Post subject: Gonna give this all a try, just need more info.
Joined: 5/25/2004
Posts: 28
I've read pretty much everything this site has to offer, and watched about 10 movies. I'd like to give it a shot. 1) Now, i know where to get famtasia, but i guess i also needs rom's. How can i make sure i'm getting the EXACT same rom's that people are using for these attacks? Does it matter. 2) So i've got an emulator and rom's, anything else i need? 3) Oh, and i've got a controller for my computer, INTEC replica of the PS2 controller. Will famtasia recognize it? Or is the USB too slow to even bother? Thanks!
nesrocks
He/Him
Player (241)
Joined: 5/1/2004
Posts: 4096
Location: Rio, Brazil
1) you can use whatever rom to record. it doesn't matter if we have it or if we don't. if u want to watch a rec, you will need the same rom. but it's an issue for the watcher, not the recorder. 2) u need time :) 3) dunno, i think there shouldn't be any problems.
Joined: 5/25/2004
Posts: 28
So if i use the english rom to beat a Jap rom timeattack (say a mario one) nobody will reject it saying "well, sure you can do it that fast with the English one cause.... "
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
Well if a video exist you must use the same rom.BTW don't use european roms.
Joined: 5/25/2004
Posts: 28
K, that leads me to re-ask question 1 again. I know if i ask people wont send me rom's, so how can i make sure i'm using the same ones? when i used to collect Snes roms i would find up to 5 versions of a game, 1.0, 1.1, junk like that. Can anyone give me names from the goodsets maybe? those i can find.
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
Hint: Open the rom you have then open the .fmv provided on the site, if the video is ok from the beginning to the end then you have the correct rom.
Joined: 3/22/2004
Posts: 95
sean.brockest wrote:
I know if i ask people wont send me rom's, so how can i make sure i'm using the same ones?
It really doesn't matter, provided that the rom is an "official" version of the game (equal to an actual cart). There are a number of Legend of Zelda roms out there, for instance. If you were to beat sleepz speed and submit the FMV, the proper rom will be found to make the video. It isn't "our" responsibility to ensure that the downloaders have access to the Rom so that they can use the FMV. People who download the FMV might have to go searching for a new copy of the rom, but that's not "our" responsibility, either. That's why Bisqwit published the Link no Bouken run, even though most people don't have the FDS rom OR the Link no Bouken rom. So the answer to #1 is: "It does not matter. Concern yourself with the run, not the people who might be inconvenienced by your rom selection." Provided it's an unmodified/untrained/unhacked rom, you should have no problems.
Former player
Joined: 3/9/2004
Posts: 484
Location: ­­
On the main site, the ROM version is usually mentioned in parentheses nest to the game's name. I believe Gremlins 2 is the only exception.
Post subject: Few things about ROMs
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
Bladegash wrote:
On the main site, the ROM version is usually mentioned in parentheses nest to the game's name.
Not really a reply to this statement, but since many people have had uncertainty about it, I think it's better to write it here. The "ROM version" I list along with the entry is game version, not dump version. Some people have been complaining because some of the FMVs don't work with "official" GoodNES ROMs, but that they require "overdumped" or even "bad dump" versions. Despite the fact that all of the movies have been made with a ROM, my site is not aimed for ROM collectors / ROM fans. It's aimed for fans of the actual games. I will list the version of the game used (be it a German version, Japanese version, USA version revision 2 etc), but as for the ROM, I am indifferent. I will not put a GoodNES filename there, because GoodNES is not the only source of ROMs, and anyone could dump and label their ROMs in any way they like. I'm not going to serve ROM collectors. Ps: Seen the above message? If Famtasia refuses to load your ROM, it's because the ROM is garbled. The most common reason for this is the "DiskDude!" advertisement tag in the ROM header. The .NES file format specification states that those bytes should be zero, so Famtasia expects them to be. You can zero those 9 bytes with a binary editor if this is the problem for you.
Former player
Joined: 4/16/2004
Posts: 1276
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
That "This file is illegal" message. Could it be fixed? I thought that the ROM wasn´t compatible in any way with Famtasia. Is it hard to do? Unfortunately I don´t know much about editing stuffs =/ Atleast not on my own.
/Walker Boh
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
You can always fix the ROM. I just told you how.
Former player
Joined: 4/16/2004
Posts: 1276
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
That´s great news!
/Walker Boh
Former player
Joined: 3/13/2004
Posts: 1118
Location: Kansai, JAPAN
Bisqwit wrote:
You can always fix the ROM. I just told you how.
What program would I use to do that?
Do Not Talk About Feitclub http://www.feitclub.com
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
feitclub wrote:
What program would I use to do that?
Being not an expert on Windows software (which I assume you're referring to), I can only give you source code of a program which will fix the ROM both headerwise and sizewise. This program actually fixes all ROMs in the current working directory. Compile with a C++ compiler to use. It should compile in posix-compatible system that has a decent C++ compiler. Windows claims to be posix-compatible.
#include <cstdio>
#include <string>
#include <dirent.h>
using namespace std;
static void FixROM(const string& s)
{
    char Buf[16];
    
    if(s.size() < 4 || s.substr(s.size()-4) != ".nes") return;
    
