1 2
5 6 7 8
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
VBA24-m svn391 was used. See this video to get a better grasp of how the glitch works. For example, while recording, a solid block may be generated, but it would be a breakable block when playing back - or nothing may happen at all.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2101)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
MUGG wrote:
See this video to get a better grasp of how the glitch works. For example, while recording, a solid block may be generated, but it would be a breakable block when playing back - or nothing may happen at all.
So the same movie could desync in a different outcome everytime it is replayed? That's to say, it desyncs in replaying (mostly due to inconsistent emulator initializations or initial-state-loading) rather than (re-)recording (mostly due to inconsistent state-saving or state-loading)?
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
I made the VBM while checking for desyncs after making each block appear. If there was an inaccuracy like a solid block being breakable now, I kept the new outcome. If no block appeared when playing back, I had to redo it. The resulting movie is stable and will always play back the same way. VBM is here: http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/1549501348/sml2pauseBug3vba24m.vbm ROM: Super Mario Land 2 (EU) (!) (v1.0).gb
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2101)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
Warning: It has been verified that the SVN revisions 418 and 420 are both buggy and will cause your movie to be erased everytime your movie length grows greater than the next multiplies of 2048 frames! Never use them for recording! EIDT: Fixes have come. VBA-RR v7.23.5.421: http://code.google.com/p/vba-rerecording/downloads/detail?name=vba-rerecording-svn421-win32.7z VBA-RR v8.24.0.422: http://code.google.com/p/vba-rerecording/downloads/detail?name=vba-v24m-svn-r422.7z Note: The v7.24 branch wasn't broken, as it hadn't been updated last time at all. Neither has it this time, though.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Tompa
Any
Editor, Expert player (2139)
Joined: 8/15/2005
Posts: 1932
Location: Mullsjö, Sweden
I just downloaded r422 and started making a movie. But when you are recording and load a save state, the game will pause so you have to constantly unpause it. This seems to be the same case with all games.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2101)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
Tompa wrote:
I just downloaded r422 and started making a movie. But when you are recording and load a save state, the game will pause so you have to constantly unpause it. This seems to be the same case with all games.
Uncheck Tools->Movie->When Movie Ends->Pause Emulator.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Tompa
Any
Editor, Expert player (2139)
Joined: 8/15/2005
Posts: 1932
Location: Mullsjö, Sweden
Hmm, ok. That option works different with other emulators. As I'm recording the movie, it doesn't end until I stop the recording. So it shouldn't be pausing anyway. But it works as it does now, I think it should be unchecked on default. Thanks at least!
Skilled player (1633)
Joined: 11/15/2004
Posts: 2202
Location: Killjoy
I downloaded the latest revision, and now movies stop automatically when you load a state through lua :(
Sage advice from a friend of Jim: So put your tinfoil hat back in the closet, open your eyes to the truth, and realize that the government is in fact causing austismal cancer with it's 9/11 fluoride vaccinations of your water supply.
Editor, Skilled player (1936)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3239
Just a friendly report. In VBA v23 and later, gui functions (gui.text and gui.box are the ones I tested) do not support integer literals over 0x7FFFFFFF as colors. It treats them as color 0 instead. Workarounds are string literals ("#RRGGBBAA"), names (e.g. "red"), and tables (e.g. {r=255, g=0, b=0, a=255}).
Joined: 3/28/2009
Posts: 28
Using VBA-RR v8.24.0.422 I get the error "Unknown RTC command 6c" during the sensor check in Boktai 2. I'm fairly certain its because of the IPS patch that allows in-game control over the solar sensor, mostly due to the fact that in some earlier versions of VBA you had to have RTC off to run Boktai 1. Any idea if there's something I can do to fix it? Or is it something I can't work around short of not using the sensor crack? Having RTC on reduces intro lag by 10-25 frames but I'm not sure if the error will mess anything farther along.
Post subject: Wow, I just realized that I had disappeared for months
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2101)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
DarkKobold wrote:
I downloaded the latest revision, and now movies stop automatically when you load a state through lua :(
It was caused due to the movie fix. Expect a better solution.
FractalFusion wrote:
Just a friendly report. In VBA v23 and later, gui functions (gui.text and gui.box are the ones I tested) do not support integer literals over 0x7FFFFFFF as colors. It treats them as color 0 instead. Workarounds are string literals ("#RRGGBBAA"), names (e.g. "red"), and tables (e.g. {r=255, g=0, b=0, a=255}).
Fixed in SVN. It was a Lua API problem.
teronist09 wrote:
Using VBA-RR v8.24.0.422 I get the error "Unknown RTC command 6c" during the sensor check in Boktai 2. I'm fairly certain its because of the IPS patch that allows in-game control over the solar sensor, mostly due to the fact that in some earlier versions of VBA you had to have RTC off to run Boktai 1. Any idea if there's something I can do to fix it? Or is it something I can't work around short of not using the sensor crack? Having RTC on reduces intro lag by 10-25 frames but I'm not sure if the error will mess anything farther along.
