Post subject: Encode error reports
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
For any issue that might happen with encodes, my goal (at least consciously) has always been to help preventing them in future, because actual reencoding is annoying, and we don't want bad surprises. So to make it most productive, here's how a good error report is done:
  • Point out an error.
  • Explain why is it bad (proofs, videos, images, examples).
  • Evaluate how fatal it is, whether reencoding is outright required, or just desired.
  • Come up with a solution proposal.
Then together we will figure out what will be documented about the issue in question (on wiki or in a dedicated thread), and I'll probably add the solution to the universal encoding script I maintain (partly for work, partly for reference). Do not include emotions or accusation in your report, because that makes it less productive in the end. Don't assume the problem is already known and ignored. Let's get info provided, workflow fixed, and reencoders motivated!
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Player, Senior Publisher (221)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1180
Location: Luxembourg
I noticed the PS1 SCPH1000 bootup logo looks really bad for around two seconds: It's even worse when deinterlaced. (SEIZURE WARNING) (note: 30 FPS, original is 60 FPS) This is a pretty big issue. However, if you want to keep your video interlaced (see first image), the solution is thankfully simple:
Language: Avisynth

vid = AVISource("MGSI_1.avi") FreezeFrame(vid, 289, 421, 288)
In this example, 289 is the first frame the screw-up happens, while 421 is the last frame of that happening. 288 is the last "clean" frame just before the screw-up. This effectively replaces frames 289 to 421 with frame 288, while the audio remains unaltered. If you deinterlaced your video beforehand, well...
Language: Avisynth

vid = AVISource("MGSI_1deint.avi", audio=false) audio = WAVSource("MGSI_1deint.avi") a = vid.Trim(0, 287) # pre-screwup c = vid.Trim(422, 0) # post-screwup d = vid.Trim(286, 287) # fix screwup vidfixed = a + d + d + d + d + d + *insert 60 more d's* + d + c AudioDub(vidfixed, audio)
As you can see, you actually need 2 frames to fix the screwup that happens between frames 288 and 421 to keep consistency with the rest of the video. There may be a better solution , but it works. The reason why it's frame 288 instead of frame 289 in this example is because the video would be one frame too long otherwise. After all, we want to keep the same frame count. For both solutions, you can re-save them as AVI (I recommend that, actually) with a lossless codec of your choice (e.g. Lagarith). For the record, you don't have to do this when dealing with SCPH1001 (probably not even SCPH1002) or with newer PS1 BIOSes (SCPH5500-5502, etc).
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
The question is, how does it look on tv? BTW I don't think deinterlacing psx bios is required since it is weird: 60 fps interlaced in octochock, not 30. So when running at full fps, interlacing isn't noticeable, while deinterlacing creates various artifacts or an blurred picture.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Player, Senior Publisher (221)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1180
Location: Luxembourg
feos wrote:
The question is, how does it look on tv?
I found two videos related to the SCPH1000 BIOS in some way: One with a camcorder (using a modded PS1, but that's beside the point). One with a crappy capture card. As it seems, in both cases, the bootup logo doesn't screw up at all (i.e. fully opaque).
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
I think a sane option would be to blend fields in this case: it'll at least be semi-transparent.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3514)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2713
Location: US
So as it turns out Atari 7800 was using the wrong palette until now. It was using the A2600 palette instead of the A7800 palette. So, all A7800 runs look slightly wrong. Here is Choplifter for example in previous versions (left) and current Dev Build (right.) A quick google search reveals that the one on the right is how choplifter should look (and how the native EMU7800 emulator actually looks.) So I think at some point the 3 A7800 runs will need new encodes. vvvvvv Emulation didn't change otherwise so sync should not be an issue.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
Alyosha wrote:
So I think at some point the 3 A7800 runs will need new encodes.
