RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Thank you for your translations, FractalFusion. I appreciated being able to follow the discussion. So how hard would it be to TAS a single star in Super Mario Galaxy 1 or 2, since those games require the Nunchuk?
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
CoolKirby wrote:
So how hard would it be to TAS a single star in Super Mario Galaxy 1 or 2, since those games require the Nunchuk?
Probably somewhere between a pain in the ass, to mildly annoying, depending on luck, and how much desyncs bother you. There have been a few short mario galaxy tases done before. You might want to ask sonicpacker about his experiences here.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
If there was a mission that required running in one direction for quite a while and occasionally jumping (like that one star in Battlerock Galaxy), would it be a good idea to use jlun2's hex value copying idea to keep Mario running straight without desyncs?
rog wrote:
You might want to ask sockpacker about his experiences here.
You mean sonicpacker? I could ask him.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
CoolKirby wrote:
If there was a mission that required running in one direction for quite a while and occasionally jumping (like that one star in Battlerock Galaxy), would it be a good idea to use jlun2's hex value copying idea to keep Mario running straight without desyncs?
rog wrote:
You might want to ask sockpacker about his experiences here.
You mean sonicpacker? I could ask him.
I would not recommend trying to hex every frame like that for wiimote. Wiimote just records raw data to the .dtm, so it's kind of a huge mess, and doesn't even have a constant amount of data per frame. Yes, i meant sonicpacker, not sure how that turned into sock.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
I see. So it's not organized or easy to follow at all, like GameCube controller input?
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1141)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
CoolKirby wrote:
I see. So it's not organized or easy to follow at all, like GameCube controller input?
Each input frame is variable-size (it has length tho, so it is possible to follow the input framing without reference to the ROM). The first byte of each input frame appears to be length of said frame (not counting the length byte itself).
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
CoolKirby wrote:
I see. So it's not organized or easy to follow at all, like GameCube controller input?
Not really. There's no way to calculate an offset with just a frame number, you to need parse the entire file, since the amount of bytes per frame can vary from one frame to the next (the first byte of each frame tells you how much data is saved for that frame, but not what data). And then once you find the frame you're looking for, you still need to determine what the data saved actually is before you can edit it. Until someone writes a program to parse the .dtm, it'd be a huge waste of time to even try hexing one.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
By the way, apparently any audio backend other than no audio output can cause desyncs. So unless you absolutely need sound, i'd suggest using that.
Editor, Experienced player (608)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 4012
Okay, thanks rog and Ilari. I will keep that in mind. It does sound like a lot of effort though, so I might just stick to GameCube TASing for now.
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1141)
Joined: 5/1/2010
Posts: 1217
CoolKirby wrote:
I will keep that in mind. It does sound like a lot of effort though, so I might just stick to GameCube TASing for now.
You mean GameCube controller TASing? Because GC controller can be used wih Wii, and it works just like when connected to GC as far as TASing is concerned. Of course, some Wii games require Wiimote (or some related device).
Former player
Joined: 4/13/2011
Posts: 76
Location: Japan
rog wrote:
asutoro wrote:
マリオギャラクシーはヌンチャクが対応しているか試しただけです。動作は問題無いようです。 え?desyncを以外問題なし?
desyncだけが問題です。
rog wrote:
asutoro wrote:
NewスーパーマリオブラザーズWiiはdesyncが発生しないので唯一製作可能ですが、エラー発生が多いです。
何をエラー?
GC/Wiiのどちらでも必ず発生します。ステートセーブやステートロードを何回も行なったときに起こります。 この表示後、どの項目を押してもドルフィンは反応しなくなり、応答なしになります。
rog wrote:
asutoro wrote:
Wii partyでは、特殊な動作を再現できないミニゲームもありました。
すみません、全然理解していない。もっと詳細に説明ください。
輪投げをするミニゲームがありますが、遠くに投げる操作ができません。 Wiiリモコンを持った状態で左に捻り、前に振るという動作です。 近くに投げるのはできます。
Operation related to TAS of N64/GC/Wii/PS2 emulator is often investigated.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
GC/Wiiのどちらでも必ず発生します。ステートセーブやステートロードを何回も行なったときに起こります。 この表示後、どの項目を押してもドルフィンは反応しなくなり、応答なしになります。
exceptioninfo.txtの内容を投稿するください。
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
This might be useful to someone: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11111638/0001-display-current-byte-in-input-display.patch It displays the current byte (which is where the next frame will be saved to) in the input display (turn it on in graphics->advanced), as such: Might be convenient if you're doing a lot of hexing.
