BizHawk Emulator Development


Experienced Forum User
Joined: 6/16/2011
Posts: 48
So this is probably some silly setting I enabled like an idiot or something (or it's a known bug, I'm way out of the loop), but Majora's Mask has a few graphical bugs. Whenever you pause the game, the background goes entirely black (this also happens in the Zelda flashback cutscene), and enemies don't seem to flash red when hit. Pure Interpreter, Rice plugin. Also, on an unrelated note, EmuHawk hangs whenever I exit, and I have to kill the task in task manager.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
feos, there are many possible reasons. We havent comprehensively analyzed the codebase for excessive allocations of memory because none of our computers are that marginal. But when .net apps burn through memory, they can freeze occasionally, that's a fact.
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2008
Posts: 1191
RedGreenSonic wrote:
So this is probably some silly setting I enabled like an idiot or something (or it's a known bug, I'm way out of the loop), but Majora's Mask has a few graphical bugs. Whenever you pause the game, the background goes entirely black (this also happens in the Zelda flashback cutscene), and enemies don't seem to flash red when hit. Pure Interpreter, Rice plugin. Also, on an unrelated note, EmuHawk hangs whenever I exit, and I have to kill the task in task manager.
Rice sucks for MM and OoT. Use Glide64 (not mk2). Also you should know that recording from a savestate is currently broken again.
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
For Game Boy emulation, how about implementing an ability to play 4-player Game Boy games (not just Super Game Boy). Also, what about supporting more than two controllers on the following: NES (4 players), SNES (8 players), Genesis (8 players), PC Engine (5 players).
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
adelikat
He/Him
Emulator Coder, Published Author, Site Admin (4250)
Joined: 11/3/2004
Posts: 4655
Location: Tennessee
TASer of 2010NES TASer of 2010DS TASer of 2010Arcade TAS of 2010NES TASer of 2008NES TAS of 2008Funny TAS of 2008TASer of 2007NES TASer of 2007Funny TAS of 2007
PikachuMan wrote:
For Game Boy emulation, how about implementing an ability to play 4-player Game Boy games (not just Super Game Boy). Also, what about supporting more than two controllers on the following: NES (4 players), SNES (8 players), Genesis (8 players), PC Engine (5 players).
NES 4 player is already supported (switch to NEShawk and go to the NES-> controller config) Genesis 8 player is supported (look in Genesis -> Controller config) PCE 5 player is supported (looked in PCE -> Controller config) You say "how about" like we haven't considered it, all things you mention that haven't been supported intend to be at some point, it is just a matter of priority.
Pimpin' ain't easy My Homepage My TAS projects
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
PikachuMan wrote:
For Game Boy emulation, how about implementing an ability to play 4-player Game Boy games (not just Super Game Boy). Also, what about supporting more than two controllers on the following: NES (4 players), SNES (8 players), Genesis (8 players), PC Engine (5 players).
No one has ever really used the gameboy link cable feature ever; I have little motivation to add an even rarer permutation of it. I am very concerned that the existing NES 4 player support is not working correctly for you. I have tested it and noticed no problems; could you please post a bug report about it on the tracker? I am somewhat less concerned that the existing Genesis multitap support is not working correctly, but I suppose I should fix that too. Could you please post a bug report about it on the tracker? SNES alternate controller support is on the TODO list. PCE 5 player not working is not my department, but you should post a bug report about it on the tracker.
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
natt wrote:
PikachuMan wrote:
For Game Boy emulation, how about implementing an ability to play 4-player Game Boy games (not just Super Game Boy). Also, what about supporting more than two controllers on the following: NES (4 players), SNES (8 players), Genesis (8 players), PC Engine (5 players).
No one has ever really used the gameboy link cable feature ever; I have little motivation to add an even rarer permutation of it. I am very concerned that the existing NES 4 player support is not working correctly for you. I have tested it and noticed no problems; could you please post a bug report about it on the tracker? I am somewhat less concerned that the existing Genesis multitap support is not working correctly, but I suppose I should fix that too. Could you please post a bug report about it on the tracker? SNES alternate controller support is on the TODO list. PCE 5 player not working is not my department, but you should post a bug report about it on the tracker.
I quickly figured it out. I had to go to configuration, change the control settings, and reboot the core. So there is no need for it.
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Sonia
She/Her
Experienced Forum User
Joined: 12/6/2013
Posts: 428
Location: Brazil
I'm not sure if I have asked this before, but how is Saturn emulation on BizHawk? Is it stable enough to make a simple TAS or completely impossible? If it's at least as stable as fba-rr, then I think I can make a few TASes on it.
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
BizHawk 1.8.0 pre-release notes wrote:
GBHawk
    Option to set the frame timing (pre 1.7.x vs 1.7.x)
Will Atari2600Hawk be getting this option too? Also, what were the sync changes that occurred in SMSHawk in BizHawk 1.7.0? Were they anything as major as the new A2600 and GB(C) frame timing?
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
CoolKirby wrote:
BizHawk 1.8.0 pre-release notes wrote:
GBHawk
    Option to set the frame timing (pre 1.7.x vs 1.7.x)
Will Atari2600Hawk be getting this option too? Also, what were the sync changes that occurred in SMSHawk in BizHawk 1.7.0? Were they anything as major as the new A2600 and GB(C) frame timing?
