Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 530
Location: Switzerland
Just a little question, because I never test it, but in cores that support light gun or equivalent in BizHawk, is it possible to use the mouse for it?
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
phoenix1291 wrote:
Just a little question, because I never test it, but in cores that support light gun or equivalent in BizHawk, is it possible to use the mouse for it?
Yes, it works with mouse.
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 530
Location: Switzerland
Just quick test with Sentinel, as you said, it's not very precise, but it work after all :) It's mainly on the right side of the screen that the shot is offset from the pointer, from what I've seen. Thanks Alyosha!
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
0.0.0.1670 b5db09dea Commando - simple hit registeing seems to work, need to check gun code (readme.doc bottom + c.s gun) - newcon reset after reset is depressed OK! - first non-lag frame after starting the game and pressing reset: OK! .loop1 .dosw - top most 1px line? I couldn't see it on a playthrough video like this one https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TUybTbEm74 edit: the videos I see are cropped from top edit2 Alien Brigade - light gun X coordinate seems to be fishy. You can't really hit enemies on the very left side and moving through the right side, there are columns that skipped if you are moving on the same row (with minimal Y pos differences). - if you wait for the first enemy to appear in front of you (3rd enemy probably), you can hit him farther on the right side but not enough close on the left side. - same enemy, but for Y pos, you can't hit him above the fortress wall/bar but able to kill him above his head. Try shooting under the menu bar and you will see the big distance between cursor and shot particles. - I can't test it with controller (with cursor). Controllers joystick: can't shoot. I also had a random glitch from changing light gun to joystick, reset core, start game, white screen every 3rd-4th frame (like an autofire) without any input pressed/shown in display edit3: Barnyard Blaster - very good to test shooting after title screen. Shoot once to pick mode. Shoot 8 times on the screen and it goes back to title screen. - offscreen left side: left side always register hits - ofscreen right side: depends on X position, sometimes register sometimes not - offscreen top side: Y pos 5, hit will register at X pos 1, Y pos ~16 - offscreen bottom: 226 y pos, there will be 1 registered shot, seems to be totally random when does it gets registered on screen.
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
MESHUGGAH wrote:
- I can't test it with controller (with cursor). Controllers joystick: can't shoot. I also had a random glitch from changing light gun to joystick, reset core, start game, white screen every 3rd-4th frame (like an autofire) without any input pressed/shown in display
I am unable to reproduce this, seems really strange though. Also the game only works with the 2 button controller. I am looking into the other lightgun issues now, I have a good idea what is going on, just need to find the best solution.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
The version I posted above, alien brigade: - controllers player 1 lightgun player 2 proline controllers - ser input changes (i bind it to mouse x y and v button trigger)
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
I still can't repro this, does it still happen in master? I rewrote the lgiht gun algorithm to match what Barnyard Blaster expects. That game goes through a two step process of first detecting light to a resolution of about 20 pixels, then going through a second loop that improves the resolution to about 4 pixels. This should clear up the issues experienced in shooting cans in Barnyard Blaster. I also imrpoved vertical accuracy a bit, but if I go up too much then Sentinel is aiming too high, so I chose a middle ground. This is probably as good as lightgun is going to get, as I don't think I'll put a lot more effort into it.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
Another milestone is finally reached wiith Scrapyard Dog's sewer level finally being correctly emulated. This level was another main driver for me to create this emulator after seeing Mothrayas' TAS of this game contain a pretty bad graphical glitch in this level. What this glitch comes down to is DMA timing around what is called 'holey DMA.' Basically DMA can be told to ignore certain address blocks, and when it does so there is no DMA read penalty for addresses in that block. Except, there is a penalty for the first read in order to identify that block in the first place. Getting this (and pretty much everything else DMA related) right is what fixes scrapyard dog. EDIT: @MESHUGGAH: I unified the controller definitions between EMU7800 and A7800Hawk (at least for 2 button and joystick controllers) so you should be able to compare movies now I think.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
latest version (proline, proline) LogKey:#Power|Reset|Select|BW|Toggle Left Difficulty|Toggle Right Difficulty|Pause|#P1 Up|P1 Down|P1 Left|P1 Right|P1 Trigger|P1 Trigger 2|#P2 Up|P2 Down|P2 Left|P2 Right|P2 Trigger|P2 Trigger 2| emu7800 (default? IIRC you can't change): LogKey:#Power|Reset|Select|BW|Toggle Left Difficulty|Toggle Right Difficulty|Pause|#P1 U|P1 D|P1 L|P1 R|P1 Trigger|P1 Trigger 2|#P2 U|P2 D|P2 L|P2 R|P2 Trigger| Up vs U, Down vs D etc I will check the lightguns again tonight (utc+1) barnyard blaster, alien brigade
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
That's strange, I am getting identical LogKeys (both match the top one), not sure what to make of that. I don't see anything else to change and it works on my end.
