Joined: 4/21/2011
Posts: 91
I'm not sure if I'm posting a ridiculously dumb and noobish question here - but I've been searching around Dolphin for a while now, but there doesn't seem to be a 'display frame counter' option anywhere. Does it exist? Or if not, would it be possible to implement as a small tickbox somewhere for TASers?
Senior Moderator
Joined: 8/4/2005
Posts: 5770
Location: Away
A wild guess, but the usual hotkey for that is ".".
Warp wrote:
Edit: I think I understand now: It's my avatar, isn't it? It makes me look angry.
Experienced player (580)
Joined: 1/27/2011
Posts: 427
Location: Oregon
When you start recording (by going to Emulation->Start Recording), a few values are automatically added to the footer of the emulation window. These values are "VI", which is the current frame number, and "Frame", which is the total number of polled inputs. The number you're looking for is the VI.
Active player (420)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
ReneBalow wrote:
I TAS actually only Gamecube games. Because i have from Wii games only SSBB. But if i want TASing this game, then desync this always. If even i played this without save&load states. By Gamecube games desync this in a TAS almost never.
I double checked with Rene's brother, Dennis, and what Rene is trying to say is something along the lines of: SSBB always desyncs. Gamecube Games desync sometimes, but you can fix it. Here's some added input from Dennis to support what I was saying: ㋛ Jeremiah ㋛            says (1:36 PM): *are desyncs fixed now? Dennis says (1:36 PM): *Not really *We play still with deysync ------------ Dennis says (1:42 PM): *It´s IMO very stupid to make Gamecube TASes :P *Dolphin have some days where it works fine *But some days the contrary *-.-
Joined: 7/16/2006
Posts: 635
So, how is that memory watch coming along? The cheat search still doesn't update values in real time, doesn't allow 64-bit searches, and doesn't allow for searches in the form of floats or doubles.
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
Because I don't know how long until the 3.0 release will come and I can submit this, here's some binaries + a patch for what I have so far regarding TAS Input. http://www.mediafire.com/?n5c01ercan302l9 Look under Emulation -> TAS Input. When the window is open, all analog controls are overwritten by the values in the window. It currently does it for all controllers, so you can't do multiplayer input yet. Also, if you want to compile the patch yourself, you might need to rename OnFrame.cpp and OnFrame.h to Movie.cpp and Movie.h (both files are under Source/Core/Core/Src)
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Thanks Toad King! The input window works great! I have a question though. When I use r7590 and later, I get a "CreatePixelShaderFromByteCode failed at Src\D3DShader.cpp 84" error. After the error goes away, games still run in 7591M (the version of Dolphin you included), but in the r7591 on the Dolphin website, games don't continue running after the error. Do I have to download something to continue using the latest Dolphin version?
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
That sounds like your graphics card doesn't support the newer shaders Dolphin now uses. Not sure why it can still run with my version and not the one on the site. You can try running it with the OpenGL graphics backend and see if that runs okay.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
It works fine with OpenGL, but I usually don't use that graphics backend because it doesn't render some textures correctly. Is your version okay to use to make a TAS then? Or is the input window not done? I found that on your r7591M, that same error window pops up 4 times before the game starts, but on the regular r7591, the same error pops up 5 times and then the game doesn't run. I'm not sure why it's that way either.
Warepire
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 3/2/2010
Posts: 2174
Location: A little to the left of nowhere (Sweden)
Your graphics card may not support the shader versions that Dolphin uses as Toad King said, however, try to update your graphic card drivers before we say for certain that it is the problem. Updating the drivers on my laptop enabled shaders for me, maybe something similar can happen on your card (support for later shaders added through software or "unlocked" in hardware) Otherwise you will just have to use the OpenGL backend until you can get a new graphics card.
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
CoolKirby wrote:
It works fine with OpenGL, but I usually don't use that graphics backend because it doesn't render some textures correctly. Is your version okay to use to make a TAS then? Or is the input window not done?
I'm still going to add a couple more things to the window (graphics for the joysticks, tabs for different controllers, and maybe some other things), but if it has the features you need, then it should be safe to use with a TAS.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
According to my system, my graphics card drivers are up to date, so I guess my graphics card doesn't support the new shader versions. I will just use Toad King's r7591M, since after the four error messages, a movie I have from r7573 syncs perfectly and my game runs fine after that. Quick question about the L and R shoulder buttons, though: How are they used as analog sticks? I've always understood them as digital buttons and didn't realize they have analog functions.
Joined: 7/2/2007
Posts: 3960
The degree to which you depress them is analog. They aren't "sticks". Typically most games either ignore the analog functionality entirely or just have "pressed all the way" and "pressed but not all the way", since the buttons have a conveniently click when they're fully depressed.
Pyrel - an open-source rewrite of the Angband roguelike game in Python.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
OK, thank you for explaining that. I don't think I'll be using those buttons as analog, but I'll keep that in mind about their degree of depression.
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
I also forgot to mention; the window doesn't register the "click" part of the shoulder buttons. You have to do that yourself through other controls. This also means you can do some impossible things like clicking a shoulder button with no analog value, or full analog value with no click. While physically impossible on a normal controller, the controller does send separate signals for the click and analog. Might be fun seeing how some games handle that.
Experienced player (580)
Joined: 1/27/2011
Posts: 427
Location: Oregon
http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/issues/detail?id=4270 Looks like all the blockers for Dolphin v3.0 have finally been resolved. Hopefully we'll see the stable release soon.
Active player (420)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
Has anyone pinned the issue about repeated input after loading a savestate? It's still virtually impossible to make something that doesn't desync, unless its a 2D game. Edit: Do people like skid_au even realize this bug exists?
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Create an issue to draw their attention. They don't visit our forum on a daily basis. I have usually forwarded your complaints to them and to nitsuja. But sometimes it's better to create an issue to remind them.
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Player (155)
Joined: 2/4/2011
Posts: 61
I've been lurking Dolphin's forums the last few days. NeoBrain now says he "would like to release 3.0 this week." So, we'll probably see that by the end of July, then we can get more TAS commits.
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
Dolphin 3.0 has landed! http://forums.dolphin-emulator.com/showthread.php?tid=17451 Also, since the feature/string freeze is up, I've committed my TAS Input feature to SVN, r7621.
mindnomad
He/Him
Former player
Joined: 11/2/2009
Posts: 100
Okay, I keep getting an error that isn't allowing me to even open the program. It keeps saying that it "has failed to start because VCOMP100.DLL was not found" This is probably because I'm using an old computer, but either way, I want to fix this. Can anyone help?
Senior Moderator
Joined: 8/4/2005
Posts: 5770
Location: Away
Warp wrote:
Edit: I think I understand now: It's my avatar, isn't it? It makes me look angry.
Player (147)
Joined: 7/12/2006
Posts: 264
Location: Brazil
Tried to playback a Sonic 4 movie but the emulator crashes everytime I try to playback my movie. :( Anyone got problems with this game?
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Tried to play back a Four Sword adventure TAS and it worked fine until like 4 of the 5 minutes I had done so far. I'll keep working on 3.0, I like it. EDIT: worked on FSA, did like 1 minute of in-game time, saved, it crashed, have to start all over again. EDIT 2: I had a save state. Few! Even though, Four Sword Adventure is a bitch to TAS, because it's a long game, and only the intro is like 10 mins =(.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
arflech
He/Him
Joined: 5/3/2008
Posts: 1120
yay my CPU is now fast enough to run Dolphin at full speed
i imgur com/QiCaaH8 png