BizHawk Emulator Development


Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/13/2009
Posts: 431
I always choose FFMPEG and then Matroska Lossless. Then I compress using Handbrake before uploading to youtube. I don't know what quality settings are used when using the Matroska preset, so I generally avoid that. But maybe someone knows. I haven't tested it. I see no point in using AVI. It's very old and supports only specific formats. MKV supports pretty much everything.
creaothceann
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/7/2005
Posts: 1874
Location: Germany
It doesn't support WMV. But nobody should, anyway. :)
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
Sooo... I know I should have asked this sooner, but... How is the emulation of Genesis on Bizhawk now? Because if it's good enough, then I'll use it over Gens. Is it as reliable/accurate/stable as the one from Gens?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
something's pretty broken with the mega CD, can't track it down unfortunately =/
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
Pretty broken? Do you mean that it desyncs?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
yes
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
Damn. Hopefully it will be fixed soon...
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
Sorry for double posting, but I wanna ask something again. This might sound pretty dumb, but is there a way to make a .gmv file work on BizHawk? That's because I made a couple movies with Gens, so I was wondering if BizHawk could make the .gmv work without desync.
Bizhawk 1.0.1 wrote:
Movie importing - movie importers - fix populating of the emuOrigin header added .mcm movie importer added .gmv movie importer .fm2 movie importer - interpret "romChecksum" entry added .fcm movie importer add GUID to .vbm importer
It's saying above that they added .gmv movie importer on one of the earlier versions. Does that mean it's possible to do what I want?
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Due to accuracy (?) differences between Gens and Bizhawk, Desyncs are VERY likely. Sure you can import, but don't expect it to run correctly with out doing work to make it resync.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
I just tried it and it gave me this notice: "6 buttons controllers are not properly supported"
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
First time using Bizhawk (love it) and I have a few questions about the N64 plugin support. Sorry if these have been asked and answered before. I know Bizhawk depends on Mupen64, but is there any way to use other video plugins aside from the 3 offered? I'm looking for the video plugin that makes games look as close to the original as possible (zero enhancements). I've read a lot as to why that's very difficult to achieve. So from the ones offered with Bizhawk: Glide64 makes games look awful, Glide64mk2 doesn't work at all for me, and Rice looks very good from what I have tested. Text and sprites look really good while still maintaining the polygons as close to the original console. The latter one is my preferred plugin, however, I recently heard about a plugin called "Softgraphic" and I would love to try it to see if it's better than Rice's, but Mupen64-rr, which lets you select that plugin doesn't load for me (I get a missing SDL.dll and glew32.dll error). So, any way of using bizhawk with that Softgraphic plugin?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Some advocate for the plugin who has got it running will have to advocate for it. There's no way to use an n64 plugin in bizhawk without it being coded in, and theres no way to use an n64 plugin in a rerecording emulator with it being scrutinized by programmers, as most of them require some measure of repair. Are you so sure that the already-provided plugins are stacked with enhancements?
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Oh no no, the Rice plugin works just fine. Glide64 looks awful, and Glide64mk2 doesn't work for me, so I can't comment on that one. But that Softgraphics plugin looks the most faithful to the real thing. It's missing the trademark fog of N64 games, but at least bitmaps and sprites look great with no cut borders. I understand the sole purpose of bizhawk is to make TAS(es), so faithful graphics or plugins is not really a priority. I got Mupen64-rr working now, so I can always use that one, even if it's missing all the great options Bizhawk has.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
OK, your choice of terminology is confusing. What you're looking for is the least horrible graphics plugin. Unfortunately with N64 they're all horrible, so you just have to pick which particular horribleness you prefer. "Faithful graphics" is a gross simplification and a matter of opinion.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Heh, yes I know they are all horrible. Sorry for being confusing. But the least horrible is the softgraphics plugin (which actually requires a lot more CPU power to run at a decent speed) and I was wondering if that might be supported. But I supposed it will not be, at least not anytime soon since it's not optimal for TASing.
Experienced Forum User, Published Author
Joined: 7/22/2010
Posts: 14
ReyVGM wrote:
I understand the sole purpose of bizhawk is to make TAS(es), so faithful graphics or plugins is not really a priority.
I would just like to emphatically state that making TASes is NOT the sole purpose of Bizhawk. I am one of the core developers for Bizhawk and I am definitely more of game-player than a TASer. Although adelikat, natt and zeromus all have a long history with TASvideos so, you know, I'm outnumbered. Bizhawk is about more than TASing, BUT, sync-stable emulator cores are kind of a requirement. A lot of emulator cores that have never been targeted for movies aren't sync stable because it's easy to make subtle mistakes or omissions that break sync if you aren't explicitly targeting it and testing for it. Sync stability and determinism is key for just having robust savestates and rewind, so the sync-stable requirement doesn't only benefit TASing.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
For the record, I agree with Vecna. TASability is one of the requirements I consider for releasing new stuff, but that is just one aspect of Bizhawk among many. Personally, Bizhawk is my preferred casual gaming emulator because I get nice rewind, hassle free fullscreen, and all my preferred hotkeys. Also, we put a lot of work into making a nice UI for all the various features that each core needs.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
Got it. I've been messing with this SoftGraphics plugin in Mupen64-rr and it look great. No bitmaps cutting off, HUD text looks N64 blurry and not the usual plugin blurriness. It's a shame that Mupen64-rr doesn't have all the Bizhawk options, and all the options all the other rerecording emus have (FCEUX, SNES9X, etc).
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
vecna wrote:
Although adelikat, natt and zeromus all have a long history with TASvideos so, you know, I'm outnumbered.
Keep in mind that I've never made a TAS, nor ever probably will. My motivations for working for the Bizhawk project are probably different than some.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/3/2009
Posts: 149
I thank you. I like using TAS emus due to all the wonderful options they provide, but I never use them for TASing.
Post subject: 1.6.1 Released!
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
BizHawk 1.6.1 is now released This is primarily a bug fix release but fixes a lot of major problems (many of which are reported here)
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
Is the hook-up function for Pier Solar finished? ps: One suggestion: Is it possible to put control settings in a separate .ini file from other configurations?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
no. why do you want that? that suggests some deficiency in the input configuration system which would be better solved by improving it.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
I thought it's better to clear the settings after a major update, but resetting controller settings every time doesn't seem necessary. It might be nice if it's possible to keep the controller settings while clearing other configurations.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
all releases come with default.json, that's the input settings that are put into the config when you reset your input (or fresh start). So if you want, just edit that and reuse it. However, keep in mind that even input config is subject to changes (new cores, new peripherals)
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects