Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
If you run it from commandline, does it spawn a similar message when it closes as in the bug I linked?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
In such cases,it doesn't seem to do proper work with samples that are left from the previous frame and the buffer that's allocated for the frame after you load a state. Maybe it's a common problem for several games, but what I found out is that states crash the emu without the movie too, and in vanilla mame of that time.
So you could test if it crashes without movie loaded, on both original mame 0.139 and latest one. And if you want to be really helpful, and find the exact mame release when that was fixed (if it was), I might adopt the fix before I start working on the fork of new mame (new year holidays), so in the end you could resume tasing on mame sooner.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Well... I'm not having much luck finding the version it was fixed, I'm sorry. The thing is that it's hard to reproduce the bug since it happens at random.
So, I guess I will wait for when you start working on the new mame.
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
Does it work well in the latest mame?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
This is what I had done, but with Powershell, it always gives me a error (for exemple):
mame-rr ssf2t -aviwrite myrom.avi
Mame-rr: The term "mame-rr" is not recognized as a cmdlet name, function, script file, or
Executable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path exists, verify that the path
Is correct and try again.
Character Line: 1: 1
+ Mame-rr ssf2t -aviwrite myrom.avi
+ ~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo: ObjectNotFound: (mame-rr: String) [], CommandNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId: CommandNotFoundException
Suggestion [3, General]: The mame-rr command can not be found, but it exists at the current location. By default, Windows PowerShell does not load any commands from the current location. If you approve this command, type ". \ Mame-rr" instead. For more information, see "get-help about_Command_Precedence".
but with the classic command promt it work fine.
Thanks Feosedit: -playback myrom.mar don't work for me, I must load manually the movie file.
edit 2: I have made several tests, no big issues, very few desync. Dbz2 crash mame on load savestate, every time. The biggest problem is the old build of mame, like fsvgm777 and Sonia say, a 6 years old build, so many games are not compatible or are broken, sound, visual or both.
Some games have avi dump format problem on diferent avi part (on some 3d fighting games, the image size of the dump is not the same between parts, I can post a video or screenshot, if it is needed).
Is it possible to have an option "stop on movie end" ?
(and in a perfect world. an option to export movies like in bizhawk "save movie as..." (To avoid the loss of any data during a crash for example))
I hope slowdown and/or rewind will come later.
Otherwise, geat job!
edit3 I will list somes games that desync on the fisrt seconds, if I think about it.
Mario Bros. (US, Revison F)
edit4 Hauted Castle (M) desync around frame 28000
Chase H.Q desync at random frame without warning
Hang-on desync ~ frame 9000
is it possible to submit TASes for mameRR since my PC doesn't run fbarr in a stable way?(all versions crash randomly besides being a problem to use in general)
I want all good TAS inside TASvideos, it's my motto.
TAS i'm interested:
Megaman series, specially the RPGs! Where is the mmbn1 all chips TAS we deserve? Where is the Command Mission TAS?
i'm slowly moving away from TASing fighting games for speed, maybe it's time to start finding some entertainment value in TASing.
http://www.youtube.com/Noxxa
<dwangoAC> This is a TAS (...). Not suitable for all audiences. May cause undesirable side-effects. May contain emulator abuse. Emulator may be abusive. This product contains glitches known to the state of California to cause egg defects.
<Masterjun> I'm just a guy arranging bits in a sequence which could potentially amuse other people looking at these bits
<adelikat> In Oregon Trail, I sacrificed my own family to save time. In Star trek, I killed helpless comrades in escape pods to save time. Here, I kill my allies to save time. I think I need help.
Does anyone know if the Lua command joypad.set() in Mame-RR is working properly?
Im trying to get it to work with Street Fighter, but it looks like I can only get the Service Mode button to work. All other buttons dont register when I put them to true...
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
There are clearly more such bugs, since no one depended on absolute determinism among their normal users. Hopefully rewind will uncover more. Or at least help to understand what we need to save that we don't.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Wow, amazing job, feos!
I'd like to know this, too: "So the "rewind" command goes back one instruction?"
I do a ton of debugging on the ex-MESS part of MAME, and having something like this would be life-changing...
Even if rewinding only goes back an entire frame, that would be very useful too.
By the way, could you upload a build of it somewhere so we can start using it now? :D
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
Thanks!
I tried to explain it a bit better here:
https://github.com/mamedev/mame/pull/2899
As for builds, if they don't provide interim builds (I'm checking that atm they don't), you'll have to build it yourself, as it takes millenniums to build all the drivers. I only have it set up for pacman, just for testing.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Ah, yes, I remember it taking quite a few hours to compile when I was working on it...
Well, I guess I'll have to wait for an official build then! I can't wait to try it.
Keep up the great work!
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
They release at the end of every month, so it's fine. I hope my planned fixes will make it to the release. Their concept is, after release they let all the risky stuff in, so it gets tested by the devs in order to cover the most glaring gaps. Then users will test what's left of the bugs after the release. Only after even those are fixed, we can call a feature solid.
Building it isn't complicated anymore though. Just install the environment they provide and run make.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
That looks great. My compilation was still compressing layout files or something. :D
Do those builds have the rewind feature already? I just tried the debugger on the latest build, but it doesn't seem to have it...
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11475
Location: Lake Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg
I dunno what's in those builds, debugger should always be accessible. Otherwise, once you have everything built once, all the future commits should finish building WAY sooner, so it's a good trade off. Rewind was made off by default, enable it in advanced options through GUI.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
But where do I find the advanced options? :D
Git is such a huge mess... I wouldn't even know where to start looking for the correct files to use. I'll just keep trying the debugger in these builds until something happens when I type rw.