Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
would it mean you still have to sit and wait when you do improvements?
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
I'm not looking at the source code right now but i'm pretty sure the issue is he is writing the number of frames to the .sav file . So then when you use that savestate it is getting the number of frames there were in the .dtm at the time of making the save and ending the playback based on that.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
It seems that way. Still, something was fixed, so maybe it'll be easier to get it working fully now. Or even just working around it by running the different .dtm after loading the previous savestate would work as a temporary solution.
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
rog wrote:
It seems that way. Still, something was fixed, so maybe it'll be easier to get it working fully now. Or even just working around it by running the different .dtm after loading the previous savestate would work as a temporary solution.
Its extremely easy to fix if i am correct. He just needs to not load the number of frames from the savestate and keep the ones that have already been loaded from the .dtm, but now that dolphin has switched to the new versioning system i am to lazy to try coding anything on it.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
bzb95 wrote:
rog wrote:
It seems that way. Still, something was fixed, so maybe it'll be easier to get it working fully now. Or even just working around it by running the different .dtm after loading the previous savestate would work as a temporary solution.
Its extremely easy to fix if i am correct. He just needs to not load the number of frames from the savestate and keep the ones that have already been loaded from the .dtm, but now that dolphin has switched to the new versioning system i am to lazy to try coding anything on it.
Hex editing the frame count in the first .dtm, save stating then recording more doesn't work. It still stops where the original did (where it ran out of input, it ignored the inflated frame count).
Joined: 10/25/2009
Posts: 59
rog wrote:
bzb95 wrote:
rog wrote:
It seems that way. Still, something was fixed, so maybe it'll be easier to get it working fully now. Or even just working around it by running the different .dtm after loading the previous savestate would work as a temporary solution.
Its extremely easy to fix if i am correct. He just needs to not load the number of frames from the savestate and keep the ones that have already been loaded from the .dtm, but now that dolphin has switched to the new versioning system i am to lazy to try coding anything on it.
Hex editing the frame count in the first .dtm, save stating then recording more doesn't work. It still stops where the original did (where it ran out of input, it ignored the inflated frame count).
It should... Its getting the frame count from the savestate not the dtm(I think). It needs to be getting it from the dtm.
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
CoolKirby wrote:
I wonder when it was fixed though. I checked all of the recent revisions on Google Code and I couldn't find the one that fixed read-only mode. Or whoever fixed it didn't explain it in simple enough terms for me to understand.
I believe it was nitsuja. Would be great if he could get here and shed more light into this matter and hopefully fix all essential tools for you guys. I didn't find them either until now: http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/source/detail?r=2c2ef9a96197dd047be021c004c16f42be05663f and http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/source/detail?r=2c2ef9a96197dd047be021c004c16f42be05663f were commit about 10 hours ago by him.
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
AngerFist wrote:
I believe it was nitsuja. Would be great if he could get here and shed more light into this matter and hopefully fix all essential tools for you guys. I didn't find them either until now: http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/source/detail?r=2c2ef9a96197dd047be021c004c16f42be05663f and http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/source/detail?r=2c2ef9a96197dd047be021c004c16f42be05663f were commit about 10 hours ago by him.
What does he mean by "advances 1 frame each time instead of waiting for further unpause commands"? Does that mean that the emulator won't skip frames anymore while frame advancing? I guess I'll wait for the new revision to be compiled so I can try it out and see what changed. Otherwise, I think I have all essential tools to work on my TAS, and my other planned GC TASes.
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
From what I can see, the only change to read-only mode is to remove the warning about recording in read-only mode and force it on if you try to start recording a movie. I think the framestep fix might help a little with inputs from previous frames effecting the current frame. The issue with input in Dolphin is that it isn't polled at any specific time (like on frame draw), it's put on a timer that the emulated CPU polls every so often. When in recording/playback mode, that timer is forced to be once every frame, but the timing of the poll may still be off. It would be easy to fix this by forcing a poll on frame draw, but doing that would make the timing different from the current method, and possibly break movies already made/being made. Wiimote recording is something different altogether and is just a recording of the USB stream from the Bluetooth receiver. That wasn't implemented by me and even though the USB stream is easy to decode, it does not match up frame-for-frame, because it sends its signal at 150 Hz regardless of framerate IIRC.
