Locked

Former player
Joined: 7/11/2004
Posts: 72
Location: Adelaide
My friend has finished coding it and it will be released hopefully in an hour... im getting him to put in toggle buttons for speed with + and - so you can slow it down and speed it up without going through option menu's hopefully it all works... :D - Volkov
Former player
Joined: 6/27/2004
Posts: 550
Location: New York
This is quite a surprise. In the IRC channel we can't tell if that means that VBA with rerecording and slow motion is almost out, since you said he's programming the "savestate thing". If it really will be released tonight, that's fantastic.
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
We are waiting this release with the source code or a patch.txt . I recommend reading this page: http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1139 It will be nice if he could do what I have written in this page.
Former player
Joined: 7/11/2004
Posts: 72
Location: Adelaide
I'll keep you guys closely updated, it was really late here so he went to bed, if he hasn't finished all those features you posted in the other topic by tomorrow then it'll be within the month. dont worry, i want this so bad, so im really pushing him lol, last i talked to him he said he had doen the "savestate thing" which is when you load and save state's, it continue's the movie recording (button presses) and he said that he wanted me to explain the toggle speed thing so you dont have to go through menu's... apprantley for custom speed it's 5%-1000% but I got him to make it minimum of 1% so you can record at a slower speed... I came up with the idea to use shift+plus and shift+minus to increase or descrease by 5% each time, cus i wouldnt know how snes9x does it like 1ms, 3ms, 5ms, 10ms, 17ms, 20ms, 30ms, 70ms, 150ms, etc.... I'll update when I wake up, nite.. - Volkov
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
Volkov wrote:
I came up with the idea to use shift+plus and shift+minus to increase or descrease by 5% each time, cus i wouldnt know how snes9x does it like 1ms, 3ms, 5ms, 10ms, 17ms, 20ms, 30ms, 70ms, 150ms, etc....
Here's how the unix version of snes9x does: FRAMETIME_INC: unsigned CurSpeed = GetSpeedPercentage(); if(CurSpeed < 10) ++CurSpeed; else if(CurSpeed < 150) CurSpeed += 5; else if(CurSpeed < 200) CurSpeed += 10; else if(CurSpeed < 400) CurSpeed += 20; else if(CurSpeed < 500) CurSpeed += 50; else if(CurSpeed < 1500) CurSpeed += 100; FRAMETIME_DEC: unsigned CurSpeed = GetSpeedPercentage(); if(CurSpeed <= 1) {} else if(CurSpeed <= 10) --CurSpeed; else if(CurSpeed <= 150) CurSpeed -= 5; else if(CurSpeed <= 200) CurSpeed -= 10; else if(CurSpeed <= 400) CurSpeed -= 20; else if(CurSpeed <= 500) CurSpeed -= 50; else CurSpeed -= 100; I find it very useful.
Former player
Joined: 6/27/2004
Posts: 550
Location: New York
So, how's this coming along?
ventuz
He/Him
Player (123)
Joined: 10/4/2004
Posts: 940
Im dying to know how is it going too. Once it is done, those games could use the runs: Zelda: Link's Awakening All Megaman GB series Bionic Commando - Elite Forces probly Hyper Lode Runner
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
I would like to do Double Dragon advance. I always tought the toughest Double Dragon was on Arcade but when this one was released, it appears that this one is tougher. In other words, it is a very challenging Double Dragon :).
Former player
Joined: 3/13/2004
Posts: 706
Location: Elyria/Oberlin, OH
I have a hard time believing that anything's harder than arcade Double Dragon 2, for one simple reason: I'm not even sure if it's possible to beat the last level before time runs out. On the MARP page, this game's top score is a recording from a (IIRC) Japanese player, and he couldn't do it. -Josh
but then you take my 75 perchance chance of winning, if we was to go one-on-one, and then add 66 and two-thirds ch...percents...i got a 141 and two-thirds chance of winning at sacrifice
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
lol is it true!? I have already play this game and yes it's true that it is hard but possible to beat. Btw, what's happening with that VBA+rerecord?
Former player
Joined: 7/11/2004
Posts: 72
Location: Adelaide
So far heaps of versions have been made, fixing bugs, etc, etc, and testing it... After a while of testing at it not working, we decided to go back a bit so i grabbed a copy of VBa, completely unedited, and wtf, the record feature didnt even stay in sync to begin with...i got random dysncs and also at random times the movie will say "Movie end" sometimes 20 seconds in, it was crap... so we ended up trying out lots of stuff, but I guess your only interested in the end result.. Ok, so right now I have a complete working version of re-recording on VBA, it syncs, and you can use savestates and then load them. You can also change throttle speed as much as you want during the recording process, handy ;) However (this i have not tested in the new code) but while *watching* your movie, you cannot change throttle at all...of course this was so in the previous test, but i havnted tested that yet, theres a chance you may be able to speed up while viewing movies... atm your movie plays from a savestate...it was my idea to try what snes does, and start recording from rom start (or "reset") This didnt work so well, but we will have it working... Also, the biggest pain of all, is that you cannot watch a movie, and then start recording again, at anytime (like the snes9x does). This unfortunately means, that if you want to do a speed run, it must be all at once. That means if you do a 10 minute run, which could take hours (no stopping) and you find you could of done something in the first minute faster, you have to start over... Because of that, it's still pretty useless, so I havn't given out copies yet as my friend still has to do programming. Mind you, he'll have it alldone in due time. So far re-recording works brilliantly though.. :D now, there's your update, post comments and if enough people want this, i will be able to tell, and i'll work on getting it faster ;) - Volkov
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
Well that's good news. When you will think all be ok, could you send me a copy so I could test it and report bugs so you'll be able to make corrections?
Former player
Joined: 6/27/2004
Posts: 550
Location: New York
Everybody's definitely looking forward to this. Take your time and get all the bugs fixed(or ask for help here with that), but rest assured your efforts will not be in vain.

Locked