Post subject: [Hints] How to Capture Doom for Publishing
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
- Get PrBoom-Plus - Use .kkapture Version 1.02 and capture at 35.0 FPS - While capturing, turn off anti-virus as it sometimes interferes with .kkapture - Use glboom and make sure it is in window mode - Use the follow settings in glboom-plus.cfg
demo_smoothturns              1
videomode                 "32bit"
use_gl_surface                1
screen_resolution         "2560x1600"
usegamma                      0
uncapped_framerate            1
gl_vsync                      0
gl_sprite_filter              4
gl_texture_filter_anisotropic     4
hudadd_demoprogressbar        0
render_aspect                 3
render_stretch_hud            1
render_multisampling          8
gl_texture_hqresize           1
gl_texture_hqresize_textures     3
gl_texture_hqresize_sprites     3
gl_texture_hqresize_patches     3
Note: You need to manually change the screen_resolution since the options are not there in the game itself - Get the ogg sound pack of SC-55 and modify glboom-plus.cfg to use the music - Capture twice, once for YouTube and 512kb file (2880x2160), and once for regular file and optionally high resolution file (2560x1600) - Use AreaResize to downscale to 512kb file or regular file. Get it here: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?kn56wh7r81vk2rx - The resolution for 512kb file is 320x240 while the resolution for regular file is 320x200 - For YouTube, make sure you add ChangeFPS(60) to change the frame rate to 60 FPS since it is choppy at 30 FPS Here is a comparison of downscale methods where it shows AreaResize is the best: http://imgur.com/a/NkFVl
Post subject: Re: [Hints] How to Capture Doom for Publishing
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
At one time I was a contributor to the PrBoom-Plus project and implemented an exact capture system in it. If that code is still there and still works, it would be superior to kkapture.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
And it doesn't capture the melt effect apparently. EDIT: For the reference:
# Video capture encoding settings
cap_soundcommand          "oggenc2 -r -R %s -q 10 - -o output.ogg"
cap_videocommand          "x264 -o output.mp4 --crf 0 --muxer mp4 --demuxer raw --input-csp rgb --output-csp rgb --input-depth 8 --input-res %wx%h --fps 35 -"
cap_muxcommand            "mkvmerge -o %f output.mp4 output.ogg"
cap_tempfile1             "output.ogg"
cap_tempfile2             "output.mp4"
cap_remove_tempfiles          0
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Re: [Hints] How to Capture Doom for Publishing
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
natt wrote:
At one time I was a contributor to the PrBoom-Plus project and implemented an exact capture system in it. If that code is still there and still works, it would be superior to kkapture.
That would be great! Only reason I don't use the internal capture was due to the melt effect is missing. This is being captured by .kkapture though. Maybe your code didn't get to the stable releases =/.
Post subject: Re: [Hints] How to Capture Doom for Publishing
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
Aktan wrote:
natt wrote:
At one time I was a contributor to the PrBoom-Plus project and implemented an exact capture system in it. If that code is still there and still works, it would be superior to kkapture.
That would be great! Only reason I don't use the internal capture was due to the melt effect is missing. This is being captured by .kkapture though. Maybe your code didn't get to the stable releases =/.
So you're wasting time and getting inferior output just to get that stupid melt? Ok, have fun.
Post subject: Re: [Hints] How to Capture Doom for Publishing
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
natt wrote:
So you're wasting time and getting inferior output just to get that stupid melt? Ok, have fun.
Exactly. Can there be a way to capture it internally?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Re: [Hints] How to Capture Doom for Publishing
Lex
Joined: 6/25/2007
Posts: 732
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
natt wrote:
Aktan wrote:
natt wrote:
At one time I was a contributor to the PrBoom-Plus project and implemented an exact capture system in it. If that code is still there and still works, it would be superior to kkapture.
That would be great! Only reason I don't use the internal capture was due to the melt effect is missing. This is being captured by .kkapture though. Maybe your code didn't get to the stable releases =/.
So you're wasting time and getting inferior output just to get that stupid melt? Ok, have fun.
To be fair, the melt effect is an integral part of the game's visual appeal. Also, how does kkapture produce inferior output if each frame is captured fully? It hooks the target application's video output to capture every frame accurately, if I understand it correctly. I might be wrong, and I genuinely desire to be educated.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
https://github.com/vadosnaprimer/prboom-plus/releases/tag/feos1 https://github.com/vadosnaprimer/prboom-plus/releases/tag/feos2 Wipe effect included in the video. Native 320x200 resolution with minimal goodizers is possible and preconfigured. Tiny ffmpeg included. Trevor soundfont included (gain 500 may be too much?). Dump video like this:
prboom-plus -iwad YourWADFileHere.wad -timedemo YourDemoFileHere.lmp -viddump video.avi
Tell me which config tweaks we need to change for this to become official. Looks pretty damn close to native if you ask me: DOSBox dump PrBoom dump PS: This is meant to be pixel accurate to native Doom look, with shrinking width to be 4/3 of height in post. Can't trust that job to prboom since non-square pixels won't look right at low resolutions.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.