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Toad King wrote:
I think the framestep fix might help a little with inputs from previous frames effecting the current frame. The issue with input in Dolphin is that it isn't polled at any specific time (like on frame draw), it's put on a timer that the emulated CPU polls every so often. When in recording/playback mode, that timer is forced to be once every frame, but the timing of the poll may still be off. It would be easy to fix this by forcing a poll on frame draw, but doing that would make the timing different from the current method, and possibly break movies already made/being made.
Well that's really a non-issue, isn't it? Everybody knows dolphins TAS-feature is not final yet and that later revisions might break old movies. Tasers can just note the revision they used for a specific TAS in their submission and the problem is solved.
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1300)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
Note that I haven't actually seen read-only mode work yet in Dolphin. Maybe it was working before or would be working if I were to try using it in a certain way, but as far as I can tell it's totally broken. (I'll probably try fixing it soon if nobody else does.) Also, if I try to playback a movie that has Wii input, it just crashes (in the PlayWiimote function), do I need to use some specific settings to avoid that and/or is anyone else getting that problem?
CoolKirby wrote:
What does he mean by "advances 1 frame each time instead of waiting for further unpause commands"?
It means the frame advance hotkey now makes the emulator advance each time you press it (as opposed to before where it didn't actually advance any frames until you also press the pause/unpause hotkey, which was weird and unlike other emulators). I've never seen frame advance skip frames before, does this only happen in certain games? I did see one time where I paused the game and the frame count in the title bar didn't update, so when I hit frame advance the number increased by more than 1, but only because the number that was displayed was wrong, not because it really skipped any frames.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
nitsuja wrote:
Note that I haven't actually seen read-only mode work yet in Dolphin. Maybe it was working before or would be working if I were to try using it in a certain way, but as far as I can tell it's totally broken. (I'll probably try fixing it soon if nobody else does.) Also, if I try to playback a movie that has Wii input, it just crashes (in the PlayWiimote function), do I need to use some specific settings to avoid that and/or is anyone else getting that problem?
CoolKirby wrote:
What does he mean by "advances 1 frame each time instead of waiting for further unpause commands"?
It means the frame advance hotkey now makes the emulator advance each time you press it (as opposed to before where it didn't actually advance any frames until you also press the pause/unpause hotkey, which was weird and unlike other emulators). I've never seen frame advance skip frames before, does this only happen in certain games? I did see one time where I paused the game and the frame count in the title bar didn't update, so when I hit frame advance the number increased by more than 1, but only because the number that was displayed was wrong, not because it really skipped any frames.
Read only will work in 223 while playing back a previously recorded movie, if you create a save state while it is playing back. . If the frame advance hotkey is used to advance to the next frame, how do you disable it? play/pause? I think frame count is just completely bugged. In pikmin frame advance would increase VI by 1, and frames by 2 (except in the beginning menu, where they are the same). In muramasa, the frame count is always 0, and VIs increase by 1 at a time with frame advance. As far as i know, frame advance advances by VIs, not frames, which is why sometimes frames goes up by 2, or 0.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
rog wrote:
Read only will work in 223 while playing back a previously recorded movie, if you create a save state while it is playing back. .
That is, an older movie from an older revision. This worked for both rog and me. Read-only in 223 (the only 3.0-2xx revision I've tested) seems to be fully fixed for playing back movies from older revisions.
rog wrote:
If the frame advance hotkey is used to advance to the next frame, how do you disable it? play/pause?