If they sync then sure.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
This may be an entire waste of time, by not checking something on version 1.11.9.1 of BizHawk (see bottom) BizHawk pre-whatever version the Commodore 64 got fixed on. Using The Great Giana Sisters as the example. 24 from the left 28 from the right 21 from the top 36 from the bottom should be cropped off. Leaving with the resolution of 352x228 Or in other words:
Language: AviSynth

crop(24,28,352,228)
The black border is part of 1.11.3 The White border is 1.11.9.1 Yay... I have to go fix C64anabalt again... Oh the other issue, is the screen resolution is 320x200... or to be exact this: So in other words it could be backwards in saying that 1.11.9.1 is wrong, and older versions like 1.11.3 is right. Yeah, C64 defaults to SmallProportional on 1.11.9.1 not Normal... so ignore that.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
fsvgm777 wrote:
I noticed the PS1 SCPH1000 bootup logo looks really bad for around two seconds: It's even worse when deinterlaced. (SEIZURE WARNING) (note: 30 FPS, original is 60 FPS) This is a pretty big issue. However, if you want to keep your video interlaced (see first image), the solution is thankfully simple:
Language: Avisynth

vid = AVISource("MGSI_1.avi") FreezeFrame(vid, 289, 421, 288)
In this example, 289 is the first frame the screw-up happens, while 421 is the last frame of that happening. 288 is the last "clean" frame just before the screw-up. This effectively replaces frames 289 to 421 with frame 288, while the audio remains unaltered. If you deinterlaced your video beforehand, well...
Language: Avisynth

vid = AVISource("MGSI_1deint.avi", audio=false) audio = WAVSource("MGSI_1deint.avi") a = vid.Trim(0, 287) # pre-screwup c = vid.Trim(422, 0) # post-screwup d = vid.Trim(286, 287) # fix screwup vidfixed = a + d + d + d + d + d + *insert 60 more d's* + d + c AudioDub(vidfixed, audio)
As you can see, you actually need 2 frames to fix the screwup that happens between frames 288 and 421 to keep consistency with the rest of the video. There may be a better solution , but it works. The reason why it's frame 288 instead of frame 289 in this example is because the video would be one frame too long otherwise. After all, we want to keep the same frame count. For both solutions, you can re-save them as AVI (I recommend that, actually) with a lossless codec of your choice (e.g. Lagarith). For the record, you don't have to do this when dealing with SCPH1001 (probably not even SCPH1002) or with newer PS1 BIOSes (SCPH5500-5502, etc).
I should chime in about the real problem. The real problem is that the option "Weave" in deinterlacing for PSX core randomly swap fields. The real solution is to change the deinterlacing to Bob and use the following code in AviSynth:
Language: avisynth

SeparateFields() SelectEven() Weave()
Edit: On second read, this may be a different problem, oops, but I'll leave this here to note the problem with PSX core.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
Alyosha wrote:
It was using the A2600 palette instead of the A7800 palette. So I think at some point the 3 A7800 runs will need new encodes.
I hope the 3 you mean is everything but Ninja Golf, as that Crashes on me for some reason when loading back the movie file in 1.12.0. I have the 3 of the 4 dumped.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3514)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2713
Location: US
I meant all the 7800 games but I guess I can only count to 3 >_> I'll look into ninja golf and see what happened.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
Oh boy, oh great. Somewhere between the period of our last 50fps encode (Giana Sisters) and now. YouTube has updated their stuff for watching it back at the lower res which means half framerate... right? Wrong. YouTube has made a mistake in their code where everything is doubled up when watching back at the should be halved framerate (25fps) compared to that of 30fps (halved 60) which in comparison is not doubling up. They cut the in-between crap but added in the doubling up and skipping the other frame (1,2,3,4,5 becomes 1,1,5,5,9,9 instead of 1,3,5,7,9). What do? Nothing... Absolutely nothing. Yell at YouTube... idk. Game that runs at half framerate to begin with are fine. Link to video
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
fsvgm777
She/Her
Player, Senior Publisher (221)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1180
Location: Luxembourg
To clarify what Spikestuff is saying, the most recent 50 FPS videos aren't actually at 25 FPS at 480p or lower (even though the Stats for nerds say otherwise). Instead, they are actually at half that (i.e. 12.5 FPS). A good way of checking is the Pong sequence in TiTAN's Overdrive 2 demo. You'll notice that, going frame by frame, it appears to skip every other frame at 480p or lower instead of the intended 25. 720p50 is fine. (or view Spikestuff's test above) So right now, we have the following (where 1 = frame displayed and 0 = frame not displayed): 720p50 or higher: 1111111111111111111111... 480p or lower: 100010001000100010001... instead of: 720p50 or higher: 1111111111111111111111... 480p or lower: 101010101010101010101... Recent 60 FPS videos are not affected by this. Indeed, they actually are at 30 FPS when at 480p or lower and 60 FPS at 720p or higher.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3514)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2713
Location: US
Finally had a chance to get Ninja Golf working and fix A7800 save states. Here is a bk2 that runs in the current dev build of BizHawk It should be usable to make a new encode for Ninja Golf that has correct color palette. http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/38458302684398268 It should probably also replace the published movie file since it works in current builds and won't cause crashes but I guess that's up to you.
