Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Nope. Changing the length of the encode didn't help either.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
That just means the section where it's getting the auto timecode is not where you cut it. Edit: Mind posting the timecode file somewhere and the x264 line used?
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
I'll take a look sometime today.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Okay, I took a look at it. I only found a workaround. Add this to the AVS:
Language: avisynth

AssumeFPS(60, 1)
The fact you changed the framerate slightly for x264.exe doesn't matter because the timecodes file will be used for the real times when you use mkvmerge.exe
Skilled player (1216)
Joined: 8/29/2014
Posts: 301
Is there an easy way to encode SNES at 4:3 and at least 720p without the pixels being different heights like this? http://puu.sh/qdPQ2.jpg (This is resized to 960x720)
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
You meant different widths?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Skilled player (1216)
Joined: 8/29/2014
Posts: 301
Hm that might be a problem too. But looking at the health/ammo bars in particular, it looks like the heights are inconsistent.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Language: Avisynth

AVISource(...) # 256x224 Spline64Resize(960, 720)
doesn't work?
Masterjun
He/Him
Site Developer, Skilled player (1968)
Joined: 10/12/2010
Posts: 1179
Location: Germany
Resizing to 1792 x 1344 would do it, right? Basically replacing one original pixel by 7 pixels horizontally, and 6 pixels vertically, going from 8:7 (256:224) to 4:3 (1792:1344), because (8/7) * (7/6) = (4/3)
Warning: Might glitch to credits I will finish this ACE soon as possible (or will I?)
Skilled player (1216)
Joined: 8/29/2014
Posts: 301
Yeah, that looks perfect. Thanks!
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Which one?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Skilled player (1216)
Joined: 8/29/2014
Posts: 301
Resizing to 1792x1344.
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
If it's for YouTube, it would be better to resize to 3584x2688 since color resolution is 1/4 brightness resolution on YouTube (colorspace YUV4:2:0) in which resizing in multiple of non even numbers is not recommended.
Sharkey91
He/Him
Player (99)
Joined: 8/9/2015
Posts: 94
Location: France
Hi everyone, i recorded 104K frames of SM64DS, and it gave me 3 separated videos. Though, those 3 videos have different frame rates, and virtualdub doesn't let me append them. What can I do please ?
I'm the main TASer of the SM64DS 150 stars TAS and YIDS any% TAS. I'm French. Sorry if I make grammar mistakes. My YouTube channel where I post about TASes : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9ij2bLJfWYkYOWTMF6sKVQ
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
What framerates and resolutions? You could convert all to the lowest common multiple and (after combining) let the encoder insert nullframes.
Editor, Expert player (2310)
Joined: 5/15/2007
Posts: 3854
Location: Germany
Here is a bit of untested avisynth code:
Language: Avisynth

clip1=avisource("clip1.avi") clip2=avisource("clip2.avi") clip3=avisource("clip3.avi") highestfps= Max(clip1.FrameRate, clip2.FrameRate, clip3.FrameRate) clip1=clip1.changefps(highestfps) clip2=clip2.changefps(highestfps) clip3=clip3.changefps(highestfps) clip1++clip2++clip3
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
feos wrote:
I improved the AppendSegment function to optionally resize, if you specify width > 0
Language: avisynth

# Multisegment AVI import function AppendSegment( \ string base, \ int first_val, \ int last_val, \ string format, \ int wide, \ int high \){ AviSegment = base + string(first_val, format) + ".avi" result = wide > 0 \ ? AviSource(AviSegment).LanczosResize(wide,high) \ : AviSource(AviSegment) return (first_val < last_val) \ ? result + AppendSegment(base,first_val+1,last_val,format,wide,high) \ : result }
Examples:
Language: avisynth

AppendSegment("hd_", 0, 5, "%01.0f", 0, 0) # no resizing AppendSegment("hd_", 0, 5, "%01.0f", 320, 240) # resizing
You can let the encoder leave out some parameters by defining them as optional; that requires some parameter shuffling though:
Language: Avisynth

function Append_Segment(int first_val, int last_val, int "xres", int "yres", string "base", string "format") { # multi-segment AVI import base = default(base , "dump" ) format = default(format, "%01.0f") AVISource(base + string(first_val, format) + ".avi") defined(yres) ? LanczosResize(xres, yres) : last (first_val < last_val) ? last + Append_Segment(first_val + 1, last_val, xres, yres, base, format) : last }
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Thanks for ideas once again, I'll see if I will use them.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
fsvgm777 wrote:
For recent Sega Master System movies, and only in case the TAS syncs on BizHawk 1.11.7 (likely), you need to display the overscan for proper aspect correction. To do so, simply check "Display Overscan" on the SMS menu. However, since you're going to have an uneven height (243 lines), you need to add a 244th scanline, with this line (provided by creaothceann):
Language: Avisynth

StackVertical(last, Crop(0, Height-1, 0, 0))
This repeats the last line. Another option would be dropping a few lines to get it to an even 240. :) (Official NTSC standard was 241.5 lines per field afaik, and they didn't expect every TV set to actually show all of them.)
Experienced player (600)
Joined: 10/23/2004
Posts: 706
Hey, I'm following the Encoding guide for my Mario Kart 64 movie at http://tasvideos.org/EncodingGuide.html and I noticed that the AVISynth script in the Pre-Encoding section did not work (I had to add a ConvertToRGB24() command to the movie avi as well as the png). Is this guide still up-to-date? It's from 2011 - 2012, which is before YouTube supported 60fps movies (for example). Also, is there an updated version of the TAS Encoding Package linked here? http://tasvideos.org/EncodingGuide/HybridEncodeScript.html
Current Project: - Mario Kart 64
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Weatherton wrote:
Is this guide still up-to-date?
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Experienced player (600)
Joined: 10/23/2004
Posts: 706
Thanks Feos.... not sure how I missed that.
Current Project: - Mario Kart 64
Experienced player (600)
Joined: 10/23/2004
Posts: 706
So, when I'm calculating the playing time to show in my Mario Kart 64 encode, should I assume 60.0 fps (as the TASVideos submission form does) or 59.94005994005994 fps (2 * (30000/1001)) consistent with NTSC?
Current Project: - Mario Kart 64
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
http://tasvideos.org/PlatformFramerates.html Use the one from here, since what the site uses will be in the final encodes too.
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.