The only change I see is different game gear controller handling. Is another option really needed for A2600? Most of the movies on this site are 2 minute thingies.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
Are there RTC option for Pokemon games on GBC/GBA in the fation of VBA? I know Bizhawk has RTC option, but the in-game time doesn't match the real time anymore after I run the game again after saving for the first time.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Fortranm wrote:
Are there RTC option for Pokemon games on GBC/GBA in the fation of VBA? I know Bizhawk has RTC option, but the in-game time doesn't match the real time anymore after I run the game again after saving for the first time.
Do you mean that in Pokémon Crystal, Silver, Gold don't advance normally. Like if I play Monday, save, and then start playing Tuesday, the game won't be on Tuesday?
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Fortranm
He/Him
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (536)
Joined: 10/19/2013
Posts: 999
hegyak wrote:
Do you mean that in Pokémon Crystal, Silver, Gold don't advance normally. Like if I play Monday, save, and then start playing Tuesday, the game won't be on Tuesday?
Exactly. Is it because the watch battery inside the cartridge is not emulated?
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
Fortranm wrote:
hegyak wrote:
Do you mean that in Pokémon Crystal, Silver, Gold don't advance normally. Like if I play Monday, save, and then start playing Tuesday, the game won't be on Tuesday?
Exactly. Is it because the watch battery inside the cartridge is not emulated?
Not entirely. That battery is actually your Save battery. Without it, the game's save data will be lost.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
Look at the RTC realtime options in the core settings. If that doesn't help with your pokeymans, write up a test case together with the expected behavior on our bug tracker.
PikachuMan
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User, Published Author (14)
Joined: 9/12/2009
Posts: 1510
Location: Wichita
We can have a function that allows for 4 players on Game Boy games. (multiple instances of the same game). For GBA games, multiplayer functionality with 1 game pak (single pak link), up to 4 (multi pak link) or 5 (wireless). Maybe have a functionality that can interact with Dolphin to use GCN-GBA connectivity? And we could even have support for the e-Reader. 1.8.0 is the version where GBA support is implemented. Any word on when TAStudio is complete?
A Gameboy saveram splitter/combiner tool will be very useful for the 1st gen and 2nd gen Pokémon games.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
PikachuMan wrote:
Any word on when TAStudio is complete?
It's being worked on. GBA will not support e-Reader, yet. Multi GBA is not done, yet. Those features may not get added.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
PikachuMan wrote:
We can have a function that allows for 4 players on Game Boy games. (multiple instances of the same game). For GBA games, multiplayer functionality with 1 game pak (single pak link), up to 4 (multi pak link) or 5 (wireless). Maybe have a functionality that can interact with Dolphin to use GCN-GBA connectivity? And we could even have support for the e-Reader. 1.8.0 is the version where GBA support is implemented. Any word on when TAStudio is complete?
GCN-GBA is unlikely. Multi GBA is on the list of things to do, but not for 1.8.0; if there are any games you'd really like to multi GBA tas, mention it here http://tasvideos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15721
Editor, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (662)
Joined: 11/8/2010
Posts: 3902
Exotic platforms TASer of 2014NES TAS of 2013
natt wrote:
The only change I see is different game gear controller handling.
Ah, so nothing to worry about. Thanks!
natt wrote:
Is another option really needed for A2600? Most of the movies on this site are 2 minute thingies.
It would still be nice to have the option of more accurate timing. It could help those movies sync on a A2600Bot someday.
TAG
He/Him
Experienced Forum User, Limited User
Joined: 2/9/2014
Posts: 407
Location: In Oblivion
this stale frame bug in most zelda jp roms... what happens? can someone explain?
I’m sorry. Really I am... I am so sorry for what I did. Forgive me.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
TAG, What version are you using? I thought it was fixed in the upcoming 1.8.0 release.
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 8/7/2008
Posts: 1156
CoolKirby wrote:
Will Atari2600Hawk be getting this option too?
You mean, the option that restores the timing to an older configuration, after it was changed in an effort to improve it, which generated pushback? But that hasn't happened for a2600, so what sense does an option make?
Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Published Author (87)
Joined: 10/4/2005
Posts: 196
TAG wrote:
this stale frame bug in most zelda jp roms... what happens? can someone explain?
The stale frame bug has to do with savestates, most notably in the Zelda games. If you loaded a state sometimes a garbage frame would be displayed when you frame advanced. This was due to a bad default plugin setting for those games which has been fixed in the gamedb and will be a part of the upcoming 1.8.0 release.
Editor, Emulator Coder, Experienced Forum User, Site Developer
Joined: 5/11/2011
Posts: 1105
Location: Murka
CoolKirby wrote:
natt wrote:
The only change I see is different game gear controller handling.
Ah, so nothing to worry about. Thanks!
natt wrote:
Is another option really needed for A2600? Most of the movies on this site are 2 minute thingies.
It would still be nice to have the option of more accurate timing. It could help those movies sync on a A2600Bot someday.
Neither timing is more emulation accurate than the other. Any A2600Bot sync test would probably use some sort of on_snoop() log, and wouldn't be particularly affected by timing choice in that case.
Editor, Experienced Forum User
Joined: 3/31/2010
Posts: 1466
Location: Not playing Puyo Tetris
When TAS does Quake 1, SDA will declare war. The Prince doth arrive he doth please.