    FILE *fp = fopen(s.c_str(), "rb+");
    if(!fp)
    {
        perror(s.c_str());
        return;
    }
    
    fseek(fp, 0, SEEK_END);
    long size = ftell(fp);
    rewind(fp);
    
    fread(Buf, 16, 1, fp);
    
    if(!memcmp(Buf+7, "DiskDude!", 9))
    {
        printf("Fixing %s (removing DiskDude signature)\n", s.c_str());
        memset(Buf+7, 0, 9);
        fseek(fp, 7, SEEK_SET);
        fwrite(Buf+7, 9, 1, fp);
    }
    
    int size_shouldbe = ((size - 16) & ~1023) + 16;
    if(Buf[6] & 4) size_shouldbe += 512;
    
    if(size_shouldbe != size)
    {
        printf("Fixing %s (size is %X, should be %X)\n", s.c_str(), size, size_shouldbe);
        ftruncate(fileno(fp), size_shouldbe);
    }
    
    fclose(fp);
}
 
int main(void)
{
    DIR *d = opendir(".");
    while(dirent *ent = readdir(d))
    {
        FixROM(ent->d_name);
    }
    closedir(d);
}
In DOS I used a program called HIEW for editing binary files. MS-DOS Editor v2 is also capable of editing binary files, when opened like this: edit /64 megaman1.nes If you use it, you must be careful not to insert/delete bytes. You must only replace.
Former player
Joined: 4/16/2004
Posts: 1276
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
For us with less C++ skills, are there an easy way to do this? I have no knowledge whatsoever in this. And no C++ program. =/
/Walker Boh
Former player
Joined: 3/19/2004
Posts: 710
Location: USA
Go to google. Search for "free hex editor" or something like that. Download it. Run it. Open the rom in it. There should be two coloums. The left should just have hex numbers, the right sumbols. Look or search for "Diskdude!". On the left, replace, the nine pairs of numbers with zeros. I haven't tried it but I think this is what Bisqwit is saying.
Post subject: Re: Few things about ROMs
nesrocks
He/Him
Player (241)
Joined: 5/1/2004
Posts: 4096
Location: Rio, Brazil
Bisqwit wrote:
The .NES file format specification states that those bytes should be zero, so Famtasia expects them to be. You can zero those 9 bytes with a binary editor if this is the problem for you.
what do u mean by "zero"? change "diskdude!" to "000000000" or to spaces? i opened on edit by using /64 and all it did was break a line every 64 characters, it didn't show 010100111010001010 style. it was ascII....
Joined: 4/27/2004
Posts: 13
He means change the hex values from 44 69 73 6B 44 75 64 65 21 to 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 also, XVI32 is a great and free hex editor for windows
Active player (410)
Joined: 3/16/2004
Posts: 2623
Location: America, Québec
HDD editor is free and better than XV... http://www.hhdsoftware.com/
Post subject: Re: Few things about ROMs
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
FODA wrote:
what do u mean by "zero"? change "diskdude!" to "000000000" or to spaces? i opened on edit by using /64 and all it did was break a line every 64 characters, it didn't show 010100111010001010 style. it was ascII....
I mean zerobytes.Bytes that have the value of 0. With ms-dos editor, you can enter 0-bytes by pressing ctrl-p and then ctrl-2. The line breaking behavior is correct. When editing, just ensure that the lines will stay 64 bytes long.
Former player
Joined: 3/19/2004
Posts: 710
Location: USA
Hey, it actually works! Awesome. Thanks Bisqwit.
Former player
Joined: 4/16/2004
Posts: 1276
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Oi, sorry for bringing this up again. However, I have downloaded a hex editor but what numbers should I change? I got an almost infinite list of numbers (atleast it´s very long) and I can´t find anything suspicious on the left side. So, what am I looking for? And are there any specific positions on the numbers I should change to zeros? Or shall I change every line that has a 0 in it? I can´t figure it out =/
/Walker Boh
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
If the ROM header looks like this: 00000000 4e 45 53 1a 08 00 21 44 69 73 6b 44 75 64 65 21 |NES...!DiskDude!| It must be changed to look like this: 00000000 4e 45 53 1a 08 00 21 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 |NES...!.........| That's all. Do not change the 7 first bytes though. One byte = two digits in hexadecimal display.
Former player
Joined: 4/16/2004
Posts: 1276
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Ok, thanks. I'll try it and see if I can figure it out. Edit: Wohoo it actually worked!!! Didn´t realized that "Diskdude" was in the first line! Thanks a bunch Bisqwit!
/Walker Boh
Joined: 5/24/2004
Posts: 262
Bisquit: Fantastic. I have had this problem with so many games. Can't tell you how thrilled I am that a simple change in the header makes them work :)