Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 778
FFMpeg doesn't accept Lagarith as an encoding option (and I've decided I like using FFMpeg more than megui for my projects, despite it being more annoying to work with), youtube's going to re-encode it when I upload it anyway, and I use qp 0 for every stage except the upload encode (I use qp 16 for the final version). I do need to take b-frames into account, though, and using a different container isn't much of an issue.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
If you are going to use H.264 anyway, at least place it in MKV and use FFMpegSource to load the MKV in AVS.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
I'm looking for a new converter software. I've been using SUPER(c) and it could convert pretty much everything into everything and worked fine when I started using it first. Some time ago it became trash though, as it crashes pretty much all the time. Instead of continuing to put up with the crashes, I want an alternative. Any suggestions? Also, I'm looking for a means to download youtube videos into mp3(320kbps, stereo). I used to use filsh.net but it hasn't been online for a week now.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Lex
Joined: 6/25/2007
Posts: 732
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
More specifically if you're using Windows, go here: https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/ Click "Download FFmpeg [revision identifier here] 64-bit Static", open it up with any decent archive tool, and find the "bin" folder. The ffmpeg.exe inside that folder is the tool you need to extract somewhere, such as beside the video you want to edit/convert. You can write a batch file (.bat; script that runs Windows command lines) with a command line that does what you want. Here's an example of remuxing an mp4 file to mkv, just one of millions of things you can do with ffmpeg:
ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -c copy -map 0 output.mkv
You can encode a huge uncompressed avi emulator dump to a much smaller lossless rgb h264 with lossless flac audio for archival with one command line:
ffmpeg -i input.avi -c:v libx264rgb -qp 0 -pix_fmt bgr24 -c:a flac -compression_level 8 output.mkv
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
I'm not sure about now, but in the past, loading lossless RGB H.264 in Avisynth was a pain to do with a lot of problems. I think natt figured out a solution.
Editor, Expert player (2313)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3855
Location: Germany
Thanks but I would really prefer something non-command line based. Something with a GUI like Super(c) had.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
- Avisynth (plus AvsPmod for editing Avisynth scripts) - VirtualDubMod (with x264vfw) to encode Avisynth scripts to .AVI files - mkvtoolnix to convert the .AVI files to proper .MKV files In VDM: - always set "menu | Video | Fast Recompress" (in "menu | Options | Preferences | Main | Video mode" you can change the default to that) - set the video compression to "x264vfw" and configure it (usually rate control = CRF 16..22)
Lex
Joined: 6/25/2007
Posts: 732
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Aktan wrote:
I'm not sure about now, but in the past, loading lossless RGB H.264 in Avisynth was a pain to do with a lot of problems. I think natt figured out a solution.
I used to do it with DirectShowSource with a graph that loaded LAV Filters, but now the most recent release of FFMS2 does it perfectly with FFVideoSource. It's no longer "a pain".
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Lex wrote:
I used to do it with DirectShowSource with a graph that loaded LAV Filters, but now the most recent release of FFMS2 does it perfectly with FFVideoSource. It's no longer "a pain".
That's good to hear!
Post subject: Quality TAS video with an RPG maker game.
Sabitsuki
He/Him
Joined: 3/26/2016
Posts: 28
So I finished my TAS of a game known as Yume Nikki but when I try to play back the TAS the sounds don't work and it glitches up. I cannot post the video to TAS videos anyway because it is an English translation so is there anything I can do to the game files to fix this?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
Screengrabber.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Sabitsuki
He/Him
Joined: 3/26/2016
Posts: 28
feos wrote:
Screengrabber.
I'm sorry I don't know what you mean how would that fix it?
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
What console is the TAS on?
AntyMew
It/Its
Encoder, Player (35)
Joined: 10/22/2014
Posts: 425
Aktan wrote:
What console is the TAS on?
Windows, RPG Maker game
Sabitsuki wrote:
So I finished my TAS of a game known as Yume Nikki but when I try to play back the TAS the sounds don't work and it glitches up. I cannot post the video to TAS videos anyway because it is an English translation so is there anything I can do to the game files to fix this?