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 530
Location: Switzerland
Are these changes included in the last update (0.0.0.1703)? I saw that you had made progress for Tower Topler on the 0.0.0.1698 and 0.0.0.1701 updates. I ask, because of the "Failed" status of 0.0.0.1697 -> 0.0.0.1701.
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
0.1703 should contain everything light gun related, all the mnemonics, and the addition of a filter selection option in the A7800Hawk menu. The filter doesn't do anything yet, it's just a stub for now, but I needed to do a bit of reorganizing to the core so I decided to have a place holder for it. Should probably be done this week though.
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 530
Location: Switzerland
Ok, thanks for the reply. Thanks for all your incredible work on so many things Alyosha!
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
0.0.0.1703 I can't open any TAS movie because there's a big difference in number of columns. Since I can't disable mnemonics differnce (when bizhawk crashes and throws an idiotic error), I've tried to change the header, input log, mnemonics, sync settings, everything, and still a long error. System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format. at System.Number.StringToNumber(String str, NumberStyles options, NumberBuffer& number, NumberFormatInfo info, Boolean parseDecimal) at System.Number.ParseInt32(String s, NumberStyles style, NumberFormatInfo info) at BizHawk.Client.Common.Bk2ControllerAdapter.SetControllersAsMnemonic(String mnemonic) at BizHawk.Client.Common.Bk2Movie.GetInputState(Int32 frame) at BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieSession.LatchInputFromLog() at BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieSession.HandleMovieOnFrameLoop() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.StepRunLoop_Core(Boolean force) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.ProgramRunLoop() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(String[] args)
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
If you post your movie and provide a link I should be able to get it working and figure out what went wrong. I imagine it's something fixable since things seem to be working on my end.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
[2670] A7800 Barnyard Blaster by CoolKirby in 01:53.80 and other published movies User movie #40243710916030276 User movie #38826030913029649 User movie #38825941210470279 my other TASes are just 1 level. I couldn't change 2670M, Water Ski to even start the game because of different controllers. edit: no matter how many times I check it, the mnemonics are totally different LogKey:#Power|Reset|Pause|#P1 VPos|P1 HPos|P1 Trigger|#P2 VPos|P2 HPos|P2 Trigger| LogKey:#Select|BW|Pause|#P1 X|P1 Y|P1 Trigger|#P2 X|P2 Y|P2 Trigger| LogKey:#Power|Reset|Select|BW|Toggle Left Difficulty|Toggle Right Difficulty|Pause|#P1 Up|P1 Down|P1 Left|P1 Right|P1 Trigger|#P2 Up|P2 Down|P2 Left|P2 Right|P2 Trigger| edit2: what I've tried, copy pasted from irc https://pastebin.com/bCusgTZn
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/40758803637547300 - galaga http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/40758797349008389 - water ski Things to watch out for: In the header section, platform should be A7800 not A78 (which is assigned to EMU7800 and cant be used since it breaks the controllers.) The sync setting.json file should look like this:
{"o":{"$type":"BizHawk.Emulation.Cores.Atari.A7800Hawk.A7800Hawk+A7800SyncSettings, BizHawk.Emulation.Cores","_port1":"ProLine Controller","_port2":"ProLine Controller","_Filter":"None"}}
replace the 'Proline' with 'Joystick' as appropriate. In the input log, the first console section has 7 columns, i.e. |.......| Lightgun conversion wont work since EMU7800 has x and y swapped, so I never changed the mnemonics, sorry I wasn't clear about that. Hope this helps. Also it looks like you need to add 1 frame at the beginning of the bk2's for them to sync, but otherwise both galaga and water ski worked just fine. I've kind of run out of interest in this core, so except for bug fixes I'll probably be stopping development at this point. So, pokey chip, A2600 mode and filters for Tower Toppler will be left to future work.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
No problem, I was frustrated because of no matter how I tried to change controllers for lightgun, I got the error. Thanks for the detailed step by step, I will try them later for my own projects. And thanks for upgrading the core!
