Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Doesn't look like a retroarch shader for me. Let me clarify my last post. I asked someone who was interested in shader X to go find a good retroarch shader X, since bizhawk can handle them, so I could copy it without having to evaluate them myself. Sometimes I don't like adding features without having an expert user advocate. I intend to bake several retroarch filters into bizhawk as optional stages in the video processing, without having to support a GUI for making intricate shader chains. This seems like a good candidate.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I can't find what you're looking for. Maybe someone else will. Also, would not it be easier if you search for it? I don't see why relying on someone else for this task.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced player (773)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 1108
Is it possible to set platform-specific windows sizes? It will be good if it's able to set GG and GB in 3x windows size while keeping other platforms in 2x.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Sure, I could search for it. So can you. But theres other things I can do that you can't, and I prefer to spend time doing those things. Fortranm, what if there were an option that disabled the auto-sizing of the window? Newer SVN versions of bizhawk have some more fine-tuned control over how the resizing happens, so you could make sure that games werent distorted if they mismatched your freely-selected window size. I don't think having a default scale factor per core is something that's going to happen any time soon. This is just one of approximately six million things which someone might want set individually per core, and it's too slippery a slope right now.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
The thing is that I don't know exactly what you want. I pointed out the gsdx stuff and you said it won't work, so I'm not sure what else would work. You know very well what you need, so it's best if you search for that instead. Besides, looking it up on google would only take a few minutes since the correct result would probably appear on the first page. After finding it you could go back to do the things you enjoy spending time into.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
An expert user advocate and a retroarch filter would work.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I posted [URL=http://www.libretro.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1933]here[/URL]. Just waiting for the answer. What do you mean by expert user advocate?
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
Double posting because they replied:
filter wrote:
/* COMPATIBILITY - HLSL compilers - Cg compilers */ // --USER SETTINGS-- // #define overscan_percent_x 0.0 // crop width of image by X%; default is 0.0 #define overscan_percent_y 0.0 // crop height of image by X%; default is 0.0 #define saturation 1.0 // color saturation; default 1.0 #define monitor_gamma 2.2 // gamma setting of your current display; LCD monitors typically have a gamma of 2.2 #define target_gamma 2.4 // the gamma you want the image to have; CRT TVs typically have a gamma of 2.4 #define contrast 1.0 // image contrast; default 1.0 #define luminance 1.0 // image luminance; default 1.0 #define bright_boost 0.0 // adds to the total brightness. Negative values decrease it; Use values between 1.0 (totally white) and -1.0 (totally black); default is 0.0 // --END USER SETTINGS-- // #define one_pixel float2(1.0 / IN.texture_size) struct input { float2 video_size; float2 texture_size; float2 output_size; float frame_count; float frame_direction; float frame_rotation; sampler2D texture; }; void main_vertex ( float4 position : POSITION, float4 color : COLOR, float2 texCoord : TEXCOORD0, uniform float4x4 modelViewProj, uniform input IN, out float4 oPosition : POSITION, out float4 oColor : COLOR, out float2 otexCoord : TEXCOORD ) { oPosition = mul(modelViewProj, position); oColor = color; float2 shift = 0.5 * IN.video_size / IN.texture_size; float2 overscan_coord = (texCoord - shift) * (1.0 - float2(overscan_percent_x / 100.0, overscan_percent_y / 100.0)) + shift; otexCoord = overscan_coord; } struct output { float4 color : COLOR; }; float3 grayscale(float3 col) { // Non-conventional way to do grayscale, but whatever return float3(dot(col, float3(0.2126, 0.7152, 0.0722))); } float4 main_fragment(float2 texCoord : TEXCOORD, uniform input IN) : COLOR { float3 res = tex2D(IN.texture, texCoord).rgb; // sample the texture float3 gamma = float3(1.0 - (target_gamma - monitor_gamma)); // setup ratio of display's gamma vs desired gamma float3 AvgLumin = float3(0.5, 0.5, 0.5); float3 intensity = grayscale(res); // find luminance float3 satColor = lerp(intensity, res, saturation); // apply saturation float3 conColor = lerp(AvgLumin, satColor, contrast); // apply contrast conColor = pow(conColor, 1.0 / float3(gamma)); // Apply gamma correction conColor = saturate(conColor * luminance) + float3(bright_boost); // apply luminance return float4(conColor, 1.0); }
Is this what you want?