You mean on playback or on video recording? If it's on recording a screengrabber would definitely help
Just a Mew! 〜 It/She ΘΔ 〜
PoochyEXE
He/Him
Player (223)
Joined: 12/5/2010
Posts: 29
I noticed the TASVideosChannel on YouTube seems to be uploading higher quality re-encodes of older publications recently. Just out of curiosity, what specifically has changed in the encoding methods? I can't quite put my finger on it since I can't find the old encodes for a side-by-side comparison. But kudos for the dedication to high-quality encodes!
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2292)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6337
Location: The land down under.
Nothing... I think? Besides 60fps... (What do you mean, specifically?) You're welcome, hope you enjoy the spam sessions that's the same game, back, to back, to back, to back.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
Interestingly, mvtools 2.5.11.3 crashes for me with Osman HD encode, when I use original aspect ratio. It doesn't when I pick 4:3, even though the source is 4:3 already, and sar options aren't used in HD command line! 2.5.11.20 doesn't crash. I was just about to debug, but since I worked around it, nah.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
feos wrote:
Interestingly, mvtools 2.5.11.3 crashes for me with Osman HD encode, when I use original aspect ratio. It doesn't when I pick 4:3, even though the source is 4:3 already, and sar options aren't used in HD command line! 2.5.11.20 doesn't crash. I was just about to debug, but since I worked around it, nah.
Well if the newer version works, it probably just fixed the bug.
trynan
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2016
Posts: 2
Location: Washington State
So I recently made my first TAS ever, of the game Contra III: The Alien Wars. It is a pacifist TAS, the same as McBobX's is. Mine is slower than his but I wasn't optimizing it a lot since it was my first one. However, I want to encode it so I can upload it to Youtube myself but every time I try to encode it using the package given at the publication manual, the output is much lower quality than the .avi that I put in. Additionally, when I upload it to Youtube the quality drops even more. Can anyone help me out? I'm willing to share more information if it is needed.
AntyMew
It/Its
Encoder, Player (35)
Joined: 10/22/2014
Posts: 425
trynan wrote:
So I recently made my first TAS ever, of the game Contra III: The Alien Wars. It is a pacifist TAS, the same as McBobX's is. Mine is slower than his but I wasn't optimizing it a lot since it was my first one. However, I want to encode it so I can upload it to Youtube myself but every time I try to encode it using the package given at the publication manual, the output is much lower quality than the .avi that I put in. Additionally, when I upload it to Youtube the quality drops even more. Can anyone help me out? I'm willing to share more information if it is needed.
What exactly are you doing with the encoding package? If you dumped the avi with a lossless codec and chose HD stream upon encoding, the quality should be nearly indiscernible from lossless More to the point though, why do you need to use the encoding package? It's intended to be used for publication-quality encodes, not custom encodes.
Just a Mew! 〜 It/She ΘΔ 〜
trynan
He/Him
Joined: 6/6/2016
Posts: 2
Location: Washington State
Anty-Lemon wrote:
What exactly are you doing with the encoding package? If you dumped the avi with a lossless codec and chose HD stream upon encoding, the quality should be nearly indiscernible from lossless More to the point though, why do you need to use the encoding package? It's intended to be used for publication-quality encodes, not custom encodes.
I'm using Lagarith to record through Bizhawk. The .avi from that looks fine. However, when I choose the HD stream and then check the output file it looks considerably different, not sure why. I guess I might not even need to be using the encoding package in the first place though, I think I'm looking too deep into this. Let me try something else that I thought of and see if that works. Thanks
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
trynan wrote:
I guess I might not even need to be using the encoding package in the first place though, I think I'm looking too deep into this.
Yep. http://tasvideos.org/EncodingGuide/CustomEncoding.html
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Site Admin, Skilled player (1236)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11268
Location: RU
How do I fight this?
avs [info]: 320x240p 1:1 @ 60000/1001 fps (cfr)
timecode [info]: automatic timebase generation 1001/2541180000
x264 [error]: Effective timebase denominator 2541180000 exceeds H.264 maximum
x264 [error]: x264_encoder_open failed
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Good question. Uh... Try remaking the timecode file again? Maybe there was an error?