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
NOTE: probably this is only relevent for MESHUGGAH but I felt I should mention it anyway. Adelikat managed to make the 'platform' A78 again instead of 'A7800.' So this is now consistent betweeen cores. (I tried and failed to do this previously.) This is now present in the official release, so anything made using the dev build should have it's platform made to be A78 again. Other then that movies should work as normal.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
It turns out that movie recording for A7800Hawk was broken in the current BizHawk release. Frustrated, I decided to buckle down and implement the Pokey sound chip, which was the last thing holding up the removal of EMU7800. Removing it allowed a cleanup of the core swapping code and naturally fixed movie recording. (As a side note, I went back and looked and a one line copy-paste error was what broke movie recording, and had I been less frustrated I would have probably just fixed that instead, but at least the end result is good! :) ) Now Ball Blazer and Commando, the 2 games requiring Pokey emulation for sound to work, will have proper sound in A7800Hawk. Along with this I have removed EMU7800 as an option from BizHawk's core list. Going forward new releases of BizHawk will only contain A7800Hawk, as it is vastly more accurate then EMU7800. I recommend new movies only be made with A7800Hawk, although obviously EMU7800 is not officially deprecated and submitting runs made on it in older versions of BizHawk is still permitted. If anyone has any runs they started in EMU7800 that they would like converted toA7800Hawk and can't figure out how, send me the movie file and I can do it. (It's a pretty painless process that takes < 5 minutes once you figure out the details.) I cant promise it will sync after though. EDIT: On the front page I linked to re-synced movie files of published EMU7800 runs for anyone interested.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
Sorting out my A7800 projects: - Winter Games, simple fixes worked - Water Ski already done by Alyosha (~4 posts above this) - Super Skateboardin: no need to resync, route is simple - One on One basketball: working with github fix (delete grenzone inputlog) - all other movies are first level starting TASes (just getting started asap), so I will recreate them - disbanded some games So I would only need help with published movies as I mentioned on github: Scrapyard Dog, Ninja Golf, Barnyard Blaster. edit: and thanks for fixing and answering etc :) edit2: and wait for me retesting the newly resynced movies before next release
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
Ninja Golf is done and linked in the opening post. It synced easily with just some minor lag adjustment. Scrapyard Doog is converted but failed to sync (desyncs early in level 1.) This game is sensitive to timing so I'm not surprised. It's also linked in the opening post anyway though. Barnyard Blaster I'll try later but I doubt anything useful will come from it. I'll also try Choplifter later as well.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1888)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
Scrapyard Dog can be resynced gradually, it looks like the desync points are timing of jumping off from a platform, so some frames need to be cut and then appended after it.
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3520)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2725
Location: US
I added a choplifter conversion to the opening post. It does not sync (I tried but the first tank always kills me) but the conversion is at least there for anyone interested. Also, EMU7800 is now completely removed from BizHawk. Despite being a rarely used core, I consider this a big improvement in accuracy and maintainability, so I'm glad it's finally done.
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 530
Location: Switzerland
BizHawk 0.0.0.1990 Ikari Warriors (1989) (Atari) (PAL).a78 MD5: 605B8FE25FCD5A8166F858F48BD3E454 Ikari Warriors (1989) (Atari).a78 MD5: 09AB678572F2C2953A7DDA3CC3CDA0DF P1 & P2 triggers do nothing.
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291