Post subject: BizHawk Cheat
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
I am trying to use a game shark code in Bizhawk, but from what i heard it is not possible to load it to the emulator, so what i am trying to do is convert game shark code to Lua script. here is the code that i need to convert 0519B848 00000000 0519B938 00000000 Anyone?
Player (74)
Joined: 8/26/2015
Posts: 70
Which console? And is it actually gameshark, or action replay, or codebreaker, or...? Can't easily help without knowing that first
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
I am using it for a N64 emulator and the ROM is Majora's Mask. I don't really know if is a gameshark code or codebreaker i got it from this website http://geckocodes.org/?c=NARE the code i am trying to use from the website is Remove Main Music Track 0519B848 00000000 0519B938 00000000 Thanks for the reply BTW.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
You can't enter cheat codes without knowing what kind of cheat codes they are, anyway. Anyone who gave you a cheat without telling you which kind gave you incomplete information. Perhaps you should do some research on the format of different kinds of codes and see if you can correct your cheat vendor's error.
Player (74)
Joined: 8/26/2015
Posts: 70
geniusmind wrote:
I am using it for a N64 emulator and the ROM is Majora's Mask. I don't really know if is a gameshark code or codebreaker i got it from this website http://geckocodes.org/?c=NARE the code i am trying to use from the website is Remove Main Music Track 0519B848 00000000 0519B938 00000000 Thanks for the reply BTW.
I think that website gives Gecko codes for the Wii Virtual Console, which won't be compatible with other N64 emulation. I don't know how the VC handles memory, but if you can find a base address where the emulated console's memory starts, you might be able to convert these codes. Assuming it is indeed a Gecko code, this code does the following. Relative to the VC memory, rather than emulated memory:
  • Set the DWORD (4 bytes) at 0x119B848 to 0
  • Set the DWORD (4 bytes) at 0x119B938 to 0
Using the infinite health code as an anchor, this MIGHT work, but there are no guarantees:
8127E768 0000
8127E76A 0000

8127E858 0000
8127E85A 0000
What would be better is for you to find the memory address where your health is stored and use that to calculate your offset; I've done this just from codes I've found on the internet, and can't verify the correctness of any of them, or version differences. My working is below:
Health in VC: 110C786
Health in GS: 1EF6A6
Offset: F1D0E0

DWORD 1: 119B848 - F1D0E0 = 27E768
DWORD 2: 119B938 - F1D0E0 = 27E858

(N64 gameshark can only write 16bit at a time, so split each DWORD)
---- Details on how each code type works:
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
so i was wrong all this time. the real gameshark codes are 811A3238 03E0 811A323A 0008 811A323C 0000 811A323E 0000 i just need to convert them so bizhawk could read them as cheats. any ideas? sorry i am a noob and have much to learn
Lil_Gecko
He/Him
Player (94)
Joined: 4/7/2011
Posts: 520
I'm assuming it's working the same than PSX gameshark codes. You don't need lua there in this case. Just enter 11A3238 with value 03E0 11A323A with value 0008 11A323C with value 0000 11A323E with value 0000 in the cheat menu. Haven't tested it though.
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
That is not working, this is a N64 cheat. I am on the cheat window and trying to input the data into the window but it's not letting me. This is what i am doing under new cheat. address 0x11A3238 value 030 for some reason the E (03E0) cannot be entered compare 0x left blank domain RDRAM size 2 Bites Display As unsigned Big Endian left unchecked. What exactly am i doing wrong here?
Lil_Gecko
He/Him
Player (94)
Joined: 4/7/2011
Posts: 520
If you cannot enter the E it's because you're in "unsigned" you should display as Hex Also, not sure about the domain. Lemme check.
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
cool thanx
Lil_Gecko
He/Him
Player (94)
Joined: 4/7/2011
Posts: 520
Nope. Domain seems fine. I tried a few gameshark codes like health and ruppees and they work fine by removing the first 80 like for PSX. Where did you get these codes from ?
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
someone game them to me on some other website. ive tried the gameshark code using an emulator called project 64 and it worked just fine. i just need to use them using bizhawk
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
can you send me a screenshot of the settings you just used for the game?
Lil_Gecko
He/Him
Player (94)
Joined: 4/7/2011
Posts: 520
I didn't touch the settings at all. That's the first time I'm using BizHawk with N64. For some reasons the cheats don't seem to work on my computer if I put them in 2 bytes. Try in 1 byte, display as Hex. 1A3238 with value 03 1A3239 with value E0 1A323A with value 00 1A323B with value 08 1A323C with value 00 1A323D with value 00 1A323E with value 00 1A323F with value 00 That removes the music in the Select File screen for me.
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
I am guessing domain as DRAM correct?
Lil_Gecko
He/Him
Player (94)
Joined: 4/7/2011
Posts: 520
yes
geniusmind
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2012
Posts: 38
Location: new york
It worked, finally took me days to figure this out. Thank You so much man, I really appreciated
Lil_Gecko
He/Him
Player (94)
Joined: 4/7/2011
Posts: 520
No problem :)