Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
check the bottom of page 18, or stop changing the single instance mode setting.
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
I can't compile newer releases (beta) of Bizhawk with Visual Studio 2012. The n64 Analog issue, is resolved by using the tab labeled "Analog"
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3581)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
hegyak wrote:
I can't compile newer releases (beta) of Bizhawk with Visual Studio 2012.
Please do not use the 2012 version. It is not officially supported and is broken more often that not. And I do not want posts informing us that it is broken. Use the 2010 version (not you can open it in 2012 fine)
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
WJY
Joined: 4/7/2013
Posts: 11
I really wonder... why is the emulation speed of Saturn, a 32-bit console, slower than the emulation speed of N64?
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
It doesn't really matter what the specs of a system are once you go beyond a certain level of faithful emulation; what matters is how hard it is to emulate. A good N64 emulator will be slow, too. Even a puny 6502 can be slow. In case of the Saturn it's probably because it has more system components than the N64 that need to be synchronized.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
1. the N64 is a 32-bit console 2. never expect a correlation between the power of the console and emulation performance. there are many other factors in play.
Joined: 7/17/2012
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
WJY wrote:
I really wonder... why is the emulation speed of Saturn, a 32-bit console, slower than the emulation speed of N64?
For me Saturn emulation is perfect, and at 60 fps with BizHawk 1.5.1 N64 emulation too.
My Citra 3DS rerecording movie files test repositery: https://cutt.ly/vdM0jzl Youtube playlist "Citra Tests": https://cutt.ly/AdM0wg9 http://www.youtube.com/user/phoenix1291
Player (181)
Joined: 8/3/2012
Posts: 116
Location: U.S.
So, this happened when I tried to open a TAS I was doing for Goldeneye: and the details: See the end of this message for details on invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box. ************** Exception Text ************** System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Non-negative number required. Parameter name: count at System.IO.BinaryReader.Read(Byte[] buffer, Int32 index, Int32 count) at BizHawk.Emulation.Consoles.Nintendo.N64.N64.LoadStateBinary(BinaryReader reader) at BizHawk.Emulation.Consoles.Nintendo.N64.N64.LoadStateText(TextReader reader) at BizHawk.MultiClient.MainForm.LoadStateFile(String path, String name, Boolean fromLua) at BizHawk.MultiClient.MainForm.StartNewMovie(Movie m, Boolean record) at BizHawk.MultiClient.PlayMovie.Run() at BizHawk.MultiClient.PlayMovie.OK_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam) It was working fine when I restarted it yesterday, but then it happened a second time after I redid the TAS. I will test other games to see if it's just Goldeneye...
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3581)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
Omnigamer wrote:
The columns in RAM Watch are always assumed to be "default" when loading from a .wch file, so if you manually reorder the columns a lot of data will be in the wrong column when you load the file. As best I can tell the reordering is preserved by the program, but it doesn't pay any attention to what the "correct" column is when filling it with information.
This is fixed, and will be represented in the next major release
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Site Admin, Skilled player (1234)
Joined: 4/17/2010
Posts: 11251
Location: RU
Tried to edit RAM watch.
System.NullReferenceException: Ссылка на объект не указывает на экземпляр объекта.
   в BizHawk.MultiClient.WatchEditor.RamWatchNewWatch_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl()
   в System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
   в System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   в System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
Warning: When making decisions, I try to collect as much data as possible before actually deciding. I try to abstract away and see the principles behind real world events and people's opinions. I try to generalize them and turn into something clear and reusable. I hate depending on unpredictable and having to make lottery guesses. Any problem can be solved by systems thinking and acting.
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Bizhawk won't start in Windows 8.1. I get these errors in the protocol:
Anwendung: BizHawk.MultiClient.exe
Frameworkversion: v4.0.30319
Beschreibung: Der Prozess wurde aufgrund einer unbehandelten Ausnahme beendet.
Ausnahmeinformationen: System.IO.FileNotFoundException
Stapel:
   bei BizHawk.MultiClient.Program.SubMain(System.String[])
   bei BizHawk.MultiClient.Program.Main(System.String[])
Name der fehlerhaften Anwendung: BizHawk.MultiClient.exe, Version: 1.5.2.5123, Zeitstempel: 0x5263d0ca
Name des fehlerhaften Moduls: KERNELBASE.dll, Version: 6.3.9600.16408, Zeitstempel: 0x523d4548
Ausnahmecode: 0xe0434352
Fehleroffset: 0x00012eec
ID des fehlerhaften Prozesses: 0x80c
Startzeit der fehlerhaften Anwendung: 0x01ced28c99902d23
Pfad der fehlerhaften Anwendung: D:\Programme\bizhawk\BizHawk.MultiClient.exe
Pfad des fehlerhaften Moduls: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\KERNELBASE.dll
Berichtskennung: d7516ca9-3e7f-11e3-8259-dc0ea1222310
Vollständiger Name des fehlerhaften Pakets: 
Anwendungs-ID, die relativ zum fehlerhaften Paket ist: 
Sorry that it's in german, but that is my systems language.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3581)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
try putting the dll's in /dll into the root folder, let me know if that helps or not.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Sadly it makes no difference. I would guess the kernelbase.dll is different enough on 8.1 to make it not work.
Editor
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
I can't get Bizhawk to compile with recent SVN (tested with r5190) I get this error message: Error 1 Application Configuration file "app.config" is invalid. Could not find file 'BizHawk.PCE_Debugger\app.config'.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3581)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
We make no effort for any given trunk revision to be stable. If you want the latest svn and want it to be stable, use the 1.5x branch instead of trunk.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
So that error was my bad. Not a bug. Sorry. ^^"
Joined: 6/30/2010
Posts: 1093
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
In Breakout for Atari, the controls don't seem to work. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, but I don't have this problem with other Atari titles. I'm using 1.5.2
Current project: Gex 3 any% Paused: Gex 64 any% There are no N64 emulators. Just SM64 emulators with hacky support for all the other games.
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Okay pretty sure this time it's not my fault. When I try to change the base ROM directory I get this in 1.5.2:
Informationen über das Aufrufen von JIT-Debuggen
anstelle dieses Dialogfelds finden Sie am Ende dieser Meldung.