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
An expert user advocate tests that filter in retroarch compatible emulators and vouches for its effectiveness and quality, and compares it to other available options; then tests it in svn versions of bizhawk and gives thumbs-up to the feature.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I think I can fill this role then. Have I given you the correct thing this time after all? -EDIT- They updated the Libretro thread. Seems like part of the script I gave you is wrong and now they corrected it.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
this seems correct. theres some snags, this will take some time to work out. be patient
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
Alright. I don't mind waiting if it's for a good purpose. :)
xRavenXP
He/Him
Joined: 4/15/2012
Posts: 116
Location: Brazil
I have hope for the Bizhawk have the core of Playstation, PSXJin unfortunately has many problems and bugs in many games (Xenogears and Threads of Fate by example). Every day dream about it.
I love games and love to record videos (longplays). Visit my Youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/xRavenXP
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I'm looking forward more to the PPSSPP core. I was wondering, are you people waiting for PPSSPP to become 1.0 before adding it to BizHawk? I'd like to know what is holding you guys back.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
There is no reason. It is not top priority.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
I am curious about one thing. If I remember correctly, the purpose of the site is to be a collection of tool-assisted speedruns of as many games as possible while also being entertaining. Then how is it not a priority to make it possible to do runs for yet another game system?
Fog
Experienced player (625)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 459
synnchan wrote:
I am curious about one thing. If I remember correctly, the purpose of the site is to be a collection of tool-assisted speedruns of as many games as possible while also being entertaining. Then how is it not a priority to make it possible to do runs for yet another game system?
Because people have lives outside of TASing
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
Another thing to remember is that making the perfect TASVideos emulator is not the singular purpose of BizHawk. It's been said before, but I'll clarify one more time: Everyone here is interested in PPSSPP, but we're a small team with many things (both BizHawk and otherwise) on our plates. It will come when it comes.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
Fog wrote:
Because people have lives outside of TASing
Lol. I was expecting someone coming up with this kind of ignorant excuse. It's just as lame as it can get.
natt wrote:
Another thing to remember is that making the perfect TASVideos emulator is not the singular purpose of BizHawk. It's been said before, but I'll clarify one more time: Everyone here is interested in PPSSPP, but we're a small team with many things (both BizHawk and otherwise) on our plates. It will come when it comes.
Thank you natt, this seems to be a valid answer.
Fog
Experienced player (625)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 459
synnchan wrote:
Fog wrote:
Because people have lives outside of TASing
Lol. I was expecting someone coming up with this kind of ignorant excuse. It's just as lame as it can get.
How is it ignorant? They're a small team with a finite amount of time and resources.
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
Fog wrote:
How is it ignorant? They're a small team with a finite amount of time and resources.
You could have added this information on your first post as well then, as natt did.
Fog
Experienced player (625)
Joined: 4/5/2014
Posts: 459
synnchan wrote:
Fog wrote:
How is it ignorant? They're a small team with a finite amount of time and resources.
You could have added this information on your first post as well then, as natt did.
Either way, my point is still valid. I'm not going to get into this any more as this is a discussion about development, not a thread for nitpicking arguments.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
zeromus wrote:
There is no reason. It is not top priority.
synnchan wrote:
Then how is it not a priority to make it possible to do runs for yet another game system?
I said it was not a top priority. You read this as as 'not a priority'. Please don't argue with us when you cant understand what we've written, as typing it repeatedly for people like you who demand to know why everything can't be done immediately is one of the main reasons things arent already done. Also, we have lives outside of TASing.
Active player (469)
Joined: 2/1/2014
Posts: 928
Spice this thread up a bit. You guys are doing an awesome job so far with all the bug fixes and current work on the current emulators that are currently in Bizhawk. Love you guys! Keep up the amazing work, its awesome to watch the changelog P
Sonia
She/Her
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 435
Location: Brazil
zeromus wrote:
zeromus wrote:
There is no reason. It is not top priority.
synnchan wrote:
Then how is it not a priority to make it possible to do runs for yet another game system?
I said it was not a top priority. You read this as as 'not a priority'. Please don't argue with us when you cant understand what we've written, as typing it repeatedly for people like you who demand to know why everything can't be done immediately is one of the main reasons things arent already done. Also, we have lives outside of TASing.
This post was not necessary, as I already got my answer earlier. It's incredible how arrogant people here can get when they're asked just simple things. I ask why a core wasn't added yet and this is the kind of reply I get. But whatever.