You just press Play/Pause to continue playing the game, Play/Pause again to pause the game like before. But now, instead of having a frame advance toggle, the frame advance button advances the game a frame at a time.
rog wrote:
As far as i know, frame advance advances by VIs, not frames, which is why sometimes frames goes up by 2, or 0.
Yes. Like Mupen, Dolphin advances by VIs. In both GC games I'm working on, Dolphin skips 100 or so frames when the GameCube starts up (but only advances one VI).
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
nitsuja wrote:
Also, if I try to playback a movie that has Wii input, it just crashes (in the PlayWiimote function), do I need to use some specific settings to avoid that and/or is anyone else getting that problem?.
I tried to TAS super mario Wii and unfortunately, the movie file just crashes. It seems that Dolphin doesn't record the Wiimore's inputs, or sensations, or movements, therefore it is futile to even try to TAS a game that has Wii controls, like Wii Tennis and those other stuff like that. But that thing seems to make a movie file to crash at any time whatever I was doing. EDIT: Anyway, the main issue as we speak would be the read-only mode, I believe.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
So, I tested my 3.0-191 movie on 3.0-229, and the Start button press on the title screen doesn't sync. After some testing, I found that the earliest frame Start can be pressed to leave the menu is 2 frames later on 3.0-229. The weird thing is that 3.0-223 plays my movie through. Was there a major change in timing between revisions 3.0-223 and 3.0-229? I don't know which one is more accurate or which one will make movies that sync for newer emulators, but I'm probably going to stick with 3.0-223 because it actually plays my movie (and read-only mode works for older movies on it too).
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
9k frames in so far on 232, and it has synced fine so far. edit: 37k frames, still synced. Doesn't seem like any major change in timing.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Well, maybe it's just my game. I'll just stick with 3.0-223 then.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Read only is fixed, for really real this time in 234. it gives an error every time you load a state (turn off panic handlers), and seems prone to desyncing smetimes (i made a save state right in the opening menu right before selecting difficulty, and ~10% of the time, it selected the default difficult, instead of the one it was supposed to). Have not done extensive testing on it, but my guess is that as long as it syncs right away, it'll sync all the way through. testing my movies now to see if they still sync, will report back later. Muramasa is completely unplayable on 234. This is actually not even too bad, since i can see my character. Haven't tried any other games to see if affects other games. It's syncing so far though, so whatever if i have to record in an earlier version.
Active player (420)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
This probably means that all tasers who were waiting for a stable read-only mode can now return tasing! Thank you for the christmas gift my beloved nitsuja :) Keep 'em coming mate. Edit: This is the revision which caused my excitement ^_^ http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/source/detail?r=9470f9545ff0316c620449e598b27dd29470e30f&name=master nitsuja even added "some Wii display input support".
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
A user's comment on the page AngerFist linked to wrote:
At the moment, if the framedumper is dumping raw frames,@1080p, it's about 470mb/sec
This is a problem. I dumped a 16 second video from my Paper Mario: TTYD movie and it was 223 MB. That's really big for a 16 second native resolution video. Is there a way to make the file size smaller? I probably won't use it for this TAS, since I'm sticking with 3.0-191, but I will be using a newer Dolphin for future GC TASes, and it would be really nice if someone could find a way to decrease the file size of dumped frames.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
probably it is that big because you're dumping it uncompressed. Dump it in lagarith or h.264 (lossless).
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
MUGG wrote:
probably it is that big because you're dumping it uncompressed. Dump it in lagarith or h.264 (lossless).
How do you do that? The only options it gives me is is microsoft RLE, microsoft video 1, intel IYUV, intel IYUV (again), fraps video decompressor, and uncompressed. All of them but uncompressed and microsoft video 1 are broken. Microsoft video 1 gives incredibly awful quality, but as a result the file size is very small.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
google for it and install. Probably the best way to go is to get ffdshow codec and configure it h.264lossless quantizer=1.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
You could also download the Lagarith installer from here. I'm planning to try encoding with this when I'm finished TASing the Prologue of my game.