534) ->CTRL+Z Witness the loss of your movie... Well I exagerrated it. You can do the redo command and recollect your movie. EDIT: Updated the steps to reflect the loss. EDIT: 3 new problems: 1rd Trying to play a GBC movie with a wrong game will crash the emulator. 2nd I don't know how, but I made a movie that when I click somewhere, it always go back to the 0th frame instead of the clicked frame. 3rd: So here is the situation: I am TASing a game and have to manage lag. So I avoid lag by jumping in X frame. When I replay it from 0th frame, a lag magically appear. By deleting and reinserting a frame before, the lag is gone. So to make sure I did not mess up my movie, I will have to watch it from beginning every single jumps I do... Not practical. I have a tasproj that contain the last 2 issues, but don't know where to put it so you can test it.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Lag is probably a bug in the core savestates, make an issue, attach the project, post precise steps. Hash mismatch is easy, user message is enough, probably after release. If the movie goes too much back, check if there are even states on closer frames. Will look into history bugs right now.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 10/23/2009
Posts: 545
Location: Where?
I did not made states on the 20th first frames. And it makes me go there. Will try to do tomorrow the lag bug,
Post subject: Re: Some issues to the last build
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Niamek wrote:
From the last build(one adelikat linked to me), it seems that doing CTRL+Z throws me to the up of the piano... Sometimes. ->Open TAStudio =>play some frames enough to not see 0th frames(No input necessary) -> CTRL+Z
It seems it only invalidates all the greenzone, must be easy to fix. The second bug scares me though.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Re: Some issues to the last build
Samsara
She/They
Senior Judge, Site Admin, Expert player (2122)
Joined: 11/13/2006
Posts: 2793
Location: Northern California
Niamek wrote:
EDIT: New problem: steps: =>Open TAStudio -> Do a random movie ->At some point, click R so it's set to Hold =>Click L on the piano anywhere after the movie (Like issue #534) ->CTRL+Z Witness the loss of your movie... Well I exagerrated it. You can do the redo command and recollect your movie.
Easier repro steps for what I think is the same bug: * Clone, insert, delete, etc any frame of a project * CTRL+Z This is the only problem I've run into so far and it's at least one that can be easily recovered from.
TASvideos Admin and acting Senior Judge 💙 | Cohost
warmCabin wrote:
You shouldn't need a degree in computer science to get into this hobby.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
As we discussed on IRC, history is completely broken, and no one understands it except the author, who isn't active anymore. We should do the same as with smart seeking logic: simply port AnS's ideas from taseditor. This will stabilize things, but it's a lot of work, and I have other projects, that deserve to get attention after this huge release and continuous efforts.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Hetfield90 wrote:
feos wrote:
I tried it a bit starting a fresh PSX project (that I saved, loaded, edited), and it behaved normally. But I observed something like this with N64 before. Can you figure out the exact repro steps for PSX?
It happens every time I play the TAS I'm working on. Do you want to try playing my WIP to see if it happens for you as well?
Fixed, update your build.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Editor, Skilled player (1505)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1317
Cause a fatal error: This is some test with few greenzone states, so set it up so it only has 5 or less of them, I tested on SNES. State gap was 0, but probably doesn't matter. Add branch 0 Playback for a few 20+ frames, so the greenzone near branch 0 dissapear Add branch 1 Load branch 0 Load branch 1 Load branch 0 Playback
System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Der Index lag außerhalb des Bereichs. Er darf nicht negativ und kleiner als die Auflistung sein.
Parametername: index
   bei System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException(ExceptionArgument argument, ExceptionResource resource)
   bei System.Collections.Generic.SortedList`2.GetByIndex(Int32 index)
   bei System.Collections.Generic.SortedList`2.ValueList.get_Item(Int32 index)
   bei BizHawk.Client.Common.TasStateManager.StateToRemove()
   bei BizHawk.Client.Common.TasStateManager.MaybeRemoveStates()
   bei BizHawk.Client.Common.TasStateManager.SetState(Int32 frame, Byte[] state, Boolean skipRemoval)
   bei BizHawk.Client.Common.TasStateManager.Capture(Boolean force)
   bei BizHawk.Client.Common.TasMovie.GreenzoneCurrentFrame()
   bei BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieSession.HandleMovieAfterFrameLoop()
   bei BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.StepRunLoop_Core(Boolean force)
   bei BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.ProgramRunLoop()
   bei BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(String[] args)
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Post subject: Re: Some issues to the last build
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Niamek wrote:
2nd I don't know how, but I made a movie that when I click somewhere, it always go back to the 0th frame instead of the clicked frame.
Fixed.
Niamek wrote:
3rd: So here is the situation: I am TASing a game and have to manage lag. So I avoid lag by jumping in X frame. When I replay it from 0th frame, a lag magically appear. By deleting and reinserting a frame before, the lag is gone. So to make sure I did not mess up my movie, I will have to watch it from beginning every single jumps I do... Not practical.
You definitely should post an issue with your project linked and describe what steps create different lag picture.
Samsara wrote:
Easier repro steps for what I think is the same bug: * Clone, insert, delete, etc any frame of a project * CTRL+Z This is the only problem I've run into so far and it's at least one that can be easily recovered from.
Works fine for me.
TASeditor wrote:
Cause a fatal error: This is some test with few greenzone states, so set it up so it only has 5 or less of them, I tested on SNES. State gap was 0, but probably doesn't matter. Add branch 0 Playback for a few 20+ frames, so the greenzone near branch 0 dissapear Add branch 1 Load branch 0 Load branch 1 Load branch 0 Playback
Works fine for me.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Invariel
He/Him
Editor, Site Developer, Player (169)
Joined: 8/11/2011
Posts: 539
Location: Toronto, Ontario
While dragging A upwards, auto-saving triggered, and when auto-saving was done, A was drawn for every frame in the movie. Workaround: Ctrl + Z still works to undo the last action.
I am still the wizard that did it. "On my business card, I am a corporate president. In my mind, I am a game developer. But in my heart, I am a gamer." -- Satoru Iwata <scrimpy> at least I now know where every map, energy and save room in this game is
Editor, Skilled player (1505)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1317
Invariel wrote:
While dragging A upwards, auto-saving triggered, and when auto-saving was done, A was drawn for every frame in the movie.
Drawing past the scrollbar while holding frame advance also cause it. TAStudio stops responding for a moment then all rows from drawing start point to frame 0/last frame have input, analogally with frame column and courser column.
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
I think I fixed everything related to history, despite of my fears: complicated wrong behavior was a result of a tiny bug. So emulating new frames and actions that extend the movie length should now undo and redo well. TASeditor: your bug occurs on the latest build too?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Editor, Skilled player (1505)
Joined: 7/9/2010
Posts: 1317
Both bugs are still there.
Favorite animal: STOCK Gt(ROSA)26Sortm1.1(rtTA,EGFP)Nagy Grm7Tg(SMN2)89Ahmb Smn1tm1Msd Tg(SMN2*delta7)4299Ahmb Tg(tetO-SMN2,-luc)#aAhmb/J YouTube Twitch
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Invariel wrote:
While dragging A upwards, auto-saving triggered, and when auto-saving was done, A was drawn for every frame in the movie.
Was it the first save for that file, with popup dialog, or just a silent save? EDIT: I don't think it's related to autosave at all. I get that if I draw above the view over the greenzoned area.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11270
Location: RU
Fixed your bugs by changing how "editing during scrolling" is done. Please test the latest build!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.