Post subject: Battle City (J)
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
This is a 35 level game that repeats itself after the end (similiar to Donkey Kong). The goal is to blow tanks up while defending your base (represented by an eagle). I want to do a TAS of this game, but I'm unsure how to entertain the audience for 35 rounds. Would a 2-player run be enjoyable to watch?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1237)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Surely you have to use 2 players, but you better drop here wips & see if people like your entertaining stuff or not. Also I wonder, how much strategy planning will this run require.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Post subject: Re: Battle City (J)
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
Previous threads: http://tasvideos.org/forum/p/117153#117153 -- Wishlist http://tasvideos.org/forum/p/181324#181324 -- Disassembly I would like to see a Battle City TAS. But I also admit that it's incredibly boring. The level designer was always much more fun than the game itself, and the 2-player game was much more fun than 1p.
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
feos wrote:
Surely you have to use 2 players, but you better drop here wips & see if people like your entertaining stuff or not.
I'm working on a WIP of the first stage. It's 2-players and uses a trick that makes my Tanks slightly faster.
Bisqwit wrote:
http://tasvideos.org/forum/p/181324#181324 -- Disassembly
Thanks! But I'm not familiar with Disassembly. I'll try to make some use of it.
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
I've found out how the scoring works! I made a lua script to show the score. Hopefully, I can make the score even.
while (true) do
SC = {a=1,b=10,c=100,d=1000};
SCA1 = SC.a * memory.readbyte(0x0019); -- P1 
SCA2 = SC.b * memory.readbyte(0x0018); -- Score
SCA3 = SC.c * memory.readbyte(0x0017); -- Count
SCA4 = SC.d * memory.readbyte(0x0016); -- 
SCTA1 = SCA1 + SCA2 + SCA3 + SCA4;
SCTA2 = SCTA1 * SC.c;
SCB1 = SC.a * memory.readbyte(0x0021); -- P2 
SCB2 = SC.b * memory.readbyte(0x0020); -- Score
SCB3 = SC.c * memory.readbyte(0x001F); -- Count
SCB4 = SC.d * memory.readbyte(0x001E); -- 
SCTB1 = SCB1 + SCB2 + SCB3 +SCB4;
SCTB2 = SCTB1 * SC.c;
	gui.text(0,0,"Player 1:"..SCTA2.."\nPlayer 2:"..SCTB2);
	FCEU.frameadvance();
end;
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
Ok, here's a WIP of the first stage. Since a stage takes nearly 1 minute, the run would be around 35 minutes long. At least the stages are different. =P Oh, I tried not to camp at the spawn points and made the score even.
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
jlun2 wrote:
I've found out how the scoring works!
Good job! I updated the disassembly based on these memory addresses, and fixed the things you overlooked. Basically, RAM $0015..$001B contains the score, each address contains a digit 10^6 downto 10^0 (7 digits). Similarly, $001D..$0023 for player 2, and there are three others. Disassembly is at: http://bisqwit.iki.fi/jutut/batlcity.lst
Site Admin, Skilled player (1237)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Pretty awesome WIP, jlun2! Just expect increasing amount of madness during the whole run (to keep the viewer excited more & more, like the last Rockman).
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
feos wrote:
Pretty awesome WIP, jlun2! Just expect increasing amount of madness during the whole run (to keep the viewer excited more & more, like the last Rockman).
Uh...there's one problem. Kills made by the grenade doesn't count at the end of the tally, so to save time, I would have to stall until the blinking red tank appears, destroy it, wait for 6 tanks to spawn, then blow them all up. Which means the only real way to entertain the audience is to play around with death (close calls, close encounters, etc).
Editor, Expert player (2315)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3856
Location: Germany
It has come to my attention here, that ignoring post-level bonus point tallying is perfectly acceptable. Now there only seems to be a movie tag called "Aims for in-game time instead of real-time", but it would still work for Battle City, even though it lacks a timer. What do you think?
Editor, Active player (296)
Joined: 3/8/2004
Posts: 7469
Location: Arzareth
MUGG wrote:
It has come to my attention here, that ignoring post-level bonus point tallying is perfectly acceptable. Now there only seems to be a movie tag called "Aims for in-game time instead of real-time", but it would still work for Battle City, even though it lacks a timer. What do you think?
Which would probably open a new can of worms re: Lunar Ball submissions. Well, really it would only open a new category. But still.
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
jlun2 wrote:
It's 2-players and uses a trick that makes my Tanks slightly faster.
