MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
In the on screen messages menu, selecting input display causes its Y coordinates to erroneously treat it as its X coordinates, causing it to unintentionally move the input display at the X position of its Y position and at the Y position of the previously selected message type.
Editor, Player (67)
Joined: 6/22/2005
Posts: 1041
The behavior of console.write and console.writeline seems unusual in 2.3. If you reload the script via the Script menu or the toolbar button or F5, the message is printed twice. This doesn't happen if you toggle the script or double-click it in the list. Minimal example:
Language: lua

do console.writeline("hello") end
Current Projects: TAS: Wizards & Warriors III.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
Editor, Player (163)
Joined: 4/7/2015
Posts: 330
Location: Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Games are basically math with a visual representation of this math, that's why I make the scripts, to re-see games as math. My things: YouTube, GitHub, Pastebin, Twitter
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1889)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
Reporting/asking Alyosha - A7800 core, regardless of BizHawk version: - Tried to poke addresses with Hex Editor, but I can't access the whole system bus. The "Available for mapping by external devices" memory ranges can't be poked for sure. List of addresses: http://7800.8bitdev.org/index.php/7800_Software_Guide#APPENDIX_1:_7800_MEMORY_MAP (Wanted to investigate and add it to the Wiki: PlatformResources/A7800.)
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3531)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2728
Location: US
^ noted, I’ll add it to my TODO list, it will be a couple weeks though.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3531)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2728
Location: US
@MESHUGGAH: I don't see anything that those memory ranges can access. The only things that do weird stuff are the pokey and high score bios. If you know for sure something that should be accessible there let me know.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3531)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2728
Location: US
MESHUGGAH wrote:
BizHawk colecovision power on / reset... Galaxian has a hidden message after powering off and on a few times (https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/colecovision/585496-galaxian/cheats). I believe the hidden text should be "I LOVE YOU, JENEANE" considering it's offset is much deeper (0x4645 in ROM) than the previous one (0x0302 in ROM)
I looked at this a bit, but gamefaqs seems to be the only place where you being able to display the message is actually mentioned. Other sources just say that the message is in the ROM and can be seen with a hex editor. Are you sure this works on a real console?
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
The cheat load/save system is buggy. I input 1-byte, 2-byte, and 4-byte cheats. It saved normally, but when I load them, the 1-byte and 2-byte cheats, but the 4-byte cheats are missing. This needs fixed pronto.
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1889)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
Alyosha wrote:
@MESHUGGAH: I don't see anything that those memory ranges can access. The only things that do weird stuff are the pokey and high score bios. If you know for sure something that should be accessible there let me know.
Don't have any other informations apart from that link.
Alyosha wrote:
galaxian
Don't know, just tried to verify coleco power on stuffs by looking for other known phenomenons to understand how others get different starting position in Tomarc.
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
Editor, Player (67)
Joined: 6/22/2005
Posts: 1041
Trying to import the VBM of [3216] GBA Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow "all souls" by Fz-Last, klmz, Pike in 17:06.41 into BizHawk 2.3.0 under Win7 Home Premium SP1 causes an unhandled exception. It says, "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." Here are the full details:

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieImport.LegacyImportFile(String ext, String path, String& errorMsg, String& warningMsg)
   at BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieImport.ImportFile(String path, String& errorMsg, String& warningMsg)
   at BizHawk.Client.Common.MovieImport.ProcessMovieImport(String fn, Action`1 conversionErrorCallback, Action`1 messageCallback)
   at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.ImportMovieMenuItem_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
Current Projects: TAS: Wizards & Warriors III.
Alyosha
He/Him
Editor, Expert player (3531)
Joined: 11/30/2014
Posts: 2728
Location: US
Bizhawk doesn't like that the movie starts from SRAM apparently. If I ignore that and create a movie anyway, I get this: http://tasvideos.org/userfiles/info/51115175536913401 I don't know how hard it would be to extract the SRAM itself from the movie so it will actually run, but hope tat somehow helps.
Evan0512
He/Him
Joined: 10/18/2017
Posts: 161
Location: San Francisco
There were much missing firmware files needed.
Planned runs: Marble Madness (Arcade, Genesis J, GG/SMS) Proposed: Ecco the Dolphin (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD: regular, camera freeze) Ecco: The Tides of Time (Genesis, GG/SMS, CD; normal mode) Mario Kart DS (all cups, all missions) In progress: Grand Poo World 3 (all exits hard mode)
Spikestuff
They/Them
Editor, Publisher, Expert player (2292)
Joined: 10/12/2011
Posts: 6337
Location: The land down under.
This is not a bug Evan. You're the one missing the firmwares. BizHawk will not be providing bioses to any emulator. It's your job to go to Google and hunt them down.
WebNations/Sabih wrote:
+fsvgm777 never censoring anything.
Disables Comments and Ratings for the YouTube account. Something better for yourself and also others.
