1 2
6 7 8
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
EDIT: I have deleted this post. Anyway, I haven't figured out why it happens but it kept happening after rebooting. So I took another script that had seemed to work fine (apparently only that one yoshi's topsy turvy lua script failed all the time) and copy pasted bit by bit over to that and now I have a working script again. Really strange and I don't know what was the problem, most likely some misplaced end or something.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
In Dragonball Z Legacy of Goku 1+2, if you select the former game, it will show the anti piracy message "this game will not run on the hardware found". Tried on VBA v24 svn391. In Dragonball Z Legacy of Goku, all screens that have the animated star background with textboxes will have a messed up music, as if the game is very laggy. This does not happen in the real console and mGBA.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
http://tasvideos.org/EmulatorResources/VBA/LuaScriptingFunctions.html wrote:
string memory.readbyterange(int addr, int length)
Actually looks like it's table, not string. I didn't know if to edit the page.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
I don't know if I reported this here yet, but klmz said something along the lines of I should report VBA bugs, so here goes. In GB The Smurfs, in the dragon boss, VBA has this bug: if you pick up too many presents, dragon's head despawns and you run out of presents. In fact, I think the number of presents you can pick up is limited. But on real console and Gambatte, it works correctly: You can pick up as many presents as you want and as fast as you want, nothing special happens except for some graphical map loading bugs.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
I've tried NES Classics Super Mario Bros. in VBA v24 and in mGBA. There seem to be some graphical flickering/stretching issues on both emus. I didn't notice those on my real GBA so either they fixed those issues in the European release or those are an emulation glitch.
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
MUGG wrote:
I've tried NES Classics Super Mario Bros. in VBA v24 and in mGBA. There seem to be some graphical flickering/stretching issues on both emus. I didn't notice those on my real GBA so either they fixed those issues in the European release or those are an emulation glitch.
According to No-Intro, the US/EU release is one in the same.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
endrift
Any
Emulator Coder
Joined: 12/14/2014
Posts: 161
Not a bug. It's flickering every other frame to try to do temporal antialiasing to make it appear smoother. On hardware, there's enough ghosting to make it nearly invisible, but emulators that don't do interframe blending make it much more visible.
Post subject: VBA-RR updates with ~59.7275 frame rate
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2100)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
Well I changed the frame rate. Now everything runs at ~59.7275 fps. Old movies should still synch with these if they synch with previous revisions. AVI also dumps at ~59.7275 fps. Some other problems like loading a Lua script would push a new video frame to AVI dump is also fixed. Temporary downloads (might get the GitHub thing working later on): [url= https://mega.nz/#!ABE0wTjC!uQ1MjILJaj_rqb3xLUODQ0FHgnKL7BoqLEGg8RqXsr8 ]VBA-RR v23.6 svn480-LRC2[/url] [url= https://mega.nz/#!YZMSkJaJ!_Q_iaZR1M5jCwLs8hznChF6N7PWdfgT0_s4eDcilBrg ]VBA-RR v24m svn480-LRC2[/url] [url= https://mega.nz/#!IMUxHTxB!pj9BnxycNY51glPvdou4Y-I9DTPFNibUySgz-v4N41w ]Source[/url]
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2100)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
I got issues exporting Hg to git, so I would rely on cloud disk once more time: VBA-RR v23.6 svn480-LRC3 [url= https://mega.nz/#!cNUnXboT!tgL3lEWSELggdNE-OmGhaEQCeF0mtpuNUrjWKOYwiDM ]VBA-RR v24m svn480-LRC3[/url] Source The reported vulnerability has been fixed. However audio is still being emitted and dumped at wrong sampling rate. Therefore, in order to dump the correctly lengthed AVI file, one still has to dump the video with "altAviRecordMethod=1" set in vba.ini, then the audio, and finally combine them together with audio streched according to the length of the video (which is correct on its own). EDIT: I forgot to mention that this fixed two potential out-of-range bugs in movie recording. Hopefully the mysterious crash haunting svn480 and later ones will be dispelled.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2100)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
BTW, I know this is out of place, but I can't find the original thread for TAS Movie Editor for an update. This revision fixed the bug that "new" resets in VBM would not be saved. EDIT: Thank you Tompa, for finding out the thread. EDIT 2: Users please acccess the link in the original thread for downloads.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Tompa
Any
Editor, Expert player (2139)
Joined: 8/15/2005
Posts: 1932
Location: Mullsjö, Sweden
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
Are there plans for lua to output onscreen text in user-determined font and size?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2100)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
MUGG wrote:
Are there plans for lua to output onscreen text in user-determined font and size?
