BizHawk Emulator Development


dekutony
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (802)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2117
Location: Guatemala
Nope. Not working at all. In the app log it seems that it actually opens the emulator, but after some seconds later, it dissapears. I'm using Windows 7 Starter 32-bit with an Intel Graphics Media Acelerator 3150 with 256MB
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
OK, you said it 'tries to open the window' but you have no evidence of that, since the window never appears, and you don't have a message that says 'now trying to open window'. What do you see in the app log that 'it actually opens the emulator'? I doubt the app log says 'it disappears'. Perhaps when you say 'app log' you mean 'task manager'. If the answer is yes, to save time, the next step is to find the actual 'application' log, i.e. the one in the windows event viewer.
dekutony
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (802)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2117
Location: Guatemala
Thats what I did.
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
zeromus wrote:
, the next step is to find the actual 'application' log, i.e. the one in the windows event viewer.
dekutony
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (802)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2117
Location: Guatemala
zeromus wrote:
zeromus wrote:
, the next step is to find the actual 'application' log, i.e. the one in the windows event viewer.
Uhh... how do I do that? Sorry, my english is not perfect so I don't understand clearly.
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
run eventvwr.msc open windows logs > application look for .net or bizhawk related things with recent timestamps.
dekutony
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (802)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2117
Location: Guatemala
Emuhawk.exe Nombre de la aplicación con errores EmuHawk.exe, versión 1.7.0.6812, marca de tiempo 0x53945fb3 Nombre del módulo con errores ig4icd32.dll, versión 8.14.10.2117, marca de tiempo 0x4bcc7e52 Código de excepción 0xc0000005 Desplazamiento de errores 0x002095ed Id. del proceso con errores 0xecc Hora de inicio de la aplicación con errores 0x01cf89ba417f3235 Ruta de acceso de la aplicación con errores C\Users\Leal\Documents\Tony\Bizhawk NEW\EmuHawk.exe Ruta de acceso del módulo con errores C\Windows\system32\ig4icd32.dll Id. del informe 8db24630-f5ad-11e3-9e21-ad47a5747828 From .NET Runtime Aplicación EmuHawk.exe Versión de Framework v4.0.30319 Descripción el proceso terminó debido a una excepción no controlada. Información de la excepción System.AccessViolationException Pila en OpenTK.Graphics.OpenGL.GL.LinkProgram(Int32) en BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.Drivers.OpenTK.IGL_TK.CreatePipeline(BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.VertexLayout, BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.Shader, BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.Shader, Boolean) en BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.GuiRenderer..ctor(BizHawk.Bizware.BizwareGL.IGL) en BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.DisplayManager..ctor(BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.PresentationPanel) en BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.MainForm..ctor(System.String[]) en BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.SubMain(System.String[]) en BizHawk.Client.EmuHawk.Program.Main(System.String[]) Sorry if this is in spanish...
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/11/2012
Posts: 149
Location: WI
Kurabupengin wrote:
Nope. Not working at all. In the app log it seems that it actually opens the emulator, but after some seconds later, it dissapears. I'm using Windows 7 Starter 32-bit with an Intel Graphics Media Acelerator 3150 with 256MB
The Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3150 doesn't officially support OpenGL on Windows. There are some instructions that a quick search turned up, but maybe there's an easier way: http://superuser.com/questions/536129/intel-3150-officially-wont-support-opengl-2-0-for-windows-so-how-come-i-read-it Not sure if Direct3D was completely removed or just made non-default, but if there's a way to activate GDI mode that would probably work too.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
thanks for finding that sappharad, i wouldntve gone looking for it. i still find it a little hard to believe.. not all sources on google are in complete agreement. anyway... 1. ill try and trap those errors better, if possible, which it may not be 2. why didnt Kurabupengin's system pop open an application-crashed dialog? is this a common thing? 3. i guess thats an increment to the priority of making an alternative to the opengl display method...
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
zeromus wrote:
i guess thats an increment to the priority of making an alternative to the opengl display method...
That's a good idea. Maybe there could be an option to fall back to DirectX, like how we can fall back to NESHawk if Quicknes doesn't support a certain game. It could be made into a single line in config.ini that allows people like Kurabupengin who can't start BizHawk at all to change, for example, a variable called Renderer from "OpenGL" to "DirectX".
Post subject: JIT debugging issue
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
so I am still having trouble with this JIT debugging problem. I opened up the prereq installer and installed it but it just won't work, i would really like to see how bizhawk feels to TAS with
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
"jit debugging problem" sounds like "program is crashing". Look for information in event viewer.
Post subject: BizHawk 1.7.1 Released!
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
BizHawk 1.7.1 is now released A significant feature is that Paper Mario (and some other N64 games) flickering is now fixed, and should be TASable! For full release notes see here
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
Woah, thank you very much guys. I love Paper Mario and I may want to TAS the game someday. Good job!
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
That's awesome, adelikat! Thank you! Now a TAS of Paper Mario can finally be made.
dekutony
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Published Author (802)
Joined: 11/23/2013
Posts: 2117
Location: Guatemala
...............After downloading this version............. It still doesn't open. This time it takes longer to even get the error.
Here, my YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/dekutony
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
zeromus wrote:
"jit debugging problem" sounds like "program is crashing". Look for information in event viewer.
I think I found the problem, something about compatibility mode.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
Ok so it tells me "object reference not set to an instance of an object" What does this mean
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
Kurabupengin, your problem hasn't been solved yet. TAG, it means you didn't copy enough information from the event viewer for us to do anything with.
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
TAG, it means you didn't copy enough information from the event viewer for us to do anything with.
ok then. i will post a picture tomorrow.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/13/2009
Posts: 431
TAG wrote:
Ok so it tells me "object reference not set to an instance of an object" What does this mean
That's programmer speak for meaning "you tried to use something you didn't create" ;)
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
That's programmer speak for meaning "you tried to use something you didn't create" ;)[/quote] I change some settings and I try to run the rom but it still crashes.
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 4/13/2009
Posts: 431
TAG wrote:
I change some settings and I try to run the rom but it still crashes.
To be exact, it is a programming error, not a user error. You should copy the log from the event viewer and post here so the developers can help troubleshoot the problem.
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
EEssentia wrote:
TAG wrote:
I change some settings and I try to run the rom but it still crashes.
To be exact, it is a programming error, not a user error. You should copy the log from the event viewer and post here so the developers can help troubleshoot the problem.
I will post it when i get to my pc at collage
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
So... I'm going to make my first Snes TAS on BizHawk. I've always used snes9x-rr for that, but that inaccurate sound emulation is bothering me, so I will switch emulators. Just how reliable SnesHawk is? I just want to make sure I can trust the emulator and that it won't desync on my Snes TASes.