ViGadeomes
He/Him
Judge, Active player (303)
Joined: 10/16/2017
Posts: 456
Location: France
Hello, Not a priority but when you create a TAS of a SNES PAL game with the BSNES core, the length calculated by BizHawk takes as a basis the framerate of 60 fps instead of 50 fps. 2 games with the problem : Tintin in Tibet (E) (M4).smc SHA1 F93338ABC37FCF77E68C4C8C1CBAB9EFCA32B5B4 Adventures of Tintin, The - Prisoners of the Sun (E) (M4).smc SHA1 C5A18D06AA1E411C73CD97572716F8D712BCCB8A
Darth_Marios
He/Him
Joined: 5/11/2015
Posts: 106
After the prereqs and so on, i still get these errors System.Exception: Initialization of Direct3d 9 Display Method failed; falling back to GDI+ ---> System.BadImageFormatException: Could not load file or assembly 'SlimDX, Version=4.0.13.43, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. ---> System.BadImageFormatException: Could not load file or assembly 'SlimDX, Version=4.0.13.43, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'. This assembly was compiled for a different processor. at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly.nLoadFile(String path, Evidence evidence) at System.Reflection.Assembly.LoadFile(String path) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.CurrentDomain_AssemblyResolve(Object sender, ResolveEventArgs args) at System.AppDomain.OnAssemblyResolveEvent(RuntimeAssembly assembly, String assemblyFullName) --- End of inner exception stack trace --- at BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.Drivers.SlimDX.IGL_SlimDX9..ctor() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(String[] args) --- End of inner exception stack trace --- and after i closed this message, it appear another one: System.BadImageFormatException: Could not load file or assembly 'SlimDX, Version=4.0.13.43, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'. This assembly was compiled for a different processor. at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.KeyInput.Initialize() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Input.Initialize() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm..ctor(String[] args) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(String[] args)
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
What happens if you use the WinXP 32-bit version of BizHawk found here: http://tasvideos.org/Bizhawk/ReleaseHistory.html#Bizhawk1132 Edit: You should be using this version of prereq: https://github.com/TASVideos/BizHawk-Prereqs/releases/download/1.4/bizhawk_prereqs_v1.4.zip
Darth_Marios
He/Him
Joined: 5/11/2015
Posts: 106
Aktan wrote:
What happens if you use the WinXP 32-bit version of BizHawk found here: http://tasvideos.org/Bizhawk/ReleaseHistory.html#Bizhawk1132 Edit: You should be using this version of prereq: https://github.com/TASVideos/BizHawk-Prereqs/releases/download/1.4/bizhawk_prereqs_v1.4.zip
Now i get: SlimDX.DirectSound.DirectSoundException: REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG: Class not registered (-2147221164) at SlimDX.Result.Throw[T](Object dataKey, Object dataValue) at SlimDX.Result.Record[T](Int32 hr, Boolean failed, Object dataKey, Object dataValue) at SlimDX.DirectSound.SoundBuffer.Play(Int32 priority, PlayFlags flags) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.DirectSoundSoundOutput.StartSound() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Sound.StartSound() at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm..ctor(String[] args) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(String[] args) Why emuhawk hate my pc so much? lol :/
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Darth_Marios
He/Him
Joined: 5/11/2015
Posts: 106
Aktan wrote:
Try what was said here? https://github.com/TASVideos/BizHawk/issues/583
Now finally works :D Thank Aktan for your big patience!
Publisher
Joined: 4/23/2009
Posts: 1283
Welcome, glad it finally works!
Darth_Marios
He/Him
Joined: 5/11/2015
Posts: 106
Aktan wrote:
Welcome, glad it finally works!
Thx! Anyway, you know if it possible to import PSX save in emuHawk? It use 256kb saveRAM, but psx saves usually are 128kb. In PSXJin we can import memory cards (128kb .mcr). Or exist a method to convert 128kb save in 256kb?
MESHUGGAH
Other
Skilled player (1889)
Joined: 11/14/2009
Posts: 1349
Location: 𝔐𝔞𝔤𝑦𝔞𝔯
Not a bug just missing feature: Colecovision has no PAL mode (NTSC has 12 seconds BIOS intro, PAL has 6 4 seconds) edit: "The only difference between American and European Colecovision is a single byte in BIOS telling the frame rate.", reportedly it's @ 0x0069 where American has 0x3C (60), European has 0x32 (50) edit2: The programmers manual (don't link it) only mentions this difference for the "AMERICA" byte @ section X (chapter 10) part 1.1
PhD in TASing 🎓 speedrun enthusiast ❤🚷🔥 white hat hacker ▓ black box tester ░ censorships and rules...
MarbleousDave
He/Him
Player (12)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1555
************** Exception Text ************** System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.TAStudio.UpdateAutoFire(String button, Nullable`1 isOn) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.TAStudio.TasView_ColumnRightClick(Object sender, ColumnClickEventArgs e) at BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.InputRoll.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks) at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m) at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam) I loaded the Tasproj in progress, I can't toggle the auto input
fsvgm777
She/Her
Senior Publisher, Player (221)
Joined: 5/28/2009
Posts: 1185
Location: Luxembourg
BizHawk 2.3.1 instantly crashes on me when I select the OpenGL display method:
System.MissingMethodException: Méthode introuvable : 'Void OpenTK.Graphics.IGraphicsContext.set_VSync(Boolean)'.
   à OpenTK.GLControl.set_VSync(Boolean value)
   à BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.DisplayManager.UpdateSourceDrawingWork(JobInfo job)
   à BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.DisplayManager.UpdateSourceInternal(JobInfo job)
   à BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.Render()
   à BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm.ProgramRunLoop()
   à BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.Win32MainLoopCrashHandler.TryCatchFinally(String[] args)
Direct3D and GDI+ are fine, at least.
Steam Community page - Cohost profile Oh, I'm just a concerned observer.