Post subject: Donkey Kong High Score challenge
Banned User
Joined: 5/11/2004
Posts: 1049
Anyone interested in this? Is there a way to re-record with mame?
"Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence."
Joined: 7/13/2006
Posts: 61
Ha. After watching King of Kong I'd kind of like to see perfect DK and Pacman runs. As boring as those would be to make and watch after awhile I think history demands it. Billy Mitchell be damned.
Skilled player (1434)
Joined: 7/15/2007
Posts: 1468
Location: Sweden
Would be fun to see if luck manipulation could get you past that random death screen :)
Agare Bagare Kopparslagare
Joined: 8/1/2004
Posts: 91
The death screen isn't random, but rather caused by the machine running out of RAM or something like that, if I remember correctly. Unless I'm mistaken, then, it couldn't be luck-manipulated away.
Experienced player (700)
Joined: 2/19/2006
Posts: 742
Location: Quincy, MA
haha... Been playing DK (MAME) A few days this week. 320,900. L=10-1. This is in real time. The kill screen basically is like a 10 second countdown and then you die each time. It would be INCREDIBLE if a TASer managed to get past the kill screen in pacman or DK. :D I wonder what the limit TASing this game would be score-wise. I'm guessing 2 million+
Super Mario Bros. console speedrunner - Andrew Gardikis
Player (120)
Joined: 2/11/2007
Posts: 1522
Maybe if you can go down through the floor like in the NES version...
I make a comic with no image files and you should read it. While there is a lower class, I am in it, and while there is a criminal element I am of it, and while there is a soul in prison, I am not free. -Eugene Debs
Mitjitsu
He/Him
Banned User
Joined: 4/24/2006
Posts: 2997
alden wrote:
Maybe if you can go down through the floor like in the NES version...
Doesn't work I'm afraid, I tested that a long time ago. I would be very interested in seeing a high score run, because of the luck manipulation required. It would be about two and half hours long so ADD watch out. I'm pretty sure you could blow the World Record out of the water.
Joined: 7/13/2006
Posts: 61
For reference, 1,050,200 points is the officially recognized high score.
Banned User
Joined: 5/11/2004
Posts: 1049
Does Mame have re-recording yet? And the kill screen is caused by a bug in the programming for the bonus time After level 99 I think it causes the time to by like 10 seconds. Just redoing a few lines of codes makes it work fine for many more levels, probably ram overload at some point. 2 million would be a good goal, but I think Steve Wiebe or Billy Mitchel are the only guys that know enough about this game to do a near max TAS. Steve Wiebe might share some tips with me though, he's nice and lives in same city.
"Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence."
Active player (292)
Joined: 12/16/2008
Posts: 458
Location: Houston
MAME will likely never officially support rerecording. It barely does save states, the goal of MAME is accurate hardware emulation so they normally avoid features not found on the original hardware.
Banned User
Joined: 5/11/2004
Posts: 1049
What about another emu?
"Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocrities. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence."
Post subject: Donkey Kong hex editor, memory addresses, luck manipulation
Joined: 7/5/2011
Posts: 3
Location: North Carolina, USA
Just wondering if anyone knew which emulator would be a good idea to use for Donkey Kong, working on luck manipulation. Hearing so much about the fireballs being random, I'd like to look at it myself.
Player (136)
Joined: 9/18/2007
Posts: 389
This would be a bad game choice for sure... I think you're talking about this game. We already have the NES version published here, and I don't think that the one extra level and the few extra graphics would be enough for either another publication or to obsolete the current run. Or you must find an Arcade-specific glitch that can be abused.
Joined: 1/26/2009
Posts: 558
Location: Canada - Québec
partyboy1a wrote:
This would be a bad game choice for sure... I think you're talking about this game. We already have the NES version published here, and I don't think that the one extra level and the few extra graphics would be enough for either another publication or to obsolete the current run. Or you must find an Arcade-specific glitch that can be abused.