I've been thinking of actually emulating the Solar Sensor, but for nw, I guess an option to ignore unknown commands can be provided to workaround this.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Post subject: Rerecording count bug in VBA-rr svn421 and svn422
Editor, Skilled player (1936)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3239
There's a bug in the rerecording count in the two latest versions of VBA-rr (svn421 "v23" and svn422 "v24"). Every time a savestate is loaded during recording, the emulator adds 2 to the rerecord count, instead of 1 as it should. Therefore, if you use these versions, your rerecord count is twice as much as it should be. This bug does not exist in svn203 "v23" or before. This is for everyone's information.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
I had some suspicion but now I'm very confident that there must be some kind of desync issue with Kirby & The Amazing Mirror in VBA 24m. I'm using svn391 (I don't know if 422 fixes it). It's the second time it desynced for no reason now. I TAS some rooms, then open the vbm to watch and Kirby just stands there doing nothing when visiting a new room. In the other case it happened, Kirby didn't use wheel after leaving the tutorial levels. In other words: I think there is one less frame during room transitions during TASing, and when I play it back the frame is there for no reason. I'm pretty sure it is so because in the first case this happened I entered a room at a certain frame count, and after I fixed the desync the frame count was higher by 1. EDIT: I found a way to reproduce this desync issue. I will be posting about it soon.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/1567835417/katam%20desync.vbm (ROM: Hoshi no Kaabi Kagami no Daimakyuu (Japanese Kirby& The Amazing Mirror)) This VBM enters a door at 11 and uses wheel at 36. If you save a state at 22 and load it, then sometimes (and only sometimes!) you will be able to use wheel already at 35. If you are not able to, then simply reloading the state will sometimes make it work. I think that it may work under different circumstances as well, and as said, this desync issue has affected my TAS two times so far but luckily never really killed progress.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
When using Wsplit, switching between read only mode and read+write doesn't work.
Post subject: Some svn releases (no guarentee)
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2101)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
I hope these could fix some of your problems (especially those with movie re-recording),: v8.24.0: http://code.google.com/p/vba-rerecording/downloads/detail?name=vba-v24m-svn-r440a.7z v7.23.5: http://code.google.com/p/vba-rerecording/downloads/detail?name=vba-rerecording-svn438-win32.7z @MUGG: There might/must be something wrong in the codebase that even changing compilation settings could change the emu timing.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2101)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
Hmm, there seems to be a quite old buffer-overflow bug in the GBA sound-state-loading code which could result in various glitches depending on the the compilation settings. Yet there seems to be a more serious bug in coding that depends on Standard C/C++ Undefined Behaviour Behavior, revealed with thanks to the recent "mis-timing build". Yet there is still a cause of desync to be found...
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Post subject: Which uses newer core, v23 and v24?
gocha
Any
Emulator Coder
Joined: 6/21/2006
Posts: 401
Location: Japan, Nagoya
*Question removed* I was wrong at some points. Answers for my question (internal version number and release version - VS2010): V82XR = v24 (see version.h), which ignores USE_GBA_CORE_V7 symbol. V72XR = v23 (see version.h), which defines USE_GBA_CORE_V7 symbol.
I am usually available on Discord server or Twitter.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
So this happens to me I don't know why... works fine on my Windows 7 computer but not my Windows 8 one... any ideas? (Tried compatibility mode already) Yes, this is the latest version of vba if you're wondering.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
It seems that a display from a Lua script will get recorded in a video in VBA24m under certain circumstances. This wasn't the case with VBA21m with the same game and settings. I just now saw this on my video. In the first two seconds, there are 2 frames where you can see my Lua display.
Editor, Skilled player (1936)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3239
Looks like the integer-over-0x80000000 bug in VBA v23+ was more extensive than I had first thought. If an integer value outside of [-0x80000000,0x80000000] is passed to memory.writedword as the value to write to memory (e.g. memory.writedword(0x3000000,0x89ABCDEF)), memory.writedword will always write 0x80000000 instead of the number you have specified. A workaround is as follows (you may name the function whatever you want):
function wrdword(target,value)
  memory.writeword(target,value%65536)
  memory.writeword(target+2,math.floor(value/65536))
end
Oh, and props to whoever fixed the integer-over-0x80000000 bug for color attributes in gui functions. I never expected it to be eventually fixed.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
There seems to remain an emulation glitch in VBA24m (I have not tested on the latest svn) in "Smurfs, The (UE) (V1.0) (M4) [!].gb". After Act 9, at the dragon boss, there is an explosive gift box that you are supposed to be able to grab as many times as you want. But on VBA, you won't be able to grab it anymore after about 14 times. And after those 14 boxes are used up, the dragon's head disappears. Here is a 6frame movie so you don't have to play through the game to get there for testing. http://dehacked.2y.net/microstorage.php/info/870535666/112.vbm
Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 778
I know it's a necrobump (on a sticky thread?), but I do have a question. Is there a current linux build? If not, what do I need to compile the current stable under linux (debian wheezy)? If that's also impossible, I need to know.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
I wanted to check the lua script I made today again but for some reason, now lua doesn't work at all, even the most simplified print("test") script.. Even when running the emu as admin. I have also signed out of windows and back on. I tried in the v24 svn391 and a v24 svn42? and neither a) drag & dropping nor b) browsing for the script makes it work. Why has lua suddenly stopped working? Have not tried rebooting yet but just saying..
Skilled player (1703)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
That happened to me when my anti-virus deleted the lua dll. Maybe that's what happening?
1 2
5 6 7 8