RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
nitsuja wrote:
rog wrote:
nitsuja wrote:
Try going to Options > Hotkey Settings and setting a hotkey for "Read-only mode". Then you can press it when the game window is active to toggle read-only. That should always work even when emulation is paused.
It doesn't.
But the hotkey works when emulation isn't paused? Does the window title change when you press it or not?
Yes, the hotkey works fine when unpaused. And the title doesn't change ever?
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1300)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
rog wrote:
And the title doesn't change ever?
Then, maybe try turning off "Render to Main Window" in the graphics settings (and not using fullscreen either) so you can see what's going on.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Oh, everything in the status bar is moved to the title bar without render to main window. It works fine while paused without render to main window.
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
The frame count is broke... I'll write down some testing I have done with the bug. When TASing super smash bros melee, I noticed every player equals 8 hexadecimals numbers in the movie file. Therefore, if I have only 1 player, my hexadecimal movie must be read by every 8 numbers. If I have a movie file of 2, 3 or 4 players, I must read the hexadecimal movie file of 16, 24 or 32 numbers for each frame. Mario sunshine and Luigi's mansion frame count is broken, it always racks up by 2 frames every time I press frame advance once. Is it that I really advance 2 frames? Or I really advance 1 frame and the frame count really is the problem? I suggest the frame count is the problem, because the game really appears to advance frame by frame. I put a testing file of both mario sunshine and luigi's mansion in HxD, and I realised there is something wrong: the movie file records 16 hexa numbers each frame... and it records twice the same inputs. It's like port 1 and 2 are just the same controller... But it shouldn't be that way I believe, each port should only have 8 hexa numbers. It really appeared that 16 hexadecimals numbers were the main problem of frame count glitch when I attempted to do a 2 players TAS of super smash melee, and suddently the frame count was racking up of +2. I knew my Melee was now registering 16 hexa numbers because of the 2 players, and the frame count reacted according to it. I checked, and when doing luigi's mansion or mario sunshine, I really have only 1 port open, but it records 16 hexa numbers instead of 8. And this problem doesn't only glitch out the frame count, but it also doubles up the lenght of the movie file. Plus, the more ports you have for a movie file, the more it's bound to desynch. an 1p TAS is more stable than a 4p TAS, probably because there is fewer hexa numbers to read on every frame. I'll take a very good example here: Mugg complained his bowser homerun contest file was desynching a lot. I have the same revision as him, the same configs, the same ROM, and I rarely have any desynch. At some point I asked him to give me his bowser file, so he did. What did I see? His bowser movie file was a 4 player TAS. Even if really, he was playing 1 character, the game was recording way more than just his bowser inputs. The file was bound to be unstable for that reason, and mugg didn't seem to know why it was desynching.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Frame advance actually advances by VIs, not frames. So if there is only one VI every other frame, it will indeed skip a frame. And for mario sunshine/luigi's mansion, what value was at 0xb?
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
rog wrote:
Frame advance actually advances by VIs, not frames. So if there is only one VI every other frame, it will indeed skip a frame. And for mario sunshine/luigi's mansion, what value was at 0xb?
Well yes, it advances correctly if I rely on VIs. Value at 0xb = I'm not sure what you mean. Are you referring to the first numbers of a movie file?
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Wak017 wrote:
Value at 0xb = I'm not sure what you mean. Are you referring to the first numbers of a movie file?
The value at byte B. It is the number of controllers being recorded.
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
rog wrote:
Wak017 wrote:
Value at 0xb = I'm not sure what you mean. Are you referring to the first numbers of a movie file?
The value at byte B. It is the number of controllers being recorded.
Byte 0B of the first frame is 01.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Is it possible that Luigi's Mansion runs at 30 frames per second, and only advances 30 VIs per second (every VI throughout the game equaling two frames)? Luigi's Mansion was an early game on the GameCube and it seems that early games on 3D consoles tend to run at 30 FPS (like Super Mario 64 on the N64 and Ocarina of Time 3D on the 3DS).
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
CoolKirby wrote:
Is it possible that Luigi's Mansion runs at 30 frames per second, and only advances 30 VIs per second (every VI throughout the game equaling two frames)? Luigi's Mansion was an early game on the GameCube and it seems that early games on 3D consoles tend to run at 30 FPS (like Super Mario 64 on the N64 and Ocarina of Time 3D on the 3DS).
