Post subject: Loading a state doesn't change the screen for 2 frames
JXQ
Experienced player (750)
Joined: 5/6/2005
Posts: 3132
When working in frame advance, and I go to load a state, I usually need to know what state I'm loading (I'm not good at keeping track of this). In order to see, I have to load the state and then advance two frames. Furthermore, these two frames are still recorded, so I can't be sure what it is I'm doing until I see what the state is, then load that same state again and blindly press the buttons. (This would be handy in Super Metroid, so I know if I should start pressing L/R on the frame I load or the next frame.) Is this an adjustable option? If not, can it be changed to show the loaded state immediately (similar to FCEU)?
<Swordless> Go hug a tree, you vegetarian (I bet you really are one)
Joined: 10/3/2005
Posts: 1332
It would be nice if the screen could also refresh when the window is resized while the game is paused. This is actually #4 on my list of changes to make to Snes9x... just as soon as I can compile the damn thing. Why is there all that glide code in there!? ;)
Former player
Joined: 9/29/2005
Posts: 460
For L and R in Super Metroid, watch Samus actions, it's not hard, I'm actually so used to the 2 black screens that I feel uncomfortable when using other emulators.
JXQ
Experienced player (750)
Joined: 5/6/2005
Posts: 3132
For now in Super Metroid I'm just making sure to save only on frames when L is not pressed, but that just adds one more thing to keep track of.
<Swordless> Go hug a tree, you vegetarian (I bet you really are one)
Player (36)
Joined: 9/11/2004
Posts: 2624
JXQ, display of the emulation actually lags behind two frames, (I had a similar problem with LttP) so if you watch the first two frames you can see, if Samus is in the same posistion in both (aiming down or aiming up) then you pressed L for two consecutive frames. This is of course, only a workaround. Not a solution, but at least you don't have to wonder if you screwed something up. And also, something to consider. Has anyone bothered to dissect how Samus moves in a pixel/frame basis? Because if she moves at 2,2,1 or something like that it wouldn't matter if you held the button down for two frames.
Build a man a fire, warm him for a day, Set a man on fire, warm him for the rest of his life.
Emulator Coder, Skilled player (1301)
Joined: 12/21/2004
Posts: 2687
OK, the 2-frame delay has been removed. See this thread. 1 frame of delay was removed by making the savestate store its image in it so it will show immediately upon loading. The other frame of delay was removed by changing a line of code somewhere that was intentionally preventing the image from displaying for an extra frame after loading a savestate.
Graveworm wrote:
I'm actually so used to the 2 black screens that I feel uncomfortable when using other emulators.
Hmm, maybe you won't want to switch then, but I wasn't about to make the savestate delay a user-configurable option.
Active player (278)
Joined: 5/29/2004
Posts: 5712
Cool! Can that be fixed in Mupen 64 too?
put yourself in my rocketpack if that poochie is one outrageous dude
JXQ
Experienced player (750)
Joined: 5/6/2005
Posts: 3132
Awesome. Awesome awesome awesome. Many thanks!
<Swordless> Go hug a tree, you vegetarian (I bet you really are one)
Former player
Joined: 9/29/2005
Posts: 460
nitsuja wrote:
Graveworm wrote:
I'm actually so used to the 2 black screens that I feel uncomfortable when using other emulators.
Hmm, maybe you won't want to switch then, but I wasn't about to make the savestate delay a user-configurable option.
Too bad. ;D I don't think I'm gonna use anyone of the features in "v9", so I'll just stick with "v8" or whatever you decided to call it.
Player (223)
Joined: 10/17/2005
Posts: 399
Oh, nice. I really didn't like those two black frames.
<adelikat> I've been quoted with worse