Inferred from iNES header; potentially wrong
------
BEGIN NES rom analysis:
Found iNES header:
pr=128,ch=128,wr=8,vr=0,ba=0,pa=0|1,brd=MAPPER010,sys=
Since this is iNES we can (somewhat) confidently parse PRG/CHR banks to hash.
headerless rom hash: SHA1:718CA80AF63338E259D16DC1116B983D10A8400D
headerless rom hash: MD5:B9BF590722289C1ED7F8EEEDF297AB46
Could not locate game in bizhawk gamedb
Could not locate game in nescartdb
Attempting inference from iNES header
Chose board from iNES heuristics:
pr=128,ch=128,wr=8,vr=0,ba=0,pa=0|1,brd=MAPPER010,sys=
Final game detection results:
pr=128,ch=128,wr=8,vr=0,ba=0,pa=0|1,brd=MAPPER010,sys=
""
Implemented by: class PxROM_FxROM
END NES rom analysis
------
I don't know if this is a bug or intentional, so I'll just mention it here. Also, this is specifically about the PC Engine core.
Anyway, there are a lot of PC Engine games with debug cheats that require you to hold buttons before booting the console. The problem is that Bizhawk doesn't seem to register you are holding any buttons if you do it before a core is loaded. Normally, with other systems, all you have to do is reset the game while holding the buttons and it would work. But in the case of the PC Engine, the console itself doesn't have a reset button, so Bizhawk doesn't have a reset button either. The only way to "reset" a game is by rebooting the core, which of course, ignores any buttons being held.
I tried other emulators (like Ootake and Magic Engine) and it recognizes buttons being held before a game is loaded, so I suppose this is a Bizhawk-only issue.
Is there be a workaround for this?
Checking with a good ROM, there does seem to be another issue which causes a green screen. The iNES header reports MAPPER010 (MMC4), but Punch Out uses MAPPER009 (MMC2). Simply changing byte 0x6 of the ROM header from 0xA0 to 0x90 will correct this issue.
CountPerOp refers to a hacky number that is forced to be the amount of cpu cycles every instruction takes. This is not at all accurate to console, but mupen has bad timings everywhere so this can help some games. Our version of mupen (April 28, 2013) predates this hack option (added on December 13, 2013).
Does the same issue occur with the Ares64 core?
Yes, I finished a race went back to the menu and in the challenge menu inputs are ignored. Althought with Ares you can actually see that the core doesn't get anymore inputs at this point. With Mupenplus and Angrylion all Frames were green.
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 169
Location: San Francisco
I was trying to open a Nintendo DS ROM into Bizhawk 2.8, but I accidentally set the core to Nintendo DSi. Now, I can't change it back to Nintendo DS core because the firmware is not found.
Update: Fixed that problem by editing true on DSi mode on config file to false.
Planned runs:
Marble Madness (Arcade, Genesis J, GG/SMS)
Proposed:
Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze)
Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal mode)
Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions)
In progress: Grand Poo World 3 (all exits hard mode)
Already open issues on it, it's not really resolvable without UI to change sync settings without the core loaded (which is an open PR). You can manually change settings in the config file in the meantime, or just give it all the firmware it's requesting.
Joined: 8/30/2020
Posts: 106
Location: Sydney, Australia
ReyVGM wrote:
I don't know if this is a bug or intentional, so I'll just mention it here. Also, this is specifically about the PC Engine core.
Anyway, there are a lot of PC Engine games with debug cheats that require you to hold buttons before booting the console. The problem is that Bizhawk doesn't seem to register you are holding any buttons if you do it before a core is loaded. Normally, with other systems, all you have to do is reset the game while holding the buttons and it would work. But in the case of the PC Engine, the console itself doesn't have a reset button, so Bizhawk doesn't have a reset button either. The only way to "reset" a game is by rebooting the core, which of course, ignores any buttons being held.
I tried other emulators (like Ootake and Magic Engine) and it recognizes buttons being held before a game is loaded, so I suppose this is a Bizhawk-only issue.
Is there be a workaround for this?
Could not reproduce. Buttons bound to keyboard or gamepad can be held through core restart. If you need a workaround, pause before restarting, then hold the buttons (or use the Virtual Pads), then unpause.
I contribute to BizHawk as Linux/cross-platform lead, testing and automation lead, and UI designer. This year, I'm experimenting with streaming BizHawk development on Twitch. nope
Links to find me elsewhere and to some of my side projects are on my personal site. I will respond on Discord faster than to PMs on this site.
Hey look buddy, I'm an engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is software," because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems. For instance, how am I gonna stop some high-wattage thread-ripping monster of a CPU dead in its tracks? The answer: use code. And if that don't work? Use more code.