Oh comon there even a movie about this game(The King of Kong), of course this version deserve to be tased!
Joined: 7/5/2011
Posts: 3
Location: North Carolina, USA
The arcade version is significantly different from the NES version. The version in the video you posted is also significantly different. You don't see the factory level on Level 1, nor do you see the elevators.
Joined: 2/26/2011
Posts: 98
I think a TAS of this game would have value, seeing as how it is the original and complete version of a renowned classic arcade game. Unfortunately a TAS wouldn't be able to show off somebody getting into the highest possible levels.
Active player (292)
Joined: 12/16/2008
Posts: 458
Location: Houston
yeah, quickest possible kill screen wouldn't be entertaining don't think it's supported in fba rr so you would have to use mame-rr it has better memory watch features then fba anyway, if that's all your interested in
Joined: 1/13/2007
Posts: 335
i think it would be entertaining because of the luck manipulation involved to avoid delays. I also think a score attack would be entertaining, and show lots of dangerous stuff.
Mitjitsu
He/Him
Banned User
Joined: 4/24/2006
Posts: 2997
Score attack would be the only thing worth doing.
Experienced player (604)
Joined: 10/23/2004
Posts: 706
How has a score attack not been done for this game? It would make headlines due to the popularity of King of Kong and continued popularity of Donkey Kong high score records. Does FinalBurn Alpha not support the game?
Current Project: - Mario Kart 64
Skilled player (1656)
Joined: 7/1/2013
Posts: 433
(The associated video has been deleted.) http://triplepointwx.org/George/Donkey%20Kong.mar This TAS was created using MAME-RR v0.139. In order to run this game, MAME requires both DKONGJ.ZIP and DKONG.ZIP. DKONG.ZIP (US set 1) is the "Original" ROM set and DKONGJ.ZIP (Japan set 1) is the "Clone" ROM set. MAME requires that any "Clone" ROM set also requires the "Original" ROM set to run, as the "Original" ROM set includes the information for the hardware shared between the 2 versions. After the game has loaded, the emulator must be in a paused state before the input file is played, or the input file will fail to play.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2366)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6366
Location: The land down under.
Nice you've completed 4.54% of Donkey Kong. I'm personally more interested in seeing it reach the Kill Screen. Well to be exact the actual route to get that is using a different version. See, you're going: 25m, 50m, 75m, 100m (loop) The American version is: Stage 1 25m, 100m Stage 2 25m, 75m, 100m Stage 3 25m, 50m, 75m, 100m Stage 4 25m, 50m, 25m, 75m, 100m Stage 5 25m, 50m, 25m, 75m, 25m, 100m (Loop Stage 5)
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced player (843)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 1118
https://tcrf.net/Donkey_Kong_(Arcade) dkongjo1 (JP Set 3), the very first release of this game has 25m Jump Bug. Link to video I don't know if this saves more time than the glitch in your video does. As a side note, the US version of Donkey Kong Jr. works in a similar way on level order: 1-4 1-2-4 1-3-4 1-2-3-4(Loop) I have tried these two games with fbalpha_libretro.dll on Bizhawk. They run well and save states work. However, the NullReferenceException that pops up every time when the game starts to run makes it impossible to record a movie.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1240)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11317
Location: RU
Fortranm wrote:
I have tried these two games with fbalpha_libretro.dll on Bizhawk. They run well and save states work. However, the NullReferenceException that pops up every time when the game starts to run makes it impossible to record a movie.
Post it somewhere, repro steps, the exception message and stuff.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced player (843)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 1118
feos wrote:
Fortranm wrote:
I have tried these two games with fbalpha_libretro.dll on Bizhawk. They run well and save states work. However, the NullReferenceException that pops up every time when the game starts to run makes it impossible to record a movie.
Post it somewhere, repro steps, the exception message and stuff.
http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12519&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=1425 https://github.com/TASVideos/BizHawk/issues/713 I actually posted it 3 weeks ago.