Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
0a. This does seem jacked up. following are notes for future debugging: 0b. check line 590 in Watch.cs. cheat.PokeValue() happens, and then return true; note that theres no way to get to PokeByte below. Was PokeValue intended to internally do the PokeByte()? 0c. It appears (to the hex editor) as if the value is truly frozen. Is this because the involvement of the cheat layer? Imho, it should read back out from the core directly instead of trying to create a fraudulent reality 1. By "No frame limiter setting" you clearly mean speed setting, and when theres nothing checked, it's because youve used the -/+ hotkeys to change it to a value not in the GUI. "unpredictable" in this case should mean "completely predictable based on the value you left it at" 2. Dont do that. 3. It's changed to be relative to the client window and not (brokenly) relative to the emulator output. Since gui.text isnt capable of scaling, and is intended to be more primitive than the other drawing functions, it occurs in client-window-space. So the coordinates you enter there will be fixed even as you resize your window. If you want the text to appear at a certain point in the game world, youll have to use a different lua drawing function. More generally, anything related to lua drawing is subject to change at any time, since it's all in a state of half-brokenness.
Player (33)
Joined: 2/16/2012
Posts: 282
zeromus wrote:
0a. This does seem jacked up. following are notes for future debugging: 0b. check line 590 in Watch.cs. cheat.PokeValue() happens, and then return true; note that theres no way to get to PokeByte below. Was PokeValue intended to internally do the PokeByte()? 0c. It appears (to the hex editor) as if the value is truly frozen. Is this because the involvement of the cheat layer? Imho, it should read back out from the core directly instead of trying to create a fraudulent reality 1. By "No frame limiter setting" you clearly mean speed setting, and when theres nothing checked, it's because youve used the -/+ hotkeys to change it to a value not in the GUI. "unpredictable" in this case should mean "completely predictable based on the value you left it at" 2. Dont do that. 3. It's changed to be relative to the client window and not (brokenly) relative to the emulator output. Since gui.text isnt capable of scaling, and is intended to be more primitive than the other drawing functions, it occurs in client-window-space. So the coordinates you enter there will be fixed even as you resize your window. If you want the text to appear at a certain point in the game world, youll have to use a different lua drawing function. More generally, anything related to lua drawing is subject to change at any time, since it's all in a state of half-brokenness.
1. You're probably right, I think I had enabled global hotkeys just before I started seeing it so it was probably picking up inputs from presses intended for other programs. 3. Noted. I'll just adjust my older scripts then.
HHS
Active player (282)
Joined: 10/8/2006
Posts: 356
Even having a single execute hook which is never executed, causes a dramatic slowdown. This is indeed on the BSNES core. Is there something about the BSNES core that makes it much more difficult to implement this efficiently compared to Snes9x?
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
HHS wrote:
Is there something about the BSNES core that makes it much more difficult to implement this efficiently compared to Snes9x?
Yes. bsnes is orders of magnitude slower than snes9x, and everything about it is slower, and everything you do to it is slower. Because it is slow.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
BSNES must run in an executable since its use of coroutines renders it incompatible with .net, and thus there is substantial overhead in IPC between emuhawk.exe and libsnes.exe. Presently, the hooks are evaluated on the bizhawk side, so each instruction executed in libsnes needs to communicate back to bizhawk. Communicating the hooks to bsnes is possible, but it is a lot of work and isn't a high priority since the number of people running pentiums trying to run bsnes in the first place are minimal.
Player (33)
Joined: 2/16/2012
Posts: 282
I recently changed to Win 8.1 x64, but it seems that the most recent and past BizHawk versions aren't correctly registered with the Windows audio stack? It worked fine on Win 8 and 7, so I'm a liitle curious why it would suddenly drop out. To be clear, audio still plays, but according to Windows there's no audio playing at all. There's also no BizHawk application source listed in the volume mixer. Reinstalling the prereqs didn't change anything. Is there some other .NET package I need to install or anything else along those lines?
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Have you tried the compatibility modes?
Player (33)
Joined: 2/16/2012
Posts: 282
I always run in compatibility modes. EDIT: May have misunderstood. I use compatibility cores. Windows Compatibility settings also do not have any effect.
Editor, Emulator Coder
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
bizhawk doesnt make any particular effort to 'register itself with the windows audio stack'. You changed windows versions, and wonder why something else changes? Microsoft ignores compatibility with every new release. About the only interesting new thing you get with new windows versions are new incompatibilities. update: problem doesnt occur on any windows 8.1 machines we tested on. not that many users of the cutting edge OS, youll have to wait for a developer to repro it or avoid using MS cutting edge unless you like bugs.
Player (33)
Joined: 2/16/2012
Posts: 282
zeromus wrote:
update: problem doesnt occur on any windows 8.1 machines we tested on. not that many users of the cutting edge OS, youll have to wait for a developer to repro it or avoid using MS cutting edge unless you like bugs.
OK, this is what I wanted to know. I'll try a few more things since it seems specific to my setup and not a universal Win 8.1 thing. Thanks! EDIT: Somewhere between reinstalling my audio drivers, reinstalling bizhawk prereqs, and tweaking some settings, it came back. All's well.