As of version 2.8, the MelonDS core is unable to save. Save states work as intended and it'll save ingame without any error, but nothing is created in the SaveRAM folder (and yes, my paths are fine), and as such no save is found upon reloading the core or doing a hard reset (save is still around when doing a soft reset, though)
So until it's fixed, gotta use save states only. The MelonDS forums suggest updating the romlist.bin file, but I can find no such file in the Bizhawk folders (which might be the issue), and I wouldn't know where to put it anyway
May Time, ever fleeting, forgive us
We who have forsaken your Song, and buried our future
As of version 2.8, the MelonDS core is unable to save. Save states work as intended and it'll save ingame without any error, but nothing is created in the SaveRAM folder (and yes, my paths are fine), and as such no save is found upon reloading the core or doing a hard reset (save is still around when doing a soft reset, though)
So until it's fixed, gotta use save states only. The MelonDS forums suggest updating the romlist.bin file, but I can find no such file in the Bizhawk folders (which might be the issue), and I wouldn't know where to put it anyway
Thank your very much! In the future, I'll compare any ROM not working with information found on DAT-o-MATIC first.
Checking with a good ROM, there does seem to be another issue which causes a green screen. The iNES header reports MAPPER010 (MMC4), but Punch Out uses MAPPER009 (MMC2). Simply changing byte 0x6 of the ROM header from 0xA0 to 0x90 will correct this issue.
I'm playing a DS game and when I save my game, it says my game was saved but when I reboot the game, the save is gone and I have to start over. Tried both Pokemon Diamond and HeartGold.
Although, randomly it did seem to save ONE TIME. I was playing for like 45 minutes then I saved. Later I booted it back up and my save file was there but it said 0:03 which is when I attempted to save earlier, but not 0:45 like it should have been. I was messing with some settings and stuff. I think I even flushed SaveRAM around that time but not sure if that had anything to do with it.
It seems to save just fine when I play a GBA game, though.
I'm playing a DS game and when I save my game, it says my game was saved but when I reboot the game, the save is gone and I have to start over. Tried both Pokemon Diamond and HeartGold.
Although, randomly it did seem to save ONE TIME. I was playing for like 45 minutes then I saved. Later I booted it back up and my save file was there but it said 0:03 which is when I attempted to save earlier, but not 0:45 like it should have been. I was messing with some settings and stuff. I think I even flushed SaveRAM around that time but not sure if that had anything to do with it.
It seems to save just fine when I play a GBA game, though.
I don't know if anyone posted this before, but i'm posting anyway
I was looking to the sound channels with Snes9x core, but i found that disabling sound channels doesn't work, and disabling channel 1 disables all sound (Bizhawk 2.8)
(or it's only on me?)
Currently making a route for Super Bomberman 5 200%
TASes i'm planning: aero fighters, tg3000 (again), gradius 3, bust a move, bust a move plus, gradius rebirth, smg, smg2, mp9, gh3 (wii)
I don't know if anyone posted this before, but i'm posting anyway
I was looking to the sound channels with Snes9x core, but i found that disabling sound channels doesn't work, and disabling channel 1 disables all sound (Bizhawk 2.8)
(or it's only on me?)
I contribute to BizHawk as Linux/cross-platform lead, testing and automation lead, and UI designer. This year, I'm experimenting with streaming BizHawk development on Twitch. nope
Links to find me elsewhere and to some of my side projects are on my personal site. I will respond on Discord faster than to PMs on this site.
Hey look buddy, I'm an engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is software," because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems. For instance, how am I gonna stop some high-wattage thread-ripping monster of a CPU dead in its tracks? The answer: use code. And if that don't work? Use more code.
Joined: 7/3/2021
Posts: 147
Location: Udaipur, Rajasthan, India, God'sBeautifulWorld
I'm facing a problem while opening my TAS Project.
I made the TAS in the older version of the game and was opening the project in the newer version of the game but this was showing.
The names of both the versions of the game are same.
Joined: 8/30/2020
Posts: 106
Location: Sydney, Australia
MrTASer wrote:
I'm facing a problem while opening my TAS Project.
I made the TAS in the older version of the game and was opening the project in the newer version of the game but this was showing.
The names of both the versions of the game are same.
Are you able to load the older revision and .tasproj, export as .bk2, load the newer revision, and import .bk2?
I contribute to BizHawk as Linux/cross-platform lead, testing and automation lead, and UI designer. This year, I'm experimenting with streaming BizHawk development on Twitch. nope
Links to find me elsewhere and to some of my side projects are on my personal site. I will respond on Discord faster than to PMs on this site.
Hey look buddy, I'm an engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is software," because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems. For instance, how am I gonna stop some high-wattage thread-ripping monster of a CPU dead in its tracks? The answer: use code. And if that don't work? Use more code.