Former player
Joined: 4/13/2011
Posts: 76
Location: Japan
rog wrote:
GC/Wiiのどちらでも必ず発生します。ステートセーブやステートロードを何回も行なったときに起こります。 この表示後、どの項目を押してもドルフィンは反応しなくなり、応答なしになります。
exceptioninfo.txtの内容を投稿するください。
Unhandled Exception
  Code: 0x80000003
Call stack info: 
     KERNELBASE!0x75853E2E : DebugBreak
Operation related to TAS of N64/GC/Wii/PS2 emulator is often investigated.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
asutoro wrote:
rog wrote:
GC/Wiiのどちらでも必ず発生します。ステートセーブやステートロードを何回も行なったときに起こります。 この表示後、どの項目を押してもドルフィンは反応しなくなり、応答なしになります。
exceptioninfo.txtの内容を投稿するください。
Unhandled Exception
  Code: 0x80000003
Call stack info: 
     KERNELBASE!0x75853E2E : DebugBreak
64 bit - https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11111638/Dolphin%20desync-fixes%20802%20x64.7z 32 bit - https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11111638/Dolphin%20desync-fixes%20802%20x86.7z これを試してみてください。 Anyone else tasing wiimote games may also want to try these, if you were having problems.
Active player (419)
Joined: 9/21/2009
Posts: 1047
Location: California
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Either.
Former player
Joined: 4/13/2011
Posts: 76
Location: Japan
rog wrote:
asutoro wrote:
rog wrote:
GC/Wiiのどちらでも必ず発生します。ステートセーブやステートロードを何回も行なったときに起こります。 この表示後、どの項目を押してもドルフィンは反応しなくなり、応答なしになります。
exceptioninfo.txtの内容を投稿するください。
Unhandled Exception
  Code: 0x80000003
Call stack info: 
     KERNELBASE!0x75853E2E : DebugBreak
64 bit - https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11111638/Dolphin%20desync-fixes%20802%20x64.7z 32 bit - https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11111638/Dolphin%20desync-fixes%20802%20x86.7z これを試してみてください。 Anyone else tasing wiimote games may also want to try these, if you were having problems.
エラーは無くなりました!快適に製作できるでしょう。
Operation related to TAS of N64/GC/Wii/PS2 emulator is often investigated.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
asutoro wrote:
エラーは無くなりました!快適に製作できるでしょう。
desyncについてはどうですか?
Former player
Joined: 4/13/2011
Posts: 76
Location: Japan
rog wrote:
asutoro wrote:
エラーは無くなりました!快適に製作できるでしょう。
desyncについてはどうですか?
マリオギャラクシー2ですが、desyncは頻繁に発生します。 desyncが確認されたフレームの数フレーム前から作ることで修正は可能です。
Operation related to TAS of N64/GC/Wii/PS2 emulator is often investigated.
Warepire
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 3/2/2010
Posts: 2174
Location: A little to the left of nowhere (Sweden)
Rog: In your movie-fixes branch, would it not be easier to keep the Wii save stuff in RAM instead of moving files back and forth? If someone runs Dolphin from an SSD drive this becomes extra harddrive writes that wears on the SSD (not that I think anyone should run programs that write a lot to disk from an SSD...) Or is the Wii generated saves just too much to temporarily keep them in RAM?
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Wii saves are generally tiny. I'm not sure why anyone would even care about the writes to an ssd. That being said, i only did it that way because it's the easiest way i could think to do it. I'm no expert programmer, so if you think you can do better, you probably can, and i'd love to see someone else working on dolphin's tas features!
Warepire
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 3/2/2010
Posts: 2174
Location: A little to the left of nowhere (Sweden)
It's not only about the SSD part, mainly you don't want to move more permanent files around in favor of temporary files. Though I realize I didn't quite think it through in the sense of starting from a save... Because if something is stored in RAM only, then no one can generate a save from it, this means verification movies become impossible to make. I will have to look at how other emulators does this, and if I figure out a good way to do it, I'll give you a patch.
RachelB
She/Her
Player (127)
Joined: 12/3/2011
Posts: 1579
Yeah, if i saw an easy way to save to a temporary location, i would have done that. That's what i did with GC, since it's just a matter of changing the memory card location, but wii saves aren't so easy.