Aha, did you play this tutorial romhack or you've found this trick on your own? Probably latter, I guess. But still, if you're doing Battle City TAS or simply like this obscure game, you should take closer look at Binary City.
jlun2 wrote:
Since a stage takes nearly 1 minute, the run would be around 35 minutes long.
Enemies' respawn time reduces by 4 frames with every level, so later levels should be faster than a minute. But even then I doubt it would be entertaining to watch half an hour of so repetitive stuff.
Bisqwit wrote:
Disassembly is at: http://bisqwit.iki.fi/jutut/batlcity.lst
Here's fully documented source code. Although most comments are in Russian, but at least all variables and functions have proper English names.
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
I'll try make TAS Battle City. Someone if have any ideas/tricks/bugs for look it cool more than please tell me Here's my demo :D http://youtu.be/INXNGeI3u74
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
Noxxa
They/Them
Moderator, Expert player (4141)
Joined: 8/14/2009
Posts: 4083
Location: The Netherlands
Topic merged with existing topic about this game.
http://www.youtube.com/Noxxa <dwangoAC> This is a TAS (...). Not suitable for all audiences. May cause undesirable side-effects. May contain emulator abuse. Emulator may be abusive. This product contains glitches known to the state of California to cause egg defects. <Masterjun> I'm just a guy arranging bits in a sequence which could potentially amuse other people looking at these bits <adelikat> In Oregon Trail, I sacrificed my own family to save time. In Star trek, I killed helpless comrades in escape pods to save time. Here, I kill my allies to save time. I think I need help.
Post subject: Re: Battle City
Skilled player (1707)
Joined: 9/17/2009
Posts: 4952
Location: ̶C̶a̶n̶a̶d̶a̶ "Kanatah"
xxNKxx wrote:
I'll try make TAS Battle City. Someone if have any ideas/tricks/bugs for look it cool more than please tell me Here's my demo :D http://youtu.be/INXNGeI3u74
2 players is faster. oh, and this:
Kills made by the grenade doesn't count at the end of the tally, so to save time, I would have to stall until the blinking red tank appears, destroy it, wait for 6 tanks to spawn, then blow them all up.
Post subject: Re: Battle City
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
jlun2 wrote:
2 players is faster. oh, and this:
Kills made by the grenade doesn't count at the end of the tally, so to save time, I would have to stall until the blinking red tank appears, destroy it, wait for 6 tanks to spawn, then blow them all up.
I'm not pro like that, can play 1 player only :( About grenade kills, it's for fastest. But if for look cool, then with +1up, is it look cool more than ?
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
Hmmm I have tested with 2 players, and for speed run, it's not faster anything, just can show cool moves and better scores. That's why I think just need play with 1 player is better for me. Here's my demo2, is it look cool more than demo1 ? http://youtu.be/cDCxMB6jBng
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
Patashu
He/Him
Joined: 10/2/2005
Posts: 4017
You don't have to play both players simultaneously, there's a concept called multi-track recording where you record one player, then over the same part of the replay record the other player.
My Chiptune music, made in Famitracker: http://soundcloud.com/patashu My twitch. I stream mostly shmups & rhythm games http://twitch.tv/patashu My youtube, again shmups and rhythm games and misc stuff: http://youtube.com/user/patashu
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
Sorry but I don't understand your mean. Are you mean merge 2 movie files to a file? Then, how to do that? Btw, I need ideas how to show cool move in this game, I'm poor with ideas :( And when calculator points, if have 2 players, it'll slower more than with 1 player. Then do I need play 2 players?
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
Site Admin, Skilled player (1237)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11274
Location: RU
Doing 2 player runs is easier in FCEUX than BizHawk, because the editing tool there (TASEditor, like TAStudio of bizhawk) is fully functional. You use mouse to add presses for frames you want for player you need and then unpause emulation. No need to save states to go back in your movie, just scroll and draw. http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13521
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
oh my god, so genius... :(
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
Skilled player (1150)
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 425
Location: China
Have anybady watched this tas? Link to video
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
I Give Up !!! :(
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists
AnS
Emulator Coder, Experienced player (723)
Joined: 2/23/2006
Posts: 682
xxNKxx wrote:
I Give Up !!! :(
Then you're doing it wrong. Being afraid of any challenge is not going to help you learn TASing. That movie is improvable in terms of speed, because it doesn't take advantage from using the Grenade powerup, and it doesn't use tile-alignment to move tanks faster.
NhatNM
He/Him
Experienced player (706)
Joined: 6/17/2009
Posts: 600
Location: Vietnam
But I can't control 2 players same that, still training TASEditor, still newbie :(
A man come from Vietnam My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/NhatNM/playlists