1 2
10 11 12
18 19
Joined: 4/26/2004
Posts: 213
Location: Montréal, Québec
nitsuja wrote:
OK. Actually I had some questions: I've heard people say that using a 3-button controller setup makes desync less likely. Is this true? I've seen nothing to support that it is, but maybe it matters more for certain games? and about these lines in state.cpp:
		z80_Reset(&M_Z80);
//		main68k_reset();
//		YM2612ResetChip(0);
//		Reset_VDP();
When I comment out the first line, everything still work fine as far as I can tell. Do you know if it was necessary for something? Were the two lines in the middle already commented out, or did you disable them? When I uncomment the last line, the freezes stop happening. (My test was Ecco the Dolphin, loading lots of save states across different sound samples that were playing - each load had about a 5% chance of freezing the emulated CPU... does this happen for anyone else?) But ideally the loading code shouldn't have to reset anything except by loading directly into it, unless... maybe these subsystems can't affect gameplay? I'm not exactly sure what they do, but it seems to be sound stuff.
These lines were already commented. The first line is indeed strange. It reset the processor and later restore it's state. About YM2612ResetChip(0), this function doesn't exist. However there is a function called YM2612_Reset(). Maybe it was a typo by the author. This chip is about sound stuff. VDP is gfx stuff. Id you look at other reset functions, the functions and the order they are called are different. For example in Reset_Genesis :
	M68K_Reset(0);
	Z80_Reset();
	Reset_VDP();
	YM2612_Reset();
Player (80)
Joined: 3/11/2005
Posts: 352
Location: Oregon
The latest improvement doesn't seem to register the down button (whatever it's assigned to) during manual frame advance. It works fine at low and normal speed. No other buttons are wierd during manual frame advance.
ideamagnate| .seen aqfaq <nothing happens> DK64_MASTER| .seen nesvideoagent * DK64_MASTER slaps forehead
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1300)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
IdeaMagnate wrote:
The latest improvement doesn't seem to register the down button (whatever it's assigned to) during manual frame advance. It works fine at low and normal speed. No other buttons are wierd during manual frame advance.
It works fine for me, so I think something must be weird either with your settings or with your keyboard. (Are you sure you can assign down and frame advance to anything and they still won't work together, and that down doesn't show in the input display doing that?) It would help to see your Gens.cfg file.
Player (80)
Joined: 3/11/2005
Posts: 352
Location: Oregon
You're right. It's my keyboard.
ideamagnate| .seen aqfaq <nothing happens> DK64_MASTER| .seen nesvideoagent * DK64_MASTER slaps forehead
Former player
Joined: 3/30/2004
Posts: 359
Location: Borlänge - Sweden
I dont know about you guys, but nitsujas modified gens crashes for me when I hit "record new movie".
Wheeeehaaa.. Yaaayy..
Former player
Joined: 8/15/2004
Posts: 422
Location: Minnesota
Frenom wrote:
I dont know about you guys, but nitsujas modified gens crashes for me when I hit "record new movie".
That happens to me whenever I save it to the folder my roms are in. Try saving it to another, more general folder.
Active player (277)
Joined: 5/29/2004
Posts: 5712
Aw, but I like having movies and roms in the same folder.
put yourself in my rocketpack if that poochie is one outrageous dude
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1300)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
Frenom wrote:
gens crashes for me when I hit "record new movie"
I think it has to do with the path being too long (not enough buffer for the filename, probably). When you go to record a new movie, and it says something like C:\Program Files\Emulators\Sega Genesis\Gens\Gens_Movie_Test9f_EXE\ECCO THE DOLPHIN (U) [!].gmv, delete all the stuff before and including the last slash, so it becomes something like ECCO THE DOLPHIN (U) [!].gmv, and then it should be short enough that it won't crash.
Editor, Reviewer, Experienced player (968)
Joined: 4/17/2004
Posts: 3107
Location: Sweden
Highly annoying bug: If pressing + at 100% speed, 50% and 100% get switched - 50% is full speed and 100% is 50% slow mode. Moreover the speed below 100% is 25%. I think it's somehow related to the slow mode checkbox in the menu.
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1300)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
Truncated wrote:
Highly annoying bug: If pressing + at 100% speed, 50% and 100% get switched - 50% is full speed and 100% is 50% slow mode. Moreover the speed below 100% is 25%. I think it's somehow related to the slow mode checkbox in the menu.
I can't get this to happen normally (pressing + at 100% speed leaves it at 100%). I think you must have your "Toggle Slow Mode Key" assigned to +, which conflicts with + increasing the speed.
Editor, Reviewer, Experienced player (968)
Joined: 4/17/2004
Posts: 3107
Location: Sweden
>I can't get this to happen normally (pressing + at 100% speed leaves it at 100%). I think you must have your "Toggle Slow Mode Key" assigned to +, which conflicts with + increasing the speed. Good guess, that's it. It was leftover from my old config. Problem solved.