The fixed size of font has been annoying me and I'd like to have it fixed "flexed". However that require an addition pass in graphic output if smaller sizes are desired, which might be easier than it appears though. Regarding user-determined font (loaded from a file?), it would feel incomplete without proper Unicode support, which might take more time to implement. Anyways the answer to the question? Yes, there have been plans, but not quite scheduled.
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1554
If this emulator is no longer going to be acceptable for Game Boy, Super Game Boy, and Game Boy Color, I would like Kirby Tilt 'n' Tumble to be granted a continuance.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
TASVideos News/Mothrayas wrote:
The list of emulators that will be dropped is: Mupen64-rr, PCSX-rr, PSXjin, Dega and FCEU.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1554
Yes, those emulators are going to be dropped, but VBA is not going to be dropped for GB, SGB, and GBC just yet.
Post subject: VBA-rr bug fixes for the cheat-related vulnerabilities
Editor, Emulator Coder, Expert player (2100)
Joined: 5/22/2007
Posts: 1134
Location: Glitchvania
Thanks to the bad network this took me half a day but I made it. Downloads: https://github.com/TASVideos/vba-rerecording/releases
<klmz> it reminds me of that people used to keep quoting adelikat's IRC statements in the old good days <adelikat> no doubt <adelikat> klmz, they still do
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
MUGG wrote:
Here's another emulation glitch [...] As a side-effect, the dragon's head will be gone. I haven't checked it just now, but on the real console you can't run out of present boxes nor does the dragon's head vanish [...]
MUGG wrote:
In GB The Smurfs, in the dragon boss, VBA has this bug: if you pick up too many presents, dragon's head despawns and you run out of presents [...] But on real console and Gambatte, it works correctly: You can pick up as many presents as you want [...]
We need to talk about this glitch. The glitch mentioned above always happened to me when I was playing/testing on VBA but it never happened on my real GBA. As a result, I've always considered it to be an emulation glitch. But right now I'm making a new TAS in Bizhawk-Gambatte to improve my old VBA run and the Dragon's head despawned while I was playing around! I was really confused how this bug, which I thought of as an old VBA bug, slipped into Gambatte. After some further testing, the Dragon's head despawning actually turned out to be a version-exclusive glitch. It only works in version 1.0. It never was an emulation glitch. I always used the 1.0 ROM, but I have a 1.1 cartridge. And due to VBA having many other (confirmed) emulation glitches at the time, I quickly came to a false conclusion. Sorry about this.
Evan0512
He/Him
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 161
Location: San Francisco
Now what happened to VBA? I started TASing Super Mario Advance 4 and Mario Party Advance.
Planned runs: Marble Madness (Arcade, Genesis J, GG/SMS) Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal mode) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions) In progress: Grand Poo World 3 (all exits hard mode)
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
It's an emulator that's "not preferred". Use BizHawk.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Post subject: What was the release on Mac OS X?
Evan0512
He/Him
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 161
Location: San Francisco
I don't know the latest release of VBA on mac OS X version.
Planned runs: Marble Madness (Arcade, Genesis J, GG/SMS) Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal mode) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions) In progress: Grand Poo World 3 (all exits hard mode)
Evan0512
He/Him
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 161
Location: San Francisco
It works on Mac version, but no speed, we mark "Yes" on VBA in Emulator resources.
Planned runs: Marble Madness (Arcade, Genesis J, GG/SMS) Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal mode) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions) In progress: Grand Poo World 3 (all exits hard mode)
Joined: 8/3/2008
Posts: 254
Can anyone tell how to the audio and video desyncs in VBA? I am trying to make Mother 3 videos for Youtube and it seems like the sound and video don;t match together when I edit the videos on my Cyberlink editor although my VLAN media player doesn't have this problem.
Guernsey Adams Pierre
LoganTheTASer
He/They
Banned User, Experienced player (765)
Joined: 7/3/2022
Posts: 458
Location: Berkshire, UK
i've installed visual boy advance and am not sure how to start tasing with it since it doesn't have any option that says something like "tas editor". would anyone mind teaching me the basics? kind regards, LGR
Editor, Player, Publisher (46)
Joined: 10/15/2021
Posts: 366
VBA-rr doesn't have anything like TAStudio or TAS Editor. If you want a feature like that for GBA TASing, you'll have to use BizHawk.
1 2
6 7 8