************** Ausnahmetext **************
System.NullReferenceException: Der Objektverweis wurde nicht auf eine Objektinstanz festgelegt.
   bei BizHawk.MultiClient.PathManager.GetPlatformBase(String system)
   bei BizHawk.MultiClient.PathManager.MakeAbsolutePath(String path, String system)
   bei BizHawk.MultiClient.PathConfig.BrowseFolder(TextBox box, String _Name, String System)
   bei BizHawk.MultiClient.PathConfig.<>c__DisplayClass22.<DoTabs>b__15(Object , EventArgs )
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   bei System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Geladene Assemblys **************
mscorlib
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.34003 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll.
----------------------------------------
BizHawk.MultiClient
    Assembly-Version: 1.5.2.5123.
    Win32-Version: 1.5.2.5123.
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/BizHawk.MultiClient.exe.
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.34003 built by: FX45W81RTMGDR.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Web
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_32/System.Web/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Web.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll.
----------------------------------------
BizHawk.Emulation
    Assembly-Version: 1.5.2.5123.
    Win32-Version: 1.5.2.5123.
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/dll/BizHawk.Emulation.dll.
----------------------------------------
SlimDX
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.10.43.
    Win32-Version: .
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/dll/SlimDX.dll.
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly-Version: 10.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 12.0.20806.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll.
----------------------------------------
BizHawk.Util
    Assembly-Version: 1.5.2.5123.
    Win32-Version: 1.5.2.5123.
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/dll/Bizhawk.Util.dll.
----------------------------------------
Newtonsoft.Json
    Assembly-Version: 1.3.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 1.3.0.0.
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/dll/Newtonsoft.Json.dll.
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms.resources
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_de_b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.resources.dll.
----------------------------------------
LuaInterface
    Assembly-Version: 2.0.4.24551.
    Win32-Version: 2.0.4.24551.
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/dll/LuaInterface.dll.
----------------------------------------
lua51
    Assembly-Version: 0.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: .
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Programme/bizhawk/dll/lua51.dll.
----------------------------------------
mscorlib.resources
    Assembly-Version: 4.0.0.0.
    Win32-Version: 4.0.30319.33440 built by: FX45W81RTMREL.
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/mscorlib.resources/v4.0_4.0.0.0_de_b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.resources.dll.
----------------------------------------

************** JIT-Debuggen **************
Um das JIT-Debuggen (Just-In-Time) zu aktivieren, muss in der
Konfigurationsdatei der Anwendung oder des Computers
(machine.config) der jitDebugging-Wert im Abschnitt system.windows.forms festgelegt werden.
Die Anwendung muss mit aktiviertem Debuggen kompiliert werden.