Experienced player (703)
Joined: 2/5/2011
Posts: 1417
Location: France
Issue: Savestates are slower than 1.8.4 (save a state takes 3 seconds instead of a sec in 1.8.4) BizHawk version : 1.9.0 Game: Rayman 2 Platform: N64 Domain : RDRAM
Current: Rayman 3 maybe? idk xD Paused: N64 Rayman 2 (with Funnyhair) GBA SMA 4 : E Reader (With TehSeven) TASVideos is like a quicksand, you get in, but you cannot quit the sand
Active player (260)
Joined: 8/18/2013
Posts: 145
Location: location, location!
In Bizhawk 1.9.0 (SVN8231) when using TAStudio the rerecord counter doesn't change.
Current TAS: [SNES] Jelly Boy [NES] Street Fighter 2010
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
Please don't post beta-tastudio reports in this thread. I"ll make a topic soonish about this feature (sorry that I haven't already). It doesn't have some features like rerecord counting. I know. This was intentional for the beta release.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2292)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6337
Location: The land down under.
There's also a guinea pig who has been notifying them already about the TAStudio stuff.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
Expert player (2582)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I'm having an issue with the bonuses and credits of Donkey Kong Country 2, PAL version. They are playing too fast with lots of crackles on the sound. Here's a run that reaches the credits; http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/18975630746878529 If I play the game on Snes9x, the speed of the bonus fanfare is fine, so I suspect that the credits will be too. So, unless I have understood it incorrectly,
zeromus wrote:
Are you using bizhawk in bsnes or snes9x mode?
how can I switch to Snes9x mode on BizHawk?
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
You can't use snes9x in Bizhawk, yet. It still needs things like...controllers, and other minor things. Currently, your options are bsnes-performance, and bsnes-compatibility. For movie recording your only option is bsnes-compatibility. One interesting experiment you could do is to use the performance profile and get to this part of the game (not recording a movie) and see if it behaves.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Expert player (2582)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Hmm... interesting, I wish you all the luck with the Snes9x implementation. Use the performance profile? I'll do that! Thank you, adelikat, for the speedy reply. edit; I just tested it, and in Performance mode it plays as expected, wit no speed up whatsoever! Too bad it's not possible to change it to Performance when recording... I'll wait for Snes9Hawk before attempting a run of DKC2 then.
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
I suspect that it works in compatibility mode too. And the bug you are seeing is the fact that in bnes, the act of save stating affects emulation, and to combat the instability we internally save state every frame when recording a movie. To confirm you can test the game in native bnes (with no or minimal save state use). If so, we could fiddle with bizhawk and make a build that you could use to TAS this game. Just keep in mind that in that part of the game, making a save state can bug the game or even desync the movie.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Expert player (2582)
Joined: 6/2/2009
Posts: 1182
Location: Teresópolis - Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
We are discussing this issue on the DKC2 thread and it seems that it is also affecting the final time of my run. Mine is 35 minutes long with lots of new time saving tricks, while the published run is only 34 minutes long. (The pulished run was done in Snes9x 1.43, which we know is inaccurate, but the time difference is too big.) creaothceann, Amaraticando and me also have tested the game on bsnes, or higan as it's called now; in all three cores the speed of the fanfare is as we expected, with no speed up at all. (no save state was used during my tests though)
I am old enough to know better, but not enough to do it.
Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 779
The RAM Watch setting of "Previous Value: Last Change" isn't working properly; it's giving the results that you'd get from Previous Frame. Windows 7, Bizhawk 1.9.0 svn 8231
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
adelikat wrote:
bnes
?
Dooty wrote:
Mine is 35 minutes long with lots of new time saving tricks, while the published run is only 34 minutes long. (The pulished run was done in Snes9x 1.43, which we know is inaccurate, but the time difference is too big.)
The SNES runs at 60.0985 fps in NTSC mode, maybe it's because of that?
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Site Developer, Site Owner, Expert player (3596)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4738
Location: Tennessee
1 minute or more over a 30 minute movie isn't unusual at all. Snes9x1.43 is VERY inaccurate in terms of lag emulation. Babes is generally spot on compared to a real snes. The bug I mentioned has nothing to do with this. There's a reason Nach banned 1.43. Don't worry about the time difference. Your movie will be clearly be the technically superior movie and accepted to obsolete.
It's hard to look this good. My TAS projects
Experienced player (630)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2208
Location: Guatemala
YAY NEW DONG SUBMISSION YAAAAAYYYYYY!
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
Editor, Emulator Coder, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1108
Location: Murka
got4n wrote:
Issue: Savestates are slower than 1.8.4 (save a state takes 3 seconds instead of a sec in 1.8.4) BizHawk version : 1.9.0 Game: Rayman 2 Platform: N64 Domain : RDRAM
Fixed in SVN, will be released soon hopefully.
Pokota
He/Him
Joined: 2/5/2014
Posts: 779
Previous Value: Last Change in the RAM Search options still isn't working properly, same issue as before. Also the release is reporting as version 1.9.0 svn 8271.
Adventures in Lua When did I get a vest?