Post subject: YouTube and PAL (50fps) games. Part 2.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
They fixed their shit. The end: Link to video You have to reupload your video that you uploaded during that time frame as the video remains bugged out (see the other video).
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Post subject: We go from 50fps issues to 3D Player issues.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
Thanks YouTube for your wonderful HTML5 player where in some point of your damn update you completely nerfed 3D viewing. This effects every, single damn Virtual Boy YouTube encode that is part of TASVideos. Only solution (cause you have to factor in the people who don't wear the glasses) is to make it a single screen encode. The other option. Yelling at YouTube on Social Media. Based Flash Player still works and has it's fifty million options still available.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
I use plugins that force flash >_>
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
Welp I figured out what happened an no one is going to like this response... Link to video We need someone to access TASVideosChannel physically. Go into the video edit and select This video is 3D in order for it to be 3D again. The process takes a bit to go through then becomes a 3D video again. I hope we have something for SystemTVCControl where we can bypass requiring someone to get into it. http://i.imgur.com/gyL49Jr.png And yes, HTML5 still displays 3D incorrectly. So yay wearing glasses backwards. <FluffyTheMoth> "The 3D tick box will be soon deprecated. Please refer to this Help Centre article for instructions on how to specify metadata for uploading 3D files."
ffmpeg -i input_file.mkv -c copy -metadata:s:v:0 stereo_mode=1 output_file.mkv
So basically they'll be killing that and well tags which is already done... If this works as a temporary solution to this, we should use it, just means we (I) have to reencode it all. If it's permanent before the ending of it (see death of annotations) then we should use it. I hate everything.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Post subject: YouTube is a great platform /s
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Expert player, Publisher (2254)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6324
Location: The land down under.
First let me start with this. This is a known YouTube bug. Last night I did a batch to make public 6 movies. The 6 movies are from the VBoy listed below: [1510] Vboy Virtual Boy Wario Land by adelikat in 19:19.50 [1528] Vboy Virtual Boy Wario Land by adelikat in 18:39.56 [1566] Vboy Virtual Boy Wario Land "best ending" by adelikat in 21:53.28 [1542] Vboy Red Alarm by Ryuto in 14:07.54 [3142] Vboy Nester's Funky Bowling by dekutony in 01:09.26 [3152] Vboy Nester's Funky Bowling by Spikestuff, dekutony in 01:06.79 The lucky last one (bolded) is the one that is visible to subscribers and people viewing the channel. The other five are in limbo. The videos are allegedly deleted. This is a lie if you click one of those "deleted videos" and you'll be transported to the limbo encode. But people who (prepares the gun) Subscribe and use the Bell icon to get push notifications on the newest public video will avoid this issue. (shoots himself) Sometimes this issue resolves itself in an hour to a day to not even showing up on the subscription feed and then suddenly showing up one day on the account. Currently at this time those encodes are have been in limbo for 22 hours. The videos are public it's just that YouTube is so great. You cannot unlist/private the videos and make them public again. It will not work. The solution is two fold. Wait or reencode. The risk with reencoding is that you have a chance to lose another encode. I will be testing in a bit after the 24 hour period by throwing 6 more reencodes up to see if YouTube gobbles it up. I'll keep you posted on that with an edit. And 24hours went by and the 6 other reencodes went live and live it did just that. No bloody issues what-so-ever. Guess we'll have to wait. fsvgm actually speculates that it's an October 31st upload issue (where everything is gone forever) but we'll see in the next coming days/weeks. I mean it took a few months for the 50fps bug to be fixed on the videos that had that bug. After the patch was rolled out. Edit: Welp, I did infact wait. YouTube nuked 'em. GUESS WHAT I HAD IN RESERVES? ALL OF THE RAWS TO THIS.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. These colours are pretty neato, and also these.