Zum Beispiel:

<configuration>
    <system>
</configuration>

Wenn das JIT-Debuggen aktiviert ist, werden alle nicht behandelten
Ausnahmen an den JIT-Debugger gesendet, der auf dem
Computer registriert ist, und nicht in diesem Dialogfeld behandelt.
Also in the virtual N64 controller, if I have any direction pressed on the virtual analog stick and then press Power or Reset on the virtual pad, Bizhawk will freeze, to the point where I have to kill it with the task manager. (rom is "Zelda no Densetsu - Toki no Ocarina (J) (V1.0) [!].z64", in case that's important) Edit: Having a direction pressed on the analog stick on the title screen doesn't produce this behavior, but when Deku Link is running around in the Clock Tower it happens every time. Edit2: Even when nothing is pressed reset seems to freeze the game randomly. Not all the time, but quite often. Seems to be a sure thing when something else is pressed at the time, though.
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Full movie playback of N64 games (or at least MM 1.1 J) is broken. When you play back a N64 movie, bizhawk doesn't clear the save. Which means ofcourse that on the file select the movie will desync, since you don't chose an empty file, but the old save. I can't even manually delete the saves for some reason.
Joined: 4/13/2011
Posts: 76
Location: Japan
I am making a TAS in BizHawk 1.5.2, but there are many bugs. -N64 Analog Stick's operation is strange. In various games, when input is completely diagonal, it will switch up and down. (Character will moonwalk.) -If I use RAM Search in N64, change count is always 0. When I switch to change count search, an error occurs.
Just-In-Time (JIT) デバッグを呼び出すための詳細については、
ダイアログ ボックスではなく、このメッセージの最後を参照してください。

************** 例外テキスト **************
System.InvalidOperationException: オブジェクトの現在の状態に問題があるため、操作は有効ではありません。
   場所 BizHawk.MultiClient.RamSearchEngine.set_CompareTo(Compare value)
   場所 BizHawk.MultiClient.RamSearch.NumberOfChangesRadio_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.RadioButton.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.RadioButton.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   場所 System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
-In Setting, if I use "Detailed" for Mode, it will use count, but even when the address does not change, it will add 1 to the count each frame. -In N64, if "Capture OSD" is used in Record AVI/WAV, the game screen is turned completely black. As well, the displayed characters in Lua Console are not reflected. -When I add a new cheat, if I change existing code values, they will always become 0.
Operation related to TAS of N64/GC/Wii/PS2 emulator is often investigated.
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Is anybody actually taking note of these? I know it will take a long to time to fix and till a new version is ready, but some sign of life would be nice. :) I also have a few more things. Technically not bugs, but regressions compared to the TASinputplugin, so I think I'll mention them here: - When you drag the analog stick over the boundries of the square it's in, the controller won't register the direction it is pointing in. That is very inconvenient, since it makes it almost impossible to hit the highest values: - It would be nice if you could put in values manually. I know that normal numbers are hotkeys, but you could allow entering them through the num-block, couldn't you? - A clear button would also be nice, so you don't have to unstick every button one by one. - Being able to make the window smaller (so small that only one virtual controller is visible, currently it's two) could help people who are tasing on smaller screens and have many windows open at the same time (bizhawk, ram watch, virtual controller, etc.) thanks for listening. :) @asutoro You should add those issues here: http://code.google.com/p/bizhawk/issues/list I will say that I didn't have any controller plugin problems in Majora's Mask 1.1 J (apart form those I've mentioned). If I remember correctly however, physical N64 controllers aren't capable of such extreme inputs. So it might not be a bug in bizhawk but a bug in the game. Also avi capture worked like a charm. I made this testvideo with it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o3u8u5HZ_Y8
Joined: 3/11/2012
Posts: 149
Location: WI
Slowking wrote:
Is anybody actually taking note of these? I know it will take a long to time to fix and till a new version is ready, but some sign of life would be nice. :)
BizHawk is a very active project, you can see this from the change history: https://code.google.com/p/bizhawk/source/list I don't know any details regarding the stuff you reported, but people do look at this thread.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Expert player, Site Developer, Site Owner (3581)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4736
Location: Tennessee
Yeah, I'm reading it, I just currently haven't gotten to these fixing reports from this thread yet.
- A clear button would also be nice, so you don't have to unstick every button one by one.
Right-click will bring up a menu with a clear option.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced player (773)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 1108
http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14544 Am I supposed to post it here?
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1193
Sappharad wrote:
I don't know any details regarding the stuff you reported, but people do look at this thread.
Good to know. :)
adelikat wrote:
Right-click will bring up a menu with a clear option.
Ah thx. Why is that hidden with all the white space that is there? Btw. does anybody know where bizhawk pulls the sram backups from, so that deleting the sram-files does nothing? It's not from the defined backup directory.