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
When recording in AVI, it stills record the blue pause screen for one frame when you pause.
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1300)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
Phil wrote:
When recording in AVI, it stills record the blue pause screen for one frame when you pause.
Then use the frame advance button to pause, or turn off the blue screen effect in the Misc. options.
Post subject: Omgfilesize?
Joined: 1/1/2022
Posts: 1716
I like the gens with video emulator, except the avi filesize. I use the gens_movie_9f file, and i want to record a time attack video. I can't record in .gmv format, because other people can't play the movie that way. When i "Start AVI Dump" and select some compression type, the filesize is 100~300 MB, what can i do about it? Is AVI dump actually the right way? (I just hope the topic is still alive) *EDIT* Why i am asking this is because the movie is only 50 seconds long.
Former player
Joined: 9/29/2005
Posts: 460
Switch from uncompressed frames to a codec, and regulate (Not the right word, right?) the file size and quality that way.
nesrocks
He/Him
Player (241)
Joined: 5/1/2004
Posts: 4096
Location: Rio, Brazil
i recommend you do record it to GMV and then dump the avi during playback only so you don't have to actually play the game while recording the avi which can be bad (lag?)
Joined: 1/1/2022
Posts: 1716
Graveworm wrote:
Switch from uncompressed frames to a codec, and regulate (Not the right word, right?) the file size and quality that way.
I tried, with super shitty quality and no sound still was 50 mb.
Active player (432)
Joined: 4/21/2004
Posts: 3517
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Is there still no progress creating a emulator for Master System? Is it really that hard (from a developers point of view)? :(
Nitrogenesis wrote:
Guys I come from the DidyKnogRacist communite, and you are all wrong, tihs is the run of the mileniun and everyone who says otherwise dosnt know any bater! I found this run vary ease to masturbate too!!!! Don't fuck with me, I know this game so that mean I'm always right!StupedfackincommunityTASVideoz!!!!!!
Arc wrote:
I enjoyed this movie in which hands firmly gripping a shaft lead to balls deep in multiple holes.
natt wrote:
I don't want to get involved in this discussion, but as a point of fact C# is literally the first goddamn thing on that fucking page you linked did you even fucking read it
Cooljay wrote:
Mayor Haggar and Cody are such nice people for the community. Metro City's hospitals reached an all time new record of incoming patients due to their great efforts :P
Former player
Joined: 9/29/2005
Posts: 460
Super_Bored_Bros wrote:
Graveworm wrote:
Switch from uncompressed frames to a codec, and regulate (Not the right word, right?) the file size and quality that way.
I tried, with super shitty quality and no sound still was 50 mb.
That's probably because of bad compression and stuff, you really shouldn't try doing that if you don't know anything about it, and that's why I never do that.
Active player (277)
Joined: 5/29/2004
Posts: 5712
Yeah, you need the MAGIC TOUCH!
put yourself in my rocketpack if that poochie is one outrageous dude
Player (80)
Joined: 3/11/2005
Posts: 352
Location: Oregon
an AI koan:
A novice was trying to fix a broken Lisp machine by turning the power off and on. Knight [one of the List machine's designers], seeing what the student was doing, spoke sternly: "You cannot fix a machine by just power-cycling it with no understanding of what is going wrong." Knight turned the machine off and on. The machine worked.
ideamagnate| .seen aqfaq <nothing happens> DK64_MASTER| .seen nesvideoagent * DK64_MASTER slaps forehead
Former player
Joined: 4/13/2006
Posts: 150
Location: Caratinga - MG - Brazil
Ok, i'm really lost here. My english is bad and I don't know what version os GENS i need to download. There's much links in the first post T_T *Eu to perdido aqui. Qual daqueles links eu tenho que usar pra pegar a versão mais nova do gens que passa os arquivos .gmv daqui?
Not more working on: DKC3 105% < Needs modified Nitsuja Snes9x+9, with reset recording.
Editor, Skilled player (1939)
Joined: 6/15/2005
Posts: 3247
The newest version is one that has the largest version number (which is 9f):
Jyzero wrote:
Version 9f: http://step.polymtl.ca/~jyzero/gens_movie_9f.zip
I hope that it helps.
Former player
Joined: 4/13/2006
Posts: 150
Location: Caratinga - MG - Brazil
FractalFusion wrote:
The newest version is one that has the largest version number (which is 9f):
Jyzero wrote:
Version 9f: http://step.polymtl.ca/~jyzero/gens_movie_9f.zip
I hope that it helps.
Thanks. Help a lot. ^^
Not more working on: DKC3 105% < Needs modified Nitsuja Snes9x+9, with reset recording.
Player (70)
Joined: 8/24/2004
Posts: 2562
Location: Sweden
*pokes the coders* Any chances of planting memory watch in Gens in a near future? Would be AWESOME! :D
1 2
10 11 12
18 19