Editor, Experienced player (548)
Joined: 10/22/2016
Posts: 581
Location: Argentina
The actual YT stream of this movie looks corrupted/blurry. [1713] Genesis Sonic the Hedgehog 3 "Competition" by nitsuja & mmarks in 02:01.05 Upd: Stovent takes care of this.
You can see more TASes on my youtube channel
EZGames69
He/They
Expert player, Publisher, Reviewer (3941)
Joined: 5/29/2017
Posts: 2701
Location: Michigan
The Youtube Encode for [1299] SNES Contra III: The Alien Wars "game end glitch" by Cpadolf in 03:20.38 doesnt seem to play audio correctly, comparing the gun shots and even bomb sound effect to somthing like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bZMP56gtwg
[14:15] <feos> WinDOES what DOSn't 12:33:44 PM <Mothrayas> "I got an oof with my game!" Mothrayas Today at 12:22: <Colin> thank you for supporting noble causes such as my feet MemoryTAS Today at 11:55 AM: you wouldn't know beauty if it slapped you in the face with a giant fish [Today at 4:51 PM] Mothrayas: although if you like your own tweets that's the online equivalent of sniffing your own farts and probably tells a lot about you as a person MemoryTAS Today at 7:01 PM: But I exert big staff energy honestly lol Samsara Today at 1:20 PM: wouldn't ACE in a real life TAS just stand for Actually Cease Existing
fsvgm777
She/Her
Player, Senior Publisher (221)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1180
Location: Luxembourg
EZGames69 wrote:
The Youtube Encode for [1299] SNES Contra III: The Alien Wars "game end glitch" by Cpadolf in 03:20.38 doesnt seem to play audio correctly, comparing the gun shots and even bomb sound effect to somthing like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bZMP56gtwg
Snes9X 1.43's audio emulation is notoriously shoddy in games developed by Konami (and is shoddy overall), so it cannot be fixed.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.
EZGames69
He/They
Expert player, Publisher, Reviewer (3941)
Joined: 5/29/2017
Posts: 2701
Location: Michigan
so why does [787] SNES Contra III: The Alien Wars "2 players" by hero of the day in 13:03.32 sound much better than cpadof's tas? they both use 1.43. I even dumped cpadof's TAS on snes9x-1.43-rerecording-svn10: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWWsRXx2sYc. and the audio is just fine. (I also followed the dumping guide for snes9x movies)
[14:15] <feos> WinDOES what DOSn't 12:33:44 PM <Mothrayas> "I got an oof with my game!" Mothrayas Today at 12:22: <Colin> thank you for supporting noble causes such as my feet MemoryTAS Today at 11:55 AM: you wouldn't know beauty if it slapped you in the face with a giant fish [Today at 4:51 PM] Mothrayas: although if you like your own tweets that's the online equivalent of sniffing your own farts and probably tells a lot about you as a person MemoryTAS Today at 7:01 PM: But I exert big staff energy honestly lol Samsara Today at 1:20 PM: wouldn't ACE in a real life TAS just stand for Actually Cease Existing
Skilled player (1431)
Joined: 11/26/2011
Posts: 655
Location: RU
I show you how deep the rabbit hole goes. Current projects: NES: Tetris "fastest 999999" (improvement, with r57shell) Genesis: Adventures of Batman & Robin (with Truncated); Pocahontas; Comix Zone (improvement); Mickey Mania (improvement); RoboCop versus The Terminator (improvement); Gargoyles (with feos)
EZGames69
He/They
Expert player, Publisher, Reviewer (3941)
Joined: 5/29/2017
Posts: 2701
Location: Michigan
There’s an entire page dedicated to no youtube TASes. http://tasvideos.org/NoYoutube.html
[14:15] <feos> WinDOES what DOSn't 12:33:44 PM <Mothrayas> "I got an oof with my game!" Mothrayas Today at 12:22: <Colin> thank you for supporting noble causes such as my feet MemoryTAS Today at 11:55 AM: you wouldn't know beauty if it slapped you in the face with a giant fish [Today at 4:51 PM] Mothrayas: although if you like your own tweets that's the online equivalent of sniffing your own farts and probably tells a lot about you as a person MemoryTAS Today at 7:01 PM: But I exert big staff energy honestly lol Samsara Today at 1:20 PM: wouldn't ACE in a real life TAS just stand for Actually Cease Existing