... Well what you just mentioned may be the reason why when I dump frames for Luigi's Mansion, it's dumped at "60 frames per second" but the dumped movie's speed is twice as fast. The movie file may play at 60fps while really there is only 30fps. And for that, I was about to investigate a bit before to post it.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Some things: I am TASing luigi's mansion, I noticed some things were not appearing, such as keys. I figured it was direct3d9, so I switched to openGL. The key now appears, but dolphin needs to be shut down with ctrl+alt+del, because it crashes 100% of the time with these configs. Is it possible to prevent that? I thought of another thing. I know other emulators allows frame-skipping. I know most computers can't even run a gamecube game at 100% speed, so I even wonder if it's possible. But either way, I'm throwing the idea...
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
According to cohn's testing detailed on this page (bottom row), Direct3D9 and OpenGL randomly crash in Dolphin 3.0, so if you can use Direct3D11, it might fix those crashes. Dolphin has a Frame Skipping option in the Emulation menu (next to File).
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Thank you coolkirby, direct3d11 works just fine, and doesn't crash everytime I close Dolphin. Even though, I couldn't make frame skipping to work. How can I arrange that?
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
I'm not sure. I've never used it before. But why would you use Frame Skipping when making a TAS? Don't you need to advance one frame at a time?
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Frame skipping is easily the worst thing you could possibly do in a tas. Except possibly continuing to record while you get up and do something else.
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
I agree with you, but let's say I need to play from beginning a very long movie file? I am doing luigi's mansion TAS, and it desynch every once in a while. I got myself compelled to start over my movie file a few times now, until I got to a point where I savestated so I could use read-only mode from this point. But noneless, I had to start over. frame-skipping is not useful to make a TAS, it's just another method of going to a certain point in a movie file, beside read only mode, or just sit there and wait for your file to get there.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
It won't sync with frame skip.
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Other emulators can frame skip efficiently, therefore it's probably possible for Dolphin as well... no?
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
You can, but like i said, your movie won't sync, unless it was recorded with frame skip.
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
... I'm not sure if you're saying this regarding the present, or you're supposing it will never be possible to have a working frame-skip, or if you're unaware that I was talking about it regarding a future revision that has a working frame-skip for Dolphin, that could be used like the one on other emulators. Because there are working frame-skipping on other emulators, you know that? You can press a button, and then the game goes in fast-forward mode, by skipping frames. If you let go the button, the game goes in normal speed. There is no such thing as "movie won't sync, unless it was recorded with frame skip" on other emulators.
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
Wak017 wrote:
... I'm not sure if you're saying this regarding the present, or you're supposing it will never be possible to have a working frame-skip, or if you're unaware that I was talking about it regarding a future revision that has a working frame-skip for Dolphin, that could be used like the one on other emulators. Because there are working frame-skipping on other emulators, you know that? You can press a button, and then the game goes in fast-forward mode, by skipping frames. If you let go the button, the game goes in normal speed. There is no such thing as "movie won't sync, unless it was recorded with frame skip" on other emulators.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't that just turning off the frame limiter? It still "renders" each frame in memory, but it doesn't delay the output to match the correct framerate. The problem with Dolphin is that its frameskip actually skips the rendering of some frames, which can have effects on playback.
Joined: 7/22/2009
Posts: 128
Location: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
I don't know how frame-skipping works actually, but you are probably right about turning off the frame-limiter. In the very beginning though, I asked if it was possible to have frame-skipping, I was throwing the idea. I was doubting it because most computers can't even run dolphin at 100% speed, let alone playing a game at more than 100% the speed... But if it only "renders" every frame without showing them, that could possibly work... I was throwing the idea because it would be a useful tool overall, for TASers, along with Read-only mode. By the way, good stuff making read-only work on revision 235!
Taming Dolphin, one frame at a time
Post subject: ATTENTION ALL UNITS!
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
HIYA! Master has been really really busy with dolphin. Please take a look at this monstrous commit: http://code.google.com/p/dolphin-emu/source/detail?r=37c58164433320a957dec43bc11caa5211b24eba&name=more-save-fixes he has made a lot of commits lately related with save- and loadstating. Grab the latest build and please tell us how Dolphin works.
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Joined: 3/20/2009
Posts: 87
It looks like those changes haven't been merged with the master branch yet, so the automatic builds don't have these changes yet.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
I am having the problem rog had earlier with the 223 savestate that stops my 191 movie where it last ended instead of playing out the full length of the dtm. Is there a way to get Dolphin to read the 3.0-191 dtm's length instead of the length of a loaded 223 savestate from a previous session? Since my TAS will be about 6 hours long, I don't think I'll be able to handle playing my movie from the beginning every 1-2 minutes of the movie that I'll be checking for desyncs. I know from rog's testing that you can't get the savestate to work by hex editing its frame count, and I know from my testing that replacing the .dtm part of the 223 savestate with the finished